Online Photo Course - Basic Masks In Photoshop with Doug Steakley

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

4-Week Short Course: Basic Masks In Photoshop Photography Course
Course Instructor: Doug Steakley
4-Week Short Course: Basic Masks In Photoshop

Learn how to use one of the most powerful tools in Photoshop. Masks and selections allow you to work on a particular area of an image and make changes only to that area - a major benefit of digital photography. Taught by pro photographer and author Doug Steakley, this 4-week online class will examine the basic selection tools and learn how to add to, or subtract from, a selection so it is perfect. Then using a mask layer, you will make changes to the area or areas that were selected. Once you have a good working grasp of masks and layers, Photoshop becomes much less intimidating and more powerful and fun to use.

Category: Photoshop Courses
Skill Level: 3 - Intermediate
Only $198 USD

Learn more about
4-Week Short Course: Basic Masks In Photoshop


First 10 of 29 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Oscar J. Pung
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/16/2010
Contact Oscar
Oscar's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2013 2:15:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2013 2:15:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2013 2:15:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2013 2:15:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2013 2:15:18 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Doug's course was very enjoyable. The lessons are clear and easy to read. The assignments are fun and as challenging as you want them to be. Doug's critiques are thorough and include both suggestions to improve your photographs and new Photoshop tips. I purchased a very good Photoshop book but it just does not compare to having an expert there to guide you through the basics. I learned a lot.
3/5/2013 2:15:18 PM
 
Terry A. Stoa
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/23/2009
Contact Terry
Terry's Gallery
terrystoaphotography.com
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2012 7:06:34 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2012 7:06:34 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2012 7:06:34 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2012 7:06:34 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2012 7:06:34 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Doug does a very nice job of presenting and explaining the materials - and supplements that with his critiques and answers to specific student questions.

In addition to what's described in the course outline - I learned other shortcuts and "how to's" that really helped to make the course useful for me.

One of the main things Doug advocates is to just try things - you can always Undo and go back to where you started. And that there are multiple ways of getting the same result with Photoshop.

8/11/2012 7:06:34 AM
 
Cathryn Gallacher
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/6/2009
Contact Cathryn
Cathryn's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2012 1:06:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2012 1:06:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2012 1:06:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2012 1:06:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2012 1:06:38 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a first-rate course, and Doug is fab! I tried to learn some of these techniques with a book in the past, but it was just too confusing. But these lessons explain things really clearly, with practical examples and exercises. The assignments are fun, and Doug gives detailed and constructive feedback, in a really supportive and motivating way. The course definitely helped to move my photography up a notch, and I would very highly recommend it.
4/4/2012 1:06:38 AM
 
Frank Deland 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2012 9:50:00 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2012 9:50:00 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2012 9:50:00 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2012 9:50:00 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2012 9:50:00 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The instructor follows the outline of the course description, but through further information of techniques or "tricks" of using Layers and Masks that are included in his critiques, a lot more is learned.

One learns how using layers and masks can help improve the composition and presentation of images. With editing techniques learned in the course, I was able to rescue some of my images that were were heading for the trash bin.

The instructor's comments are helpful, knowledgeable, and encouraging, and he is diligent in the question and answer section as well.

This is the second courseI have taken from this Instructor. In short, I am a Doug Steakley fan.

1/6/2012 9:50:00 AM
 
Frank Deland 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2012 9:49:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2012 9:49:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2012 9:49:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2012 9:49:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2012 9:49:59 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The instructor follows the outline of the course description, but through further information of techniques or "tricks" of using Layers and Masks that are included in his critiques, a lot more is learned.

One learns how using layers and masks can help improve the composition and presentation of images. With editing techniques learned in the course, I was able to rescue some of my images that were were heading for the trash bin.

The instructor's comments are helpful, knowledgeable, and encouraging, and he is diligent in the question and answer section as well.

This is the second courseI have taken from this Instructor. In short, I am a Doug Steakley fan.

1/6/2012 9:49:59 AM
 
Carol A. Grady
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/23/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2011 8:42:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2011 8:42:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2011 8:42:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2011 8:42:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2011 8:42:17 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This class has been excellent! Thank you, Doug, for all of your comments, suggestions and extra tips that you have given to us. My experience has been a 10 on a scale of 1 to 10!

12/13/2011 8:42:17 AM
 
Sheila D. Robertson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/27/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2011 6:00:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2011 6:00:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2011 6:00:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2011 6:00:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2011 6:00:00 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Doug responded with individual guidance no matter our level of skill. He is prompt, supportive and insightful. I would love to take a longer course from him.
12/5/2011 6:00:00 PM
 
Teresa A. ORR 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2011 9:32:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2011 9:32:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2011 9:32:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2011 9:32:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2011 9:32:11 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This class was fantastic! I have learned a lot about Photoshop - things I can easily apply to my photos. Though we all strive to have the perfect shot come straight from the camera, it is nice to know there is a backup with Photoshop.
10/12/2011 9:32:11 AM
 
Katarzyna Lis 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2011 11:46:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2011 11:46:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2011 11:46:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2011 11:46:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2011 11:46:56 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I now know when and how to effectivley use Photoshop on a basic level to improve my photography. These are very important basics. Maybe the most important. Plus lost of additional knowlegde, very helpful.
The rest is practice, practice, practice.
10/8/2011 11:46:56 AM
 
Kayla D. Stevenson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/6/2010
kaylastevenson-photography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2011 8:32:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2011 8:32:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2011 8:32:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2011 8:32:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2011 8:32:36 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have taken several BP courses and this was without a doubt one of the best. Doug is incredibly knowledgeable and throughout the course offered many great suggestions for further improvements to my submissions, and extra materials on using the new refine edge features of CS5. He was responsive to my questions, and even early with the critiques. Wow! 5+ all the way.
10/4/2011 8:32:36 PM
 
Kevin Atwell 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2011 6:42:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2011 6:42:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2011 6:42:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2011 6:42:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2011 6:42:58 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Mr Steakley opened my eyes to a course/program that I was SOOOO confused about, helped me along the way and for that I am greatful.He is very clear in answers given to all questions asked of him and he is EXTREMELY knowlegable, If you take this course or any course offered I feel as you would not be waisting money you would be investing in a future.
9/30/2011 6:42:58 PM
 

First 10 of 29 Reviews  (see all user reviews)


Enroll

Add to Wishlist