BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Mavica CD300 Digital Camera


Sony

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Lens Flare
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


22 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Nancy Blackburn

member since: 3/20/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This was my first digital camera. It was very easy to use for a beginner. The CD storage was convenient but extremely slow on recovery after each shot. I was able to capture some very interesting images with this camera and would recommend it to anyone who wanted basically a point and shoot camera that provided very good results.
5/8/2006 5:56:14 PM
 
Joelle Ramu
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 10/6/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
It's a great camera, although the shot speed can be a little slow.
10/6/2005 10:16:28 PM
 
Sylvia B. Toftness

member since: 7/25/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
My husband and I chose this ZLR because it records to mini-CDs: at under 50 cents a disc, it is really cheap memory storage, and each CD is a permanent record you can easily file in the sleeve of a 3-ring binder. I also like the weight of the camera - it really helps reduce "camera shake." At 3.3 MP, I can enlarge photos to 12-15" with crisp resolution. The focus is sharp. Color is very good. It's got all the features now offered in the higher-end compact SLRs. I'm still learning how to use most of them! The shortcomings are also typical of any compact SLR: Digital zoom is a fiction; considerable shutter-lag, very limited ISOs, very limited focal length and aperture flexibility. It is because of these limitations that I'm saving up for a Canon EOS 20D.
8/1/2005 2:46:20 PM
 
Patrick T. Manasco

member since: 7/28/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
would love more megapixels
7/28/2005 9:19:54 AM
 
William Dow
billdowphotography.com

member since: 8/8/2002
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
It's OK as long as you don't need repair work done on it. My camera was with Sony for repair for almost three months.
6/28/2005 9:47:09 AM
 
Robert 
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/25/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like the digital aspect of this camera because I can see the results of my photos instantly. It does have a small aperture range though. Plus the zoom is not real well for long range photos. I have a great time using the camera none the less though.
3/27/2005 9:18:08 AM
 
Martha Harris

member since: 2/25/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I've had this camera for almost three years now. I really enjoy using it. The only thing I don't like is the amount of time it takes to record a photo. Unless I'm using the burst mode, I can't take several pictures one right after the other.
2/27/2005 11:42:11 AM
 
Robert R. OBannon
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/19/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
At the time, this camera was awesome. Now... But, the color that it produces is amazing, and the KZ lens is really much better than it looks. I figure Karl should get about 20% of the credit for my picture's quality, and Sony can have 10%. The removable CD was great, since at the time, removable memory cards was just a possible future. Also, it allowed me to take it to an internet-cafe (I didn't have a PC at the time) and upload to the fam, and transfer. I still don't see any reason to replace it. And 3.3Mp is plenty of pixels.
2/19/2005 4:08:06 AM
 
Melisa D. Kifer
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/28/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
This was my first digital camera. It definitely taught me the basics of digital shooting. It wasn't long until I missed the range of shooting that an SLR provides. That is when I bought the Canon EOS 20D.
1/29/2005 3:30:39 AM
 
Michael Eagleson

member since: 11/15/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great image quality and the ability to write directly to CD is a huge strong point. The camera is wonderful for serious digital photography, but the size of the camera doesn't make it ideal for travel. That's why I bought the Sony DSC-T1.
11/15/2004 5:40:08 PM
 
Joy Phillips

member since: 10/12/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Love it!!! I get like 120 pictures per CD and 8 min of video. Cd's are cheap & easy to use. Fantastic Camera.
9/3/2004 10:50:59 AM
 
David Decker

member since: 5/16/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera, very easy to transfer pictures since it uses mini discs as opposed to memory sticks. The mini-cd's is the reason I bought the camera. Glad I did!
5/17/2004 12:05:12 AM
 
elisa keogh

member since: 9/30/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
A great "point and shoot" with some manual offerings. Carl Zeiss lens is great. Using manual settings, the f-stop is limiting (f/2.2-f.8) and the shutter is a little slow to react. However, before I had my Cannon, I was very happy with this camera.
2/23/2004 9:30:39 AM
 
Lyn E. Adams
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Lyn
Lyn's Gallery

member since: 1/25/2004
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
A good first or second 'point & shoot' digital camera. Nice lens and generally good resolution (3.2 mega-pixels max). Convenient mini-CD recording media (lots of storage per disk and low cost) is a very nice feature. Drawbacks: Manual focus is virtually impossible, however auto-focus is reasonable but center pointed (doesn't help with field composition - ie: rule of thirds tough to achieve on close shots)... Like many digital cameras - it is now outdated - still I use it occassionally...
1/25/2004 8:45:11 PM
 
Barbara A. Burn

member since: 10/8/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera is very similar to a film camera it was extremely easy to learn to operate. The only thing I miss is a viewfinder on sunny days.
10/20/2003 12:54:46 PM
 
Karl Eiriksson

member since: 10/1/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
i like the macro features
10/1/2003 10:15:51 AM
 
Heather B. Spicer

member since: 9/10/2003
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I really like my camera, it has lots of cool features. I am sure there is alot better out there. When I bought it, it was top of the line and I spent $900 at Sears. I am just learning and it was my first digital camera. Looking to buy a new one any day now. Love the ability to switch from black and white back to color in one switch.
9/10/2003 12:25:56 PM
 
Patricia (Pat) C. Exum
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Patricia (Pat)
Patricia (Pat)'s Gallery
harmoniousimagery.com

member since: 11/24/2002
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love the camera except there is no viewfinder, just the LCD. If you are taking pictures outdoors on a bright sunny day it is difficult to see the image you're trying to capture. I purchased the viewfinder that fits over the LCD which helps somewhat, but you still can't get a clear view of the image you are trying to capture.
8/25/2003 1:56:21 AM
 
Peter  Brickey

member since: 7/29/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good camera for those willing to be hamstrung by the obvious limitations.
8/9/2003 6:07:22 PM
 
Johnny Carter

member since: 7/7/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really like the CD300, I was new to the world of photography, didn't know shutter speed from F Stop. This camera allowed me to get used to the fine auto features it has, then allowed me to progress to the more advanced manual settings. The CD storage is great, the only drawback to me is the 3X optical, as always I would love to see something that reaches farther out there.
7/9/2003 12:44:53 PM
 
Karen M. Allard

member since: 7/6/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love the picture quality that I receive with this camera
7/6/2003 6:07:11 AM
 
Deborah K. Mayes

member since: 5/13/2002
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is my second digital camera, and I've had it for a little more than a year.

The camera takes beautiful photographs in various modes - black and white, solarize, color, mpeg movies, etc. Primarily I've utilized the best color picture modes, however, since all the other functions can be handled with a graphics program at a later date.

The CD300 also has several programs, such as sports, landscape, etc., which I frankly use only rarely. Some of the other functions are more useful, such as being able to change the equivalent film speed, exposure lock, etc.

Setting the white balance can also be a little bit kludgy (I take pictures of hockey under tungsten lighting, for example), but I have given up on that and simply fix the balance later in a graphics program.

This camera only has a 3X optical zoom, which was somewhat disappointing, since the CD1000 had a 10X optical zoom. The CD1000 only had 2.1 megapixel images, however. I was able to outfit it with a telephoto lens which does reasonably well under most conditions.

My first camera, which I liked very much, was an Olympus D-490Z. But a major drawback for me was the memory card. At some point it dawned on me that if I took it on vacation or trips, I would also have to drag my laptop and card reader, or purchase a number of memory cards, which weren't cheap. The CD300 utilizes mini CD's, which are also available in the RW format. Each holds 81 pictures using the highest jpeg resolution. This makes it feasible to take along on trips, and much simpler to copy the final pictures to my computer. I can then burn the photos onto larger CD's, and reformat the mini CD for reuse.

My next digital (there is always a "next" with computer stuff) will hopefully be more of a pro model that supports interchangeable lenses. But hopefully by then other camera makers will have adopted the CD storage format, because I've really learned to love it.

8/19/2002 3:56:22 PM
 

22 Reviews  

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.