Photosmart 812 Digital Camera


HP (Hewlett-Packard)

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Ship In The Night
View photos created with this camera

The Photosmart 812 Digital Camera

Features:


  • 4-megapixel sensor captures 2,272 x 1,704 images for prints at
    sizes up to 11 x 14 inches
  • Autofocus lens with 3x optical/7x digital (21x total) zoom
  • Included 16 MB SD card stores 15 images at default settings
  • Connects with PCs and Macs via USB port
  • Uses 2 AA batteries (disposable batteries included)


Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 15 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 3 out of 5

3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Dawn D. Richardson 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 10:52:38 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 10:52:38 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 10:52:38 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 10:52:38 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 10:52:38 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Clear photos - this I like.
4/26/2006 10:52:38 PM
 
Rebecca J. Blonigen 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2006 9:12:31 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2006 9:12:31 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2006 9:12:31 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2006 9:12:31 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2006 9:12:31 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
The color and sharpness are great with this camera. It is small, light and very easy to use. This camera is very slow, there is a 2 second pause before the picture is actually taken and the batteries are drained very fast. I am very ready to upgrade!
1/29/2006 9:12:31 AM
 
Brandi M. Maly 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/20/2005 6:36:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/20/2005 6:36:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/20/2005 6:36:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/20/2005 6:36:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/20/2005 6:36:50 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like the uncomplicated menus and the compact size. Some of the options I don't know how to use (still) but the ones that I do, I enjoy. I have noticed that after taking the picture,centering my subject in the viewfinder, when I download the picture to the computer, it in fact is not centered. This could just be me, though I do not have the same problem with my Canon or my father's Nikon.
10/20/2005 6:36:50 AM
 
John  3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2005 11:45:53 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2005 11:45:53 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2005 11:45:53 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2005 11:45:53 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2005 11:45:53 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Nice point and shoot. Limited with only 3x optical zoom.
9/23/2005 11:45:53 AM
 
Joann Todd 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2005 4:20:38 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2005 4:20:38 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2005 4:20:38 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2005 4:20:38 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2005 4:20:38 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I love the ease of operation, but hate the delay in the actul photo being taken. I tried to take a photo of Dolphins coming to the surface and by the time I clicked and the camera actually took the picture, they were gone. It is not a good action camera.
5/18/2005 4:20:38 PM
 
Janie M. Wirges 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2005 4:05:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2005 4:05:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2005 4:05:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2005 4:05:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2005 4:05:44 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This camera is very compact and takes very good quality pictures for a beginner like myself. The only thing I don't like about it is that it only has a 3X zoom and have to wait too long in between shots.. but for the price, I rate it on the high scale.
4/30/2005 4:05:44 PM
 
Cassaundra Rutledge 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 3:28:49 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 3:28:49 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 3:28:49 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 3:28:49 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 3:28:49 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I am ready for a Canon EOS D10 This HP 812 is a great first camera, takes good picture, very slow.
10/5/2004 3:28:49 PM
 
AnnMarie L. Wallace 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2004 2:01:23 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2004 2:01:23 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2004 2:01:23 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2004 2:01:23 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2004 2:01:23 PM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
This camera has a 2-3 second delay on every picture taken, so posing is the optimal use. It's hard to get those snapshot photo's of the kids.
6/20/2004 2:01:23 PM
 
Susan E. Marsh 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2004 11:09:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2004 11:09:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2004 11:09:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2004 11:09:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2004 11:09:45 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I think it is a wonderful camera. Easy to use, clear pictures and fast results.
6/19/2004 11:09:45 PM
 
Karli Dakota 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2004 8:42:01 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2004 8:42:01 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2004 8:42:01 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2004 8:42:01 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2004 8:42:01 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I like it as a basic camera
5/6/2004 8:42:01 AM
 
Lois L. Branscom 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 11:21:29 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 11:21:29 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 11:21:29 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 11:21:29 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 11:21:29 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I am just an amateur photographer and as this is my first digital, I am not sure what to tell you. I personally am happy with it. Its pictures compare to other digital camera pictures I've seen. Oh, by the way, the picture that I am entering was taken by my grandson's digital. I have his permission to enter this photo.
1/7/2004 11:21:29 AM
 

First 10 of 15 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy Photosmart 812 Digital Camera from Amazon.com