BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Mavica CD300 Digital Camera


Sony

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Lens Flare
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 22 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Nancy Blackburn

member since: 3/20/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This was my first digital camera. It was very easy to use for a beginner. The CD storage was convenient but extremely slow on recovery after each shot. I was able to capture some very interesting images with this camera and would recommend it to anyone who wanted basically a point and shoot camera that provided very good results.
5/8/2006 5:56:14 PM
 
Joelle Ramu
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 10/6/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
It's a great camera, although the shot speed can be a little slow.
10/6/2005 10:16:28 PM
 
Sylvia B. Toftness

member since: 7/25/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
My husband and I chose this ZLR because it records to mini-CDs: at under 50 cents a disc, it is really cheap memory storage, and each CD is a permanent record you can easily file in the sleeve of a 3-ring binder. I also like the weight of the camera - it really helps reduce "camera shake." At 3.3 MP, I can enlarge photos to 12-15" with crisp resolution. The focus is sharp. Color is very good. It's got all the features now offered in the higher-end compact SLRs. I'm still learning how to use most of them! The shortcomings are also typical of any compact SLR: Digital zoom is a fiction; considerable shutter-lag, very limited ISOs, very limited focal length and aperture flexibility. It is because of these limitations that I'm saving up for a Canon EOS 20D.
8/1/2005 2:46:20 PM
 
Patrick T. Manasco

member since: 7/28/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
would love more megapixels
7/28/2005 9:19:54 AM
 
William Dow
billdowphotography.com

member since: 8/8/2002
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
It's OK as long as you don't need repair work done on it. My camera was with Sony for repair for almost three months.
6/28/2005 9:47:09 AM
 
Robert 
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/25/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like the digital aspect of this camera because I can see the results of my photos instantly. It does have a small aperture range though. Plus the zoom is not real well for long range photos. I have a great time using the camera none the less though.
3/27/2005 9:18:08 AM
 
Martha Harris

member since: 2/25/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I've had this camera for almost three years now. I really enjoy using it. The only thing I don't like is the amount of time it takes to record a photo. Unless I'm using the burst mode, I can't take several pictures one right after the other.
2/27/2005 11:42:11 AM
 
Robert R. OBannon
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/19/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
At the time, this camera was awesome. Now... But, the color that it produces is amazing, and the KZ lens is really much better than it looks. I figure Karl should get about 20% of the credit for my picture's quality, and Sony can have 10%. The removable CD was great, since at the time, removable memory cards was just a possible future. Also, it allowed me to take it to an internet-cafe (I didn't have a PC at the time) and upload to the fam, and transfer. I still don't see any reason to replace it. And 3.3Mp is plenty of pixels.
2/19/2005 4:08:06 AM
 
Melisa D. Kifer
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/28/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
This was my first digital camera. It definitely taught me the basics of digital shooting. It wasn't long until I missed the range of shooting that an SLR provides. That is when I bought the Canon EOS 20D.
1/29/2005 3:30:39 AM
 
Michael Eagleson

member since: 11/15/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great image quality and the ability to write directly to CD is a huge strong point. The camera is wonderful for serious digital photography, but the size of the camera doesn't make it ideal for travel. That's why I bought the Sony DSC-T1.
11/15/2004 5:40:08 PM
 
Joy Phillips

member since: 10/12/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Love it!!! I get like 120 pictures per CD and 8 min of video. Cd's are cheap & easy to use. Fantastic Camera.
9/3/2004 10:50:59 AM
 

First 10 of 22 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.