Mavica CD1000 Digital Camera


Sony

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

DUCK FEATHERS
View photos created with this camera

The Mavica CD1000 Digital Camera

Sony's Mavica line of digital cameras has been revered for its quality optics and great batteries and especially for its use of floppy discs as a storage medium. But with the advent of higher and higher resolution CCD imaging sensors, the small capacity of floppies has made them a much less practical form of storage, requiring unacceptable levels of JPEG compression to fit even a few images on a disc. Sony has solved the floppy capacity problem with its newest Mavica--the MVC-CD1000--by using a much more forgiving storage medium: CD-R.

Features:


  • 2.1 million pixels
  • 10x optical/20x digital zoom
  • Images saved on 3'' CD-R disc
  • Images can be viewed on Macs and PCs via CD-ROM drive or USB connection
  • Uses Sony InfoLITHIUM NP-F550 rechargeable battery; movie mode records up to 60 seconds of audio and video

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 39 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Yolanda Crosby 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 5:14:41 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 5:14:41 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 5:14:41 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 5:14:41 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 5:14:41 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
great outdoors camera, needs improvement for indoor shots
3/29/2006 5:14:41 PM
 
Darryl Hambly
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/13/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 10:13:30 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 10:13:30 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 10:13:30 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 10:13:30 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 10:13:30 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The first camera that had any manual modes at all... This was when I truely began to discover and fall in love with photography!
1/14/2006 10:13:30 AM
 
Michael A. DeAngelis 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2005 3:51:50 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2005 3:51:50 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2005 3:51:50 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2005 3:51:50 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2005 3:51:50 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
I found the CD1000 to be a very forgiving piece of equipment as my first digital camera. It didn't challenge my ability to compose the shots or steady my hand. Although a good camera for an introduction to digital photography, it did not force me to improve my skills in order for it to take nice shots.
12/18/2005 3:51:50 PM
 
Michael Hattori
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/10/2005
hattoriphotography.com
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2005 4:17:45 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2005 4:17:45 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2005 4:17:45 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2005 4:17:45 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2005 4:17:45 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This was my first digital camera and I chose for several reasons: 1) 10x optical zoom; 2) OIS; 3) no need for multiple memory cards because it writes to 3" CD, so also no need for a download site. It did a beautiful job for what it was; now, of course, there is no comparison. But it was a perfect travel camera, and I was able to charge batteries even in the Lao PRD using an adapter! I still have the camera today and use it occasionally for fun.
12/17/2005 4:17:45 PM
 
Robert F. Stockdale IV 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2005 12:36:28 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2005 12:36:28 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2005 12:36:28 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2005 12:36:28 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2005 12:36:28 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This has been a nice first Digital Camera. The only problems have been: the slow speed (caused me to miss many shots that I would love to have had), size/weight both excessive for the Megapixel. And finally, after 2.5 years the battery would not take a charge and the replacement battery is almost as much as a bargain camera. For what I paid for the camera they should supply a new battery after 2 years.
12/10/2005 12:36:28 PM
 
Doris J. Webster 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2005 10:01:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2005 10:01:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2005 10:01:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2005 10:01:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2005 10:01:24 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my camera... it is so completely automatic. I don't have to focus or anything. It does it all. The only thing I would change abut it is its size.
10/11/2005 10:01:24 AM
 
Daniel  K. Johnson 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2005 12:35:51 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2005 12:35:51 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2005 12:35:51 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2005 12:35:51 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2005 12:35:51 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
As of right now I am just a part time amateur photographer..So this camera has worked just fine for me so far. It is a little outdated on megapixels and some functions.One of its best features is the inexpensive media storage,I can shoot and store over 1200(1600x1200)pics for under $10.00. I am always looking at new cameras though..LOL
10/2/2005 12:35:51 PM
 
Cathy Powell
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/2/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2005 5:45:28 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2005 5:45:28 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2005 5:45:28 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2005 5:45:28 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2005 5:45:28 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This has been a good camera for me. Reliable shots, for a 2.1 megapixel. EXCELLENT zoom capability with image stabilization. Only drawback was size and weight.
9/2/2005 5:45:28 AM
 
Kristina  3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2005 11:05:37 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2005 11:05:37 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2005 11:05:37 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2005 11:05:37 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2005 11:05:37 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
The feature I like most about my camera is that the pictures are permanently on CD therefore the pictures would never accidentally get lost. The zoom capabilities are very good. What I don't like about the camera is that it doesn't have an action mode. It would be nice if the camera was a little bit smaller and lighter.
8/22/2005 11:05:37 AM
 
Ernest  C. Meeks 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 6:28:43 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 6:28:43 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 6:28:43 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 6:28:43 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 6:28:43 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The only downer to this camera is the shutter speed
4/4/2005 6:28:43 AM
 
Thomas  Johnson 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2005 12:08:53 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2005 12:08:53 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2005 12:08:53 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2005 12:08:53 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2005 12:08:53 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is an awsome point and shot camera
3/26/2005 12:08:53 AM
 

First 10 of 39 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy Mavica CD1000 Digital Camera from Amazon.com