Photosmart C618 Digital Camera


HP (Hewlett-Packard)

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

A Moment In Time
View photos created with this camera

The Photosmart C618 Digital Camera

Features:


  • 2.1-megapixel sensor for prints up to 8 by 10 inches
  • 3x optical plus 2x digital zoom Pentax autofocus lens
  • Included 16 MB CompactFlash memory card holds 28 images at
    default resolution
  • Connects with Macs and PCs via USB port
  • Uses 4 AA batteries (disposable lithium batteries included);
    jointly designed with Pentax; uses Digita operating system

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


15 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
PATRICIA A. CASEY
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/24/2004
Contact PATRICIA
PATRICIA's Gallery
patriciacasey.com
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2005 3:36:50 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2005 3:36:50 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2005 3:36:50 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2005 3:36:50 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2005 3:36:50 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
For my first digital camera it was o.k. I wasn't sure if I would shoot a lot of digital......Since it wasn't an SLR (which I was most comfortable with) it was frustrating in composing photos...eventually I figured it out.....and being digital I didn't waste a lot of film or processing fees to see my results so I guess it was a good introductory camera to the world of digital!
11/17/2005 3:36:50 PM
 
Amy Bush 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 6:45:15 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 6:45:15 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 6:45:15 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 6:45:15 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 6:45:15 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Camera works well for on the fly digital pictures and for some pretty nice high quality shots. I have produce some very good photo's from this Camera.
7/26/2005 6:45:15 PM
 
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2005 6:32:14 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2005 6:32:14 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2005 6:32:14 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2005 6:32:14 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2005 6:32:14 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Don't like digitals so much, except it's handy living in an isolated area without film developing. Often unable to get the photo you want, due to time delay.
5/15/2005 6:32:14 PM
 
Anonymous Roy Anonymous
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/12/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2005 4:32:00 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2005 4:32:00 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2005 4:32:00 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2005 4:32:00 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2005 4:32:00 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
For a point and shoot camera, it was very good as far as cameras go as it took nice ptotos but where it fell short was like all point and shoots was the time lag in not being able to take fast or action shots and the battery life was very short. Thus that is why I switched to my Nikon D70.
3/26/2005 4:32:00 AM
 
Stephen  5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2005 5:37:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2005 5:37:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2005 5:37:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2005 5:37:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2005 5:37:43 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
My first cam still use it alot when my SLR is over kill for simple snapshots.
3/6/2005 5:37:43 PM
 
Michelle L. Burnham 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2005 10:02:54 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2005 10:02:54 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2005 10:02:54 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2005 10:02:54 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2005 10:02:54 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
It is easy to use. Great for action shots. (Quick shutter speed. ) Allows for manual settings as well.
2/18/2005 10:02:54 AM
 
Karen J. Manning 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2004 7:13:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2004 7:13:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2004 7:13:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2004 7:13:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2004 7:13:59 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I am happy with this digital camera. I really have no complains. Perhaps it could weigh less. The best thing is the ability to take perfect pictures in complete darkness with the flash.
6/6/2004 7:13:59 PM
 
Don Leslie 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2004 10:41:47 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2004 10:41:47 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2004 10:41:47 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2004 10:41:47 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2004 10:41:47 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Nice camera for my first digital.It is fully automatic, but now i would like to get one with some mauual settings to i can learn and experiment some.
4/1/2004 10:41:47 AM
 
Don Leslie 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2004 10:40:09 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2004 10:40:09 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2004 10:40:09 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2004 10:40:09 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2004 10:40:09 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Nice camera, but all automatic, which was ok at the time, being my first digital, i would like a new one with some manual settings so i can learn and experiment.Am going to purchase at Canon S1 shortly
4/1/2004 10:40:09 AM
 
Angela S. Theriot 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2003 4:24:21 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2003 4:24:21 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2003 4:24:21 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2003 4:24:21 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2003 4:24:21 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
User friendly and takes good quality pictures outdoors. Just don't like the battery life.
8/21/2003 4:24:21 PM
 
Angela S. Theriot 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2003 4:22:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2003 4:22:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2003 4:22:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2003 4:22:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2003 4:22:00 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like the view cam on it. I also like the feature where you can modify the memory stick to "good..better..or best". I don't like the battery life though. Seems like the batteries don't have a long enough charge life. Also, alot of indoor pictures produce red eyes. Takes good quality pictures outside though.
8/21/2003 4:22:00 PM
 
Grant Freeman 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2003 1:27:29 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2003 1:27:29 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2003 1:27:29 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2003 1:27:29 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2003 1:27:29 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
hewlett packard 618 is a very simple camera to use and adapter is available for filters because it is a 2.11 mp only smaller photo quality prints can be made, but for web images its fine, the same money I spent for it now I could get a 3 or even 4 mp camera
8/15/2003 1:27:29 PM
 
Kittsbag Pitman 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2003 11:29:17 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2003 11:29:17 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2003 11:29:17 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2003 11:29:17 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2003 11:29:17 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
It is nice as a first digital camera.
7/23/2003 11:29:17 AM
 
Heather G. Blowers 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2003 12:56:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2003 12:56:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2003 12:56:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2003 12:56:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2003 12:56:25 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I LOVE THIS CAMERA!
7/18/2003 12:56:25 PM
 
Alison F. Carlino 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2003 1:35:46 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2003 1:35:46 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2003 1:35:46 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2003 1:35:46 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2003 1:35:46 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
great for a beginner that doesn't want to manually adjust shutter speed or aperture
6/30/2003 1:35:46 PM
 

15 Reviews  

Buy Photosmart C618 Digital Camera from Amazon.com