Photosmart 720 Digital Camera


HP (Hewlett-Packard)

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Jabba the Fruitca...
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


24 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
John Koch 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2006 5:38:15 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2006 5:38:15 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2006 5:38:15 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2006 5:38:15 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2006 5:38:15 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This camera takes a decent picture but the shutter rate is rather slow. Therefore any type of quick photo is out of the question. Great for still life / scenic photos though. Also prints well on 4x6 but I would not do anything larger.
3/9/2006 5:38:15 PM
 
Darcy L. Grieve 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 5:44:59 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 5:44:59 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 5:44:59 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 5:44:59 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 5:44:59 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Camera is for starters, thats what I am and I soon hope to move up to an SLR digital.
12/8/2005 5:44:59 PM
 
Nancy B. Moore 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2005 7:16:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2005 7:16:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2005 7:16:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2005 7:16:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2005 7:16:45 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This has been a good camera. I bought DSC-H1 because of different conversion lenses I can use. I still use this camera also. It still takes beautiful photos.
11/15/2005 7:16:45 PM
 
Brandie M. Asay 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2005 9:36:41 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2005 9:36:41 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2005 9:36:41 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2005 9:36:41 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2005 9:36:41 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I enjoy my camera, sowever, it is slow when trying to shoot pictures fast.
10/19/2005 9:36:41 PM
 
Dan E. Nikolic 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2005 11:28:32 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2005 11:28:32 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2005 11:28:32 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2005 11:28:32 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2005 11:28:32 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
It suits my needs for now. But, I need one with a better zoom.
10/18/2005 11:28:32 AM
 
Nicole E. Blanchfield 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 12:31:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 12:31:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 12:31:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 12:31:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 12:31:18 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
one of the only bad things about this camera is how much it eats batteries. other than that, it takes good photographs. i also have a minolta 35mm. i think that regular slr's take better photo's than digital, but i suppose i'm just old fassioned
10/5/2005 12:31:18 PM
 
Alan Smith 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 10:48:35 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 10:48:35 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 10:48:35 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 10:48:35 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 10:48:35 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Easy to use, good picture quality, but would have preferred more manual controls.
8/18/2005 10:48:35 AM
 
Amanda  2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2005 12:16:43 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2005 12:16:43 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2005 12:16:43 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2005 12:16:43 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2005 12:16:43 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This is the only digital camera I have ever used, so I do not know how it compares to others. I have been somewhat pleased.
8/17/2005 12:16:43 PM
 
Holly A. Dow 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2005 4:41:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2005 4:41:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2005 4:41:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2005 4:41:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2005 4:41:45 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like my camera because it takes clean and clear pictures. I am able to get a good idea of how my pictures will come on the preview screen before I transfer them to the computer or print. Overall, I am satisfied with my pictures. I don't like how my camera eats up batteries and it does not take very good pictures at night.
7/27/2005 4:41:45 PM
 
KAREN K. NIXON 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2005 3:16:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2005 3:16:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2005 3:16:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2005 3:16:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2005 3:16:02 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
As far as ease of use, I would rate this camera a 10. It has large, easy-to-understand buttons and it's not too complicated. This camera takes excellent close up shots, particularly if the subject is within 1-12 feet. Zoom photos tend to not have the same level of clarity. Also, this camera is somewhat heavy as digital cameras go. It weighs about 1/2 pound but it still easily fits within the palm of your hand. Overall, it is a very good camera for someone interested in taking very basic photos without all the bells and whistles.
6/29/2005 3:16:02 PM
 
Charles F. DIorio
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/20/2005
1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2005 3:35:34 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2005 3:35:34 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2005 3:35:34 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2005 3:35:34 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2005 3:35:34 PM
Rating: 1 out of 5
broke after 3 months
6/21/2005 3:35:34 PM
 
Dianne Smith 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2005 8:08:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2005 8:08:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2005 8:08:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2005 8:08:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2005 8:08:47 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
great camera! I would recommend it for any first timer.
6/10/2005 8:08:47 AM
 
Lynn Douillette
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/26/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 9:13:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 9:13:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 9:13:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 9:13:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 9:13:19 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Not a bad camera for the price for a beginner Takes clear pictures Easy to use
4/26/2005 9:13:19 PM
 
Paul Donovan 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 12:45:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 12:45:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 12:45:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 12:45:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 12:45:39 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera. I have big hands so the bulkyness of it really helps when getting a good hold on it.
2/17/2005 12:45:39 PM
 
ANGELIA J. BEADLE 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2004 11:34:25 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2004 11:34:25 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2004 11:34:25 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2004 11:34:25 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2004 11:34:25 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
THIS CAMERA TAKES GREAT PICTURES! I WISH IT HAD MORE ZOOM
10/26/2004 11:34:25 AM
 
Sarah Johnson 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2004 7:40:51 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2004 7:40:51 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2004 7:40:51 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2004 7:40:51 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2004 7:40:51 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
There is an annoying delay between pushing the button and the actual picture being taken and frequently I have to give the camera a few tries to focus when on auto...by that time the moment has passed. Not a great choice for doing shots in succession. It can be slow to "process" and can be frusterating. The hue on the screen changes often The good is the photo quality is good, the size is small..its a good camera for family outings and snapshots
9/1/2004 7:40:51 PM
 
Bjana  C. Hoey
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/31/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 6:54:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 6:54:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 6:54:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 6:54:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 6:54:43 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like this camera very much. It takes good quality pictures. Zooms is good.
6/25/2004 6:54:43 AM
 
Tina Simpson 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2004 12:03:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2004 12:03:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2004 12:03:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2004 12:03:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2004 12:03:00 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera is perfect for me. It takes clear crisp shots. Great camera for close up shots. My only problem is it takes a long time to take the picture which makes me sometimes miss the shot, (especially when trying to capture something cute one of my babies is doing) other than that it's really great. Simple to use.
5/19/2004 12:03:00 PM
 
Stephanie M. Jusko 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2004 11:43:39 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2004 11:43:39 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2004 11:43:39 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2004 11:43:39 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2004 11:43:39 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
As my first camera it has helped me a lot. I enjoy this camera, but now that I have learned more about Photography, this camera has a few limited uses. The H.P. 720 camera has a limited zoom capability and a small & dark LCD screen. Although it has those flaws it really has been a good camera.
5/12/2004 11:43:39 AM
 
Tim Murray 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2004 9:29:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2004 9:29:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2004 9:29:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2004 9:29:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2004 9:29:52 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This camera for the price is a good one, its simple to use. the one thing I found is that without zooming and just getting close the picture comes out very good ,when you zoom from a distance I lose quality in the photo but,close ups are the best
4/21/2004 9:29:52 PM
 
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2003 7:47:16 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2003 7:47:16 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2003 7:47:16 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2003 7:47:16 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2003 7:47:16 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
An average and affordable digitol camera with enough options for to make fun pictures.
12/21/2003 7:47:16 AM
 
Rhonda  E. Thomassen 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2003 4:25:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2003 4:25:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2003 4:25:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2003 4:25:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2003 4:25:44 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I really love it. I am partial to the canon powershot, that is my love. I dont own one yet. My HP takes wonderful drive by "shootings". While in Europe my father in law led and I had to get a lot of drive by shootings or nothing at all and it was wonderfu!
9/22/2003 4:25:44 PM
 
Ola L. Himes 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2003 8:27:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2003 8:27:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2003 8:27:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2003 8:27:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2003 8:27:40 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It is really an awsome camera. With the card I can take unlimited photos, of exceptional quality. The zoom on it is also great. Like with most digital cameras the only draw back is how fast it drains the batteries. Even so I really like the camera.
7/19/2003 8:27:40 AM
 
Karen M. Kroll
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/24/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2003 11:32:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2003 11:32:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2003 11:32:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2003 11:32:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2003 11:32:06 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Has not let me down yet for an everyday digital camera. Put it together with the hp photosmart 230 photo printer I'll never use film for an all around photo time again.
6/21/2003 11:32:06 AM
 

24 Reviews