BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


SD9 Digital SLR Camera


Sigma

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital SLR Cameras

Blossoming
View photos created with this camera

The SD9 Digital SLR Camera

Features:


  • 3 Resolution settings - (1) HI - 2268?1512 pixels (8MB), (2) MED
    - 1512x1008 pixels (Appr. 4MB), (3) LOW - 1134x756 pixels (Appr. 2MB)
  • Interfaces - IEEE1394 Firewire, USB (1.1), Video out (NTSC/PAL)
  • Auto, Program, and Manual exposure and focus modes
  • Uses 2 CR123 and 2 CRV3 (or 4 AA) batteries (not included)
  • Includes AC adapter; Dedicated USB, Dedicated Firewire,
    Dedicated video cables; Cover for built-in 1.8 LCD, Carry Strap

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 15 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Clayton E. Woodfin

member since: 6/23/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is the first camera I have owned other than the cheap film variety. I was amazed at the difference in my photos. It isn't the greatest and I hope to upgrade to an SD 10 or something else but definitely a Digital SLR.
6/23/2006 7:30:50 PM
 
Phil Hayes

member since: 8/14/2005
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
A friends camera I borrow on occasion. It take good pictures but its operation is a little slow for me.
8/14/2005 12:25:47 PM
 
Emilio J. DelToro

member since: 8/11/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
The Sigma SD9 has some limitations -no jpeg, slow autofocus, limited buffer, no pop-up flash, only ISO100&200 - but it delivers in my opinion the best image in digital cameras bar none.
8/11/2005 8:48:46 AM
 
Richard Lynch
BetterPhoto Member
PhotoshopCS.com
Richard's Photo Courses:
4-Week Short Course: Correcting and Enhancing Images
4-Week Short Course: Looking Good in Print and On the Web: Color Management
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Nice sharp images, high resolution. SLR advantages of interchangable lenses over fixed lense point&shoot. Hugely inexpesive in comparison to other models. Fit well with my Sigma analog equipment. I am a huge advocate of the Foveon x3 chip...far better rendering and sharpness than color array chips. Don't like the unpredictability of the auto-modes, short battery life rendered by low-light focus problems, not a huge fan of the shadow noise. Overall, a huge step up from my Olympus c-2500
6/12/2005 8:09:49 AM
 
Rita Hill
BetterPhoto Member
ritahillphoto.com

member since: 1/24/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Love the camera! shoots all images in the raw mode. Detail is excellent and colors are vibrant as ever. I am able to use my Sigma autofocus lenses, so easy to use.
1/24/2005 7:43:33 PM
 
Justin B. Horrocks

member since: 7/29/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent detail. Takes a little fiddling around with the white balance, but the image detail makes up for this minor inconvenience. Body is bulky, but then again, so are most decent SLR bodies. Shutter is noisy. Takes 2 sets of batteries. Small annoyances, but the bottom line: I love this camera.
7/29/2004 10:41:13 PM
 
Chris Austin

member since: 7/27/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
AMAZING detail, color representation and sharpness, but poor performance in low light.
7/27/2004 9:56:14 AM
 
JOY VEST

member since: 6/20/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I LIKE JUST ABOUT EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS CAMERA. THE ONLY THING THAT I WISH I HAD KNEW AHEAD OF TIME WAS THE WEIGHT OF THE CAMERA. IT IS VERY HEAVY, SO YOU HAVE TO BE VERY STILL TO GET THE PICTURES YOU WANT OR USE A MONO OR TRI-POD.
6/20/2004 7:54:41 AM
 
Rita Hill
BetterPhoto Member
ritahillphoto.com

member since: 1/24/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Best digital I ever invested in. Pro SLR feel to the body, great images, Color and resolution outstanding! Handles just like an SLR, view finder and lenses work just as quick and easy to handle. Outstanding!
2/27/2004 4:54:37 PM
 
Jennifer Polk

member since: 11/29/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Not as imposing a camera as it first seems to be when you remove it from the box. There is a very user friendly placement of various buttons for operation that allows the photographer to make changes without physically taking the camera away from your face.
12/29/2003 5:32:32 PM
 
Jay Barnhisel

member since: 11/12/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very sharp pictures. Lens prices reasonable.
11/12/2003 9:57:27 PM
 

First 10 of 15 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Buy SD9 Digital SLR Camera  from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.