Mavica FD-97 Digital Camera


Sony

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control


View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


14 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Joseph F. Machen 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2006 7:59:20 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2006 7:59:20 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2006 7:59:20 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2006 7:59:20 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2006 7:59:20 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like this camera for its ease of use and adjustability
2/6/2006 7:59:20 AM
 
Anil A. Samuel 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2005 6:22:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2005 6:22:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2005 6:22:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2005 6:22:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2005 6:22:44 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Awesome - So easy to Use.
9/1/2005 6:22:44 AM
 
Kimberly C. Miner
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/3/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 5:41:40 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 5:41:40 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 5:41:40 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 5:41:40 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 5:41:40 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
just testing it..not sure yet
7/24/2005 5:41:40 PM
 
Bob Lepak 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 9:21:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 9:21:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 9:21:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 9:21:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 9:21:03 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
There are many handy features, far too numerous to mention. I can get up close and personal for nice macro shots. The 10X optical zoom is very useful. I appreciate the steady shot function. It is a slight heavy camera but I have adjusted well. A tripod can be helpful in that regard. There is a long delay between snapping one picture and the next so action shots need to be carefully practiced, planned and executed. Overall, a great camera. Prices vary widely according to seller.
7/17/2005 9:21:03 AM
 
Katy Huber 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2005 1:24:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2005 1:24:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2005 1:24:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2005 1:24:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2005 1:24:55 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like my camera very much, I like that it has a view finder or the LCD Screen and that the screen is big enough to see with my poor eyeshight. It has a great zoom, and has the option of memory stick or floppy disk. The disk makes it easier when I take pictures at parties, that I can take pictures for other people and just give them the disk. What I don't like about my camera is the delay when taking a picture. I miss way too many instant shots that way. I dont mind the bulkiness of the camera at all, but I would like to get a small digital camera at some point that I can always carry with me in my purse. However, I don't see myself giving this camera up.
3/28/2005 1:24:55 PM
 
Michael A. Parker 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2004 7:10:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2004 7:10:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2004 7:10:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2004 7:10:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2004 7:10:51 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The 10X optical zoom is near impossable to get at a reasonable price on a fix lens camera. Having the 52mm threading also alows for a wide variety of attachments to the camera lens. For bright or well lit shooting its exelent. The 1600 X 1200 resolution even at the 2.1 Megapixel resolution is still fine for 20" X 30" prints which is larger than most want to begin with. The lag time between shots at the higher resolution is frustrating sometimes. The grainy texture that comes with shooting in low light is also very frustrating. An affortable and yet very versitile camera for the price. For me to get something better I would end up spending 3 to 5 times as much. However I'm getting to the point where I'm ready to spend that amount as I'm pushing the limits of this camera. More camera than your average shutterbug needs, but its a nice camera for the photo enthusiast who is transitioning from shutterbug to something a bit more serious with its ability to switch back and forth between "auto" and "manuel" settings.
12/14/2004 7:10:51 AM
 
AnnMarie  D. Hartman 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2004 11:53:03 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2004 11:53:03 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2004 11:53:03 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2004 11:53:03 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2004 11:53:03 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like it. It takes excellent pictures. It has a great light balance. Unfourtunately, it has a slight time delay and requires a floppy disk to savethe pictures.
7/30/2004 11:53:03 AM
 
Dyannea L. Martin 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2004 10:43:37 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2004 10:43:37 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2004 10:43:37 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2004 10:43:37 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2004 10:43:37 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
this is an easy cammera to use, it is out dated, but a good one for a amature.
3/7/2004 10:43:37 AM
 
Rachael  Patterson 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2004 4:09:36 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2004 4:09:36 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2004 4:09:36 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2004 4:09:36 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2004 4:09:36 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great for what I originally purchased it for. Photos on Ebay. Use floppy disks for that. Have started using memory stick and now would like a higher megapixel than the 2.1 it offers. Easy to use.
2/22/2004 4:09:36 PM
 
Lori Ross 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 7:02:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 7:02:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 7:02:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 7:02:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 7:02:09 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I LOVE my camera. I've had so many terrific pictures with this camera, it's amazing.
1/11/2004 7:02:09 PM
 
Kristin Green 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 9:55:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 9:55:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 9:55:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 9:55:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 9:55:21 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera. I have gotten some really good quality shots out of it.
10/1/2003 9:55:21 AM
 
Emily J 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2003 9:29:39 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2003 9:29:39 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2003 9:29:39 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2003 9:29:39 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2003 9:29:39 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
it's not mine, it's my boyfirend's and i am still learning how to use a digital, but the colors are very accurate. i still prefer real film for shooting, but digital makes it easier to play with aftewards.
9/24/2003 9:29:39 AM
 
Carol M. Brooksbank 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2003 3:41:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2003 3:41:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2003 3:41:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2003 3:41:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2003 3:41:49 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Dual media - floppy disc or Memory stick. 10x optical and superb 2x digital, giving 20 times in all. shutter or aperture priority or auto. Superb quality photos especially if saving to memory stick. Floppy disc photos are more compressed to allow 4 on a disc. Short mpeg movies (up to 15secs.). Steady shot, auto or manual focus, spot or auto metering. 2.1megapixels. Quality good enough for 10x8 prints. Only two things I dislike about it. The viewfinder freezes while the auto focus is working - annoying when your subject is moving. Manual focus jumps in so you get a closer view but it is misleading because during the enlargement you have no idea of your composition and re-composing may change the focus again. Apart from that it is perfect. I could never use a camera with less zoom.
8/25/2003 3:41:49 PM
 
Carolyn  M. Fletcher
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/6/2001
Contact Carolyn
Carolyn 's Gallery
PickYourShots.com
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 3:28:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 3:28:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 3:28:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 3:28:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 3:28:34 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Easy to use, long life batteries. Good beginner's camera. Not very good in real low light situations and also doesn't capture motion very well. I've been very happy with mine and am sticking with Sony when I upgrade.
6/17/2003 3:28:34 AM
 

14 Reviews