Online Photo Course - Landscape Photography with Doug Steakley

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

Landscape Photography Photography Course
Course Instructor: © Doug Steakley
Landscape Photography

Learn exciting new techniques for capturing dynamic landscape images. For many of us, landscapes are the foundation of photography. From Ansel Adams's dramatic b/w photos to more contemporary color scenes that are recorded with digital cameras, landscapes are an expression that most photographers turn their attention to at one time or another. In this class, top pro Doug Steakley will help you develop your personal vision and discover new ways of seeing. From the Rule of Thirds to photographing star trails, this course covers a wide range of landscape possibilities and combines technical assistance with refining your personal expression.

Category: Nature / Travel
Skill Level: 3 - Serious Hobbyist
Only $396 USD

Learn more about
Landscape Photography


First 10 of 14 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Rebecca Barkley
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/27/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2013 8:56:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2013 8:56:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2013 8:56:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2013 8:56:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2013 8:56:07 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This class is the best class I have taken yet here at Better Photo! The lessons are clear, very well done, and the assignments are really enjoyable. Doug is a wonderful teacher- he has an enthusiasm for photography that is contagious, and he is a very encouraging instructor. His critiques very constructive, and he helps you with every aspect of photography, even if it seems to lie outside the scope of this class. If you are at all interested in nature photography, you should take this class- you could not help but grow as a photographer!
11/13/2013 8:56:07 AM
 
Kathleen F. Krauss 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2013 11:54:29 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2013 11:54:29 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2013 11:54:29 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2013 11:54:29 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2013 11:54:29 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks for a great class! I really felt you were on our side, helping us with the benefit of your experience, vision and knowledge, and that support was very nice. You have an amazing ability to find the positive and then give plenty of guidance for improvement. ...
It was a fun class. ... Very complete, and we had the time to feel ourselves develop and grow. I'm sorry to see the class come to an end but will take what I learned with me whenever I'm out shooting!
3/25/2013 11:54:29 AM
 
Pam Baumann
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/6/2009
Contact Pam
Pam's Gallery
pambaumannphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2012 5:08:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2012 5:08:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2012 5:08:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2012 5:08:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2012 5:08:12 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
One of the better instructors at BP for sure. I enjoy Dougs classes as he is open and sincere with his comments and critiques. Both classes that I have taken with Doug have provided new skillsets for me in my quest to be a better photographer. IMO, he goes above and beyond in answering any questions and providing whatever assistance you may need. I look forward to Doug picking up another one or two topics. Thank you for a great class.
11/24/2012 5:08:12 PM
 
Curtis Ghent
Contact Curtis
Curtis's Gallery
curtisghentphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2012 1:46:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2012 1:46:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2012 1:46:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2012 1:46:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2012 1:46:59 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent on line course. I've taken several online courses before from another company, but this course, Landscape Photography with Doug was by far the best course I have ever taken. Doug made you really thing about what you were doing when out in the field shooting along with the post processing part. The range of subject matter I think covered all the bases. Doug was very open and easy to talk to and responded in a timely manner. I also appreciated the fact that I have the opportunity to contact Doug in the future if the need arises.
Overall, an excellent class.
11/15/2012 1:46:59 PM
 
Salwa  Afef
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/3/2008
Contact Salwa
Salwa 's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2012 4:00:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2012 4:00:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2012 4:00:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2012 4:00:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2012 4:00:39 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
It was a wonderful course !!
Doug Steakley critiques,tips and suggestions are always helping to develop your own work and to make a piece of art not just to capture a photo .
He leads you gently to be attached to the scene: how to see and how to sculpture your photo before you click the shutter .
To watch carefully the elements and analyze every part of your photo !
To have tack sharp eyes as a photographer is a great thing you build, and this course is one of BP courses that improves this significant skill .
I like also the part of post processing to re edit the photo when it needs some adjustment : tone ,colors ,saturation converting to b&w …etc
Doug lets you free to do many editing to one photo until he says : I think it’s better now, what do you think ,do you like it ?
Or he does another editing by himself .
Sometimes he will surprise you with adding one of his own photo to your “assignment photo” and you would think maybe something wrong happen, photo from nowhere landed beside your photo !!
No, it’s not my photo and then you see he puts his photo to support your work with an idea or just as a nice memory between 2 photos,so nice from you, Doug ! :)
Thank you so much Doug,for your excellent course, your critiques are shaping my mind,opening my eyes more and leading me to the right track !

I’m going to miss your course and the artistic approach .

11/7/2012 4:00:39 AM
 
Mark Curtis 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2012 5:19:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2012 5:19:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2012 5:19:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2012 5:19:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2012 5:19:02 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
It was a great class. Doug Steakley has a great teaching style that motivates you to take better photos. When he critiques your photos, he is very positive and helpful, and he gives expert advice how to improve your photo from capture through processing. I highly recommend this class, and I look forward to taking futures classes from Doug
9/18/2012 5:19:02 PM
 
Elsa Gary
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/19/2005
Contact Elsa
Elsa's Gallery
elsagaryphoto.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2012 8:30:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2012 8:30:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2012 8:30:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2012 8:30:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2012 8:30:12 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Doug Steakley is an incredible instructor and this is an excellent and challenging course. He is extremely thorough in his critiques and provides very helpful in-depth step-by-step instructions for suggested improvements to student images and as answers to student questions. I've taken many BP courses and feel that if you don't take one of Doug's courses, you're missing out on a very special experience.
8/31/2012 8:30:12 PM
 
Paul R. Nelson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/5/2008
Contact Paul
Paul's Gallery
thecreatorshandphotography.net
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2012 9:05:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2012 9:05:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2012 9:05:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2012 9:05:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2012 9:05:59 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
It has been a pleasure being in your class, and I have definitely enjoyed it and benefited from it! My photography has grown immensely over the last 8 weeks, and I am a much better and more confident photographer for having been in this class. Your lessons have been both informative and challenging, as have been your critiques, and have brought out my best and encouraged me to go further. As with most of the classes I have taken here at BP, this one came at the right time and brought together a lot of the things that I have learned in ther classes, workshops and from self-study in a way that I didn't anticipate to give results I didn't expect. Thank you for your part in that. If my schedule and finances were to work out to make it possible, I would very much enjoy attending a tour or workshop with you some day. I will truly miss this class and am sorry to
see it end.
8/8/2012 9:05:59 AM
 
Beth D. Yeaw 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2012 9:02:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2012 9:02:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2012 9:02:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2012 9:02:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2012 9:02:10 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks so much, Doug! This class has been absolutely the best. I feel like I have learned so so much, and can't wait to continue practicing all that I have learned!
8/8/2012 9:02:10 AM
 
John D. Roach
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/2/2010
Contact John
John's Gallery
jdroachphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2012 3:23:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2012 3:23:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2012 3:23:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2012 3:23:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2012 3:23:16 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Superb Course...Doug provide excellent quality lesson plans and sound critiques! I learned a lot from him.
7/7/2012 3:23:16 PM
 
Toby Drye
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/12/2010
Contact Toby
Toby's Gallery
DryeImages.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2012 12:03:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2012 12:03:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2012 12:03:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2012 12:03:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2012 12:03:17 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you for the great critiques! Your critiques are like getting a private lesson in photography, and they are worth there weight in gold. I can't thank you enough for the way you have gently pushed me into being a better photographer. I feel as if I am growing day by day thanks to you!
7/3/2012 12:03:17 PM
 

First 10 of 14 Reviews  (see all user reviews)


Enroll

Add to Wishlist