Cyber-shot DSC-S30 Digital Camera


Sony

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

transpotation
View photos created with this camera

Features:


  • 1.3 megapixel sensor captures images with enough detail to
    create 5 x 7 prints
  • 3x optical plus 2x digital zoom lens with autofocus
  • Included 4 MB MemoryStick holds 18 images at default resolution
  • Connects to Macs and PCs via USB port
  • Rechargeable Sony InfoLithium battery and AC adapter included


Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


16 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Ogun Yusuf 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2006 9:26:20 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2006 9:26:20 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2006 9:26:20 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2006 9:26:20 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2006 9:26:20 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Early model digital camera very low pixels 1.3, like the folding and twisting veiw finder.
4/1/2006 9:26:20 PM
 
Ali M. Abu Ali 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2005 8:23:37 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2005 8:23:37 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2005 8:23:37 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2005 8:23:37 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2005 8:23:37 PM
Rating: 1 out of 5
What I don't like about this camera is that it takes nearly a second for the picture to be taken. I can't shoot people while they are talking because it takes luck to capture the right moment.
6/15/2005 8:23:37 PM
 
Aub R G McLeod 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/14/2005 4:04:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/14/2005 4:04:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/14/2005 4:04:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/14/2005 4:04:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/14/2005 4:04:39 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
excellent learners camera
5/14/2005 4:04:39 PM
 
Burton C. Wise
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/16/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2005 3:17:05 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2005 3:17:05 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2005 3:17:05 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2005 3:17:05 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2005 3:17:05 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
good starter camera
2/19/2005 3:17:05 PM
 
Marianne M. Fitts 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 2:02:39 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 2:02:39 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 2:02:39 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 2:02:39 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 2:02:39 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Not many megapixels, but have had for years and like it very much. Will upgrade soon to Nikon Coolpix 5700
2/11/2005 2:02:39 PM
 
Danielle  L. Ramsey 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2005 9:03:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2005 9:03:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2005 9:03:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2005 9:03:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2005 9:03:52 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
this is my favotite picture of my dog that I have
1/20/2005 9:03:52 AM
 
Julie Wall
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/19/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2004 2:34:37 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2004 2:34:37 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2004 2:34:37 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2004 2:34:37 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2004 2:34:37 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Not a bad camera for beginners, and it can take some pretty decent shots...I wish it had a better zoom, however. :)
6/23/2004 2:34:37 PM
 
Julie Wall
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/19/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2004 7:06:42 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2004 7:06:42 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2004 7:06:42 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2004 7:06:42 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2004 7:06:42 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It's not a bad camera for a beginner, however, I really miss having manual settings. This camera is great for family snapshots and/or action shots, if you aren't looking to get totally serious about your photography. The zoom isn't bad for snapshots, but to get good nature photos, you practically have to be right on top of your subject, and 9 out of 10 times, MY subjects see me coming, so they fly/slither/run away. :)
6/19/2004 7:06:42 PM
 
Julia Simera
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/3/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2004 3:43:29 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2004 3:43:29 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2004 3:43:29 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2004 3:43:29 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2004 3:43:29 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great camera to start out with. The only downfall is that you don't have a viewfinder. All pictures have to be taken by looking at your LCD screen...
5/11/2004 3:43:29 PM
 
Debbie M. Leftwich 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2004 8:50:08 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2004 8:50:08 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2004 8:50:08 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2004 8:50:08 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2004 8:50:08 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Other than the lack of more megapixels, I've been very happy with the camera. Ease of use, choice of options, etc. have been fine for me up to this point.
4/27/2004 8:50:08 AM
 
Angie M. Smisson 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2004 10:32:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2004 10:32:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2004 10:32:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2004 10:32:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2004 10:32:07 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Meets my needs at this time.
3/18/2004 10:32:07 PM
 
Pat Wimpee 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2003 6:33:07 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2003 6:33:07 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2003 6:33:07 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2003 6:33:07 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2003 6:33:07 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Good camera for the low pixel level.
10/18/2003 6:33:07 PM
 
Tonia  Carrick 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2003 6:52:00 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2003 6:52:00 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2003 6:52:00 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2003 6:52:00 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2003 6:52:00 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I really enjoy working with this camera. It is light weight and I can hold and shoot forever. I would like to have more artistic cpntrol and a zoom lense.
9/26/2003 6:52:00 PM
 
Kellie B. Dore
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/8/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2003 5:48:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2003 5:48:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2003 5:48:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2003 5:48:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2003 5:48:53 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I LOVE my camera, although it is an older model and only 1.3 megapixels. I am hesitating on buying a newer version only because I love the size of this one and am not looking for a tiny camera, although would love to update the quality of my photos.
9/8/2003 5:48:53 AM
 
Jennifer Koonce 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2003 9:29:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2003 9:29:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2003 9:29:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2003 9:29:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2003 9:29:33 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera was a gift to my husband. I had not been introduced to the digital world before then. I have found the camera to be very easy to use and the quality of the pictures I get are magnificent (When I operate it correctly, that is :)
7/18/2003 9:29:33 PM
 
Ayman M. Shawy 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 4:03:20 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 4:03:20 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 4:03:20 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 4:03:20 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 4:03:20 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
SMALL, COMPACT, VERY DURABLE, TILTING LCD , SHUTTER SPEED, SPIECLA EFFECTS ,BUT THE ONLY THING IT IS LOW RES ONLY 1.2 . BUT THIS IS ALL WHAT I NEED NOT MORE , LOOKING FOR THE SAME SPECS WITH HIGH RES BUT I CANT FIND.
6/17/2003 4:03:20 AM
 

16 Reviews  

Buy Cyber-shot DSC-S30 Digital Camera from Amazon.com