BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Online 4-Week Short Course - Mastering Black-and-White with Rob Sheppard

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

4-Week Short Course: Mastering Black-and-White Photography Course
Course Instructor: Rob Sheppard
4-Week Short Course: Mastering Black-and-White

Black-and-white has become an elegant way of capturing the world in photography. In this online course, you will learn the key ways of getting the best from black-and-white as you shoot, then how to make the best translation from color to B&W in the computer. Instructor is pro photographer Rob Sheppard, editor-at-large of Outdoor Photographer magazine and author of over 30 books about photography. The course includes short instructional videos, so you can actually see what is happening to colors and light as they are changed to black-and-white. Becoming a better black-and-white photographer will help you become a better photographer in color, too!

Category: Photoshop Courses
Skill Level: 3 - Serious Hobbyist
Only $198 USD

Learn more about
4-Week Short Course: Mastering Black-and-White


12 Reviews  

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Utila Matzke
Contact Utila
Utila's Gallery

member since: 12/1/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a wonderful class from a great teacher. It has opened for me a whole world of enjoyment and creativity, taking pictures as well as processing them afterwards. Thank you very much Rob
5/10/2014 3:07:34 PM
 
Rajiv Chopra
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Rajiv
Rajiv's Gallery
crookedimagez.biz

member since: 12/25/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a marvelous course. Rob is a fantastic instructor. I had started my photography doing B&W, and when I switched to digital, my brain switched from tones to color. Rob's course, his videos were really good, and helped me get back on track.

The videos bring the course to life. I really appreciate this
The critiques are excellent, punctual, detailed and respectful.

4/4/2014 1:20:25 AM
 
Richard J. Boyle
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 11/3/2013
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Rob Sheppard is a very gifted instructor who provides super fast and most useful critiques. In fact, I reworked each image based on his critiques and learned a lot. I loved reading the critiques provided to my classmates as Rob always had a unique perspectives. If you want a quality course on digital black & white photography, search no more, this is it.
The lesson videos are excellent and interesting.

Dick Boyle

2/2/2014 1:35:11 PM
 
John D. Roach
BetterPhoto Member
Contact John
John's Gallery
jdroachphotography.com

member since: 11/2/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent course again put on by BP and Rob. Rob is detailed and focused. He is one of the best instructors I have had the honor to learn from. I highly recommend taking all of his courses, he will show you the way.
12/5/2013 10:33:15 AM
 
Dene Shaver
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Dene
Dene's Gallery

member since: 12/31/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I loved this class! Now I see in black and white!
10/7/2013 2:50:38 PM
 
Steinar Kibsgaard
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Steinar
Steinar's Gallery

member since: 5/31/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course is highly recommended, and I'm probably not as easy to satisfy after approx. 22 courses here - even if you only occasionally use black and white, because it also teaches you something about light and shadows that you can use to color images.

But the teaching of black-and-white images, this course is simply unique, and I will guarantee you that you are taking a giant leap in improving your black-and-white images, but do not tell too many - I want it in a narrow circle as possible, then you can shine;);)

Joking aside.

There are some very instructive videos, which together with the text of the lessons gives you a very good approach.

I have long Silver Efex Pro 2, but had not gone beyond the pre-settings, so I was especially fond of a sovereign fast but simple and very educational display about using Silver Efex Pro 2

Rob is really educational in his approach to teach others - especially his videos, they are filled with substance, so you are happy that they do not last longer - there is much to "hold" and one has to see them more than once.

I was also happy for his criticism of my pictures, and it is really one of the most important things, is it not ?

4/5/2013 12:07:24 PM
 
Kayann Cassidy

member since: 1/4/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was by far my favorite course yet a BetterPhoto. Rob Sheppard made learning black and white enjoyable and I am looking at the world in a whole new way. Thanks Rob, I look forward to my next class with you.
8/29/2012 7:20:26 AM
 
Patrick S. Farrington

member since: 9/19/2009
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This was one of the best courses that I've taken!! Rob is an excellent instructor and is feedback is very informative. The information that was covered in this class has greatly improved not only my black & white photography,but will also help my color photography. I would highly recommend this class for anyone that wants to take their photography to the next level.
8/11/2012 5:56:16 AM
 
Stephanie Lewis
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 11/27/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is an excellent course. Really appreciated Rob's helpful feedback and organized lessons. I also liked the video component of the lessons. I think it should be an 8-week class or there should be a Part II. As much as was covered, I think we only scratched the surface.
6/9/2012 3:45:31 AM
 
Paul R. Nelson
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Paul
Paul's Gallery
thecreatorshandphotography.net

member since: 12/5/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks, Rob! ... I appreciated how your lessons and assignments took us step by step through the process of learning to produce quality B&W images. ... Thanks to this class, I have a much better understanding of how the whole process from capture to conversion can affect a B&W image.
4/25/2012 11:07:33 AM
 
Sky Pate
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 11/8/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks Rob, you have really opened my eyes to a whole new way of "seeing" things, and therefore, many more things to shoot! I am forever in your debt. You may never realize the impact you've had, but thank you so much!!
4/12/2012 8:54:43 AM
 
Bonnie L. Smith
bonniesmithphotography.com

member since: 6/25/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks, Rob! This has been an outstanding course for me and has opened my eyes a lot wider to actually see in B&W. It's been a lot of fun.
4/12/2012 8:50:36 AM
 

12 Reviews  

Add your own review

Enroll

Add to Wishlist


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.