BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Mavica FD-97 Digital Camera


Sony

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control


View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 14 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Joseph F. Machen

member since: 2/6/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like this camera for its ease of use and adjustability
2/6/2006 7:59:20 AM
 
Anil A. Samuel

member since: 9/1/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Awesome - So easy to Use.
9/1/2005 6:22:44 AM
 
Kimberly C. Miner
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/3/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
just testing it..not sure yet
7/24/2005 5:41:40 PM
 
Bob Lepak

member since: 7/17/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
There are many handy features, far too numerous to mention. I can get up close and personal for nice macro shots. The 10X optical zoom is very useful. I appreciate the steady shot function. It is a slight heavy camera but I have adjusted well. A tripod can be helpful in that regard. There is a long delay between snapping one picture and the next so action shots need to be carefully practiced, planned and executed. Overall, a great camera. Prices vary widely according to seller.
7/17/2005 9:21:03 AM
 
Katy Huber

member since: 3/27/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like my camera very much, I like that it has a view finder or the LCD Screen and that the screen is big enough to see with my poor eyeshight. It has a great zoom, and has the option of memory stick or floppy disk. The disk makes it easier when I take pictures at parties, that I can take pictures for other people and just give them the disk. What I don't like about my camera is the delay when taking a picture. I miss way too many instant shots that way. I dont mind the bulkiness of the camera at all, but I would like to get a small digital camera at some point that I can always carry with me in my purse. However, I don't see myself giving this camera up.
3/28/2005 1:24:55 PM
 
Michael A. Parker

member since: 12/14/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
The 10X optical zoom is near impossable to get at a reasonable price on a fix lens camera. Having the 52mm threading also alows for a wide variety of attachments to the camera lens. For bright or well lit shooting its exelent. The 1600 X 1200 resolution even at the 2.1 Megapixel resolution is still fine for 20" X 30" prints which is larger than most want to begin with. The lag time between shots at the higher resolution is frustrating sometimes. The grainy texture that comes with shooting in low light is also very frustrating. An affortable and yet very versitile camera for the price. For me to get something better I would end up spending 3 to 5 times as much. However I'm getting to the point where I'm ready to spend that amount as I'm pushing the limits of this camera. More camera than your average shutterbug needs, but its a nice camera for the photo enthusiast who is transitioning from shutterbug to something a bit more serious with its ability to switch back and forth between "auto" and "manuel" settings.
12/14/2004 7:10:51 AM
 
AnnMarie  D. Hartman

member since: 7/30/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like it. It takes excellent pictures. It has a great light balance. Unfourtunately, it has a slight time delay and requires a floppy disk to savethe pictures.
7/30/2004 11:53:03 AM
 
Dyannea L. Martin

member since: 3/7/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
this is an easy cammera to use, it is out dated, but a good one for a amature.
3/7/2004 10:43:37 AM
 
Rachael  Patterson

member since: 2/22/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great for what I originally purchased it for. Photos on Ebay. Use floppy disks for that. Have started using memory stick and now would like a higher megapixel than the 2.1 it offers. Easy to use.
2/22/2004 4:09:36 PM
 
Lori Ross

member since: 1/11/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I LOVE my camera. I've had so many terrific pictures with this camera, it's amazing.
1/11/2004 7:02:09 PM
 
Kristin Green

member since: 10/1/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera. I have gotten some really good quality shots out of it.
10/1/2003 9:55:21 AM
 

First 10 of 14 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.