BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Online 4-Week Short Course - Learning the Canon EOS 7D with Charlotte K Lowrie

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

4-Week Short Course: Learning the Canon EOS 7D Photography Course
Course Instructor: © Charlotte K. Lowrie
4-Week Short Course: Learning the Canon EOS 7D

Learn how to get stunning images and the best performance from your Canon EOS 7D. Taught by professional photographer and author, Charlotte Lowrie, this four-week online course is packed with in-depth lessons on getting great exposures with stunning color and customizing the camera to suit your shooting style. Charlotte is a popular BetterPhoto instructor, and she is the author of 13 photography books, including the Canon EOS 7D Digital Field Guide.

Category: CameraCourses
Skill Level: 2 - Hobbyist
Only $198 USD

Learn more about
4-Week Short Course: Learning the Canon EOS 7D


57 Reviews  

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Richard J. Boyle
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 11/3/2013
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
If you are new to the Canon EOS 7D, this is the course for you. The lessons are well crafted and the feedback is timely and stellar. As a result, I have signed up for several more courses from Better Photo.com. Overall, the word "professional" fits this operation.
11/28/2013 12:44:15 AM
 
Jacques Wood

member since: 3/13/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was the third course I had with Ms. Lowrie and all have been excellent. The reasons for the quality of the courses are: 1. Good class organization; the class progresses in a logical fashion. 2. The lessons are clear, but not simple. 3. Her critiques are timely and insightfull. 4. Ms. Lowrie knows her cameras and is willing to share her knowledge with her students. 5. Finally, it is apparent that she enjoys teaching the class; it is more than a paycheck for her.

Thanks again Charlotte,

Jacques Wood

1/1/2013 7:49:06 AM
 
kerry whitelegg
nakedimagesphotography.com

member since: 9/6/2012
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I enjoyed this course immensely. I am now much more confident on using the &D and experimenting with different buttons and features. I had many questions which Charlotte answered thoroughly. This was my first BP course and I have now signed up for two others. I don't get time to take a lot of photos but by doing the course I had to in order to complete my assignments so I found it valuable in just making me get out there and take more photos.
12/4/2012 7:03:07 PM
 
Michael A. Dewey

member since: 10/10/2012
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Wow! What a great class. Charlotte made understanding my camera and photos much easier. She answered all of my questions and provided usable feedback while critiquing photo assignments I would highly recommend Charlotte and this course to anyone who is new to the 7D family.
11/4/2012 4:53:50 AM
 
Libby Simms
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/5/2012
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
The course planning and materials were well-balanced and the building-block approach with critiqued assignments was a great way to learn.
Charlotte's enthusiasm for photography and the 7d is infectious.
Thank you Charlotte for a fun and informative 4 weeks!
8/8/2012 11:30:19 AM
 
Nicolette T. Forbes
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/22/2012
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
The course was quite information rich and I will definitely be working through the lessons again at leisure. Pitched at the right level and designed to inspire confidence in using and experimenting with the various functions offered by the 7D.
7/1/2012 3:49:03 AM
 
Mary Sligar

member since: 3/17/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is the second course I have taken from Charlotte. This course is a great advantage in getting to know just how great the Canon 7D is. This course is a must for new owners! Thanks Charlotte.
6/29/2012 6:49:34 AM
 
Kenneth J. Rhodes
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Kenneth
Kenneth's Gallery

member since: 4/17/2012
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I decided to take this course after spending a few weeks getting to know my new 7D on my own. I thought I had a good grip on the basics with the camera, but wanted to learn more. Charlotte's course was outstanding. It covered all of the key features of the 7D using a practical style based on assignments and feedback that reinforced the lesson material. The course material had sufficient depth and technical detail to be really informative, but presented the material with a readable and approachable style. I highly recommend this course no matter how familiar you are with this camera.
5/31/2012 4:46:13 PM
 
Sally Keenan
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/3/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was an excellent class! I learned so much more about what my 7D could do than I ever would have on my own. And I attribute this solely to the instruction provided by Ms. Lowrie.
5/3/2012 9:08:43 PM
 
Jeanne E. Wiebenga

member since: 10/12/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I started this course on the day I got the Canon 7D. In a very short time I learned an amazing amount about this very versatile camera, thanks to the excellent & clear (although not always simple!)instructions by Charlotte Lowrie. Her critiques were honest, very thorough and most helpful to improve my skills. I will buy her guide as well but I know that I got a lot more out of this class than I would have from just reading books. When I am ready to move from RAW to JPEG I will take the class Charlotte is giving on this topic also.
4/5/2012 10:50:47 AM
 
Ed Farmer
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/1/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Do you desire to be able to take your 7D from being a nice camera to a tool for releasing creative expression? If you answer yes, this is the course for you. If you desire to learn the functionality most never will, again this is the course for you. A small investment in the knowledge Charlotte shares will help you understand and appreciate the full functionality of your creative friend when releasing the shutter.

Charlotte’s course material is among the best you will find. Her critiques are solid, sincere and to the point. She will help you become a better photographer who understands just what is possible with the camera you are holding in your hand.

4/3/2012 5:48:42 PM
 
Norman J. Jaillet
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Norman
Norman's Gallery

member since: 12/31/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Why did I take this course? Simple ! I took a previous Charlotte Lowrie course of a previous camera! Charlotte has really inspired me to improve upon my photography skills. Her critiques of your photo's will be solid, constructive, and will provide thoughtful feedback that is spot on! If you desire to truly understand the power of the 7D, this is the place to begin that journey!
4/1/2012 2:06:52 PM
 
sigal petersen
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 10/25/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course was excellent for me I definately recommend it to a friend, I learnt alot. Charlotte definately opened my eyes in a very profound way to a new world. My goal was to start working in a manual way and learn the technical aspect of the camera and it definatly did all that and more,
thanks you very much Charlotte.
3/30/2012 9:32:03 AM
 
Henry M. Moultrie Jr.
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Henry
Henry's Gallery

member since: 2/9/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was one of the best online courses I have ever taken. Charlotte is a outstanding instructor; this is evident by her knowledge and experience. Her critiques shows genuine concern; it is always fair and honest. I feel much more comfortable using the 7D; I have learned much!
3/28/2012 10:03:35 AM
 
Carol L. Quina
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Carol
Carol's Gallery

member since: 1/26/2012
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course did exactly what it was supposed to do, which is teach you how to use the 7D, and it was fun besides. Charlotte is very knowledgeable and critiques were always given in a positive light. Loved it!
3/7/2012 3:12:08 PM
 
Charles D. Behrle

member since: 12/24/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Outstanding Course! Outstanding Instructor! The Canon 7D can be an overwhelming, intimidating camera – it was for me when I began this course. The Canon 7D was my second digital SLR and I thought myself to be a good hobby photographer – I was wrong. Charlotte’s well thought out lesson plan took me from the basics of using the 7D through using advanced functions I doubt I would have ever discovered – no matter how many manuals and ‘how to’ books I purchased. Her critiques were on the mark and I found myself looking forward to each lesson and wanting to deliver more each week. I’m more comfortable with the 7D and its capabilities after four weeks than I was with my first camera after three years. Get the most out of your 7D – take this course with Charlotte now!
2/13/2012 6:23:07 PM
 
Tiziana Marziale

member since: 1/9/2012
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I recently purchased the 7D and felt overwhelmed with all its functions. Charlotte's course not only made understanding the camera manageable, but it forced me to apply this new knowledge through the weekly assignments. My goal was to improve my technical knowledge and in this regard it was a success. More importantly it renewed my love of photography.
Thank You Charlotte.
1/31/2012 8:55:31 PM
 
Susan Kjellsen

member since: 1/1/2012
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I found this course to be interesting, challenging and incredibly useful. The material is well written and well organized and easy to understand. I had no idea my camera could do all of those things! Charlotte Lowrie is thorough and supportive in her critiques, discussing strengths and weaknesses as well as providing clear, detailed advice so that I can improve my photos. I highly recommend this course to all Canon 7D users.
1/27/2012 4:48:20 AM
 
Bob Cotter
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 11/6/2011
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Charlotte's course did exactly what I required of it and that was to learn more about how to control my new 7D. The pictures, whilst very important, were secondary for this particular exercise.
Thank you for your comments and the course material, which I shall continue to use.
Bob Cotter
12/10/2011 3:05:41 AM
 
Judie Vanderbundt

member since: 9/8/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
The course by Charlotte Lowrie did exactly what I had hoped it would do and that was to learn the Canon 7D camera. I also bought her book "Canon EOS 7D Digital Field Guide" which I know I will always be referring to as a resource. I know I won't use all the features it offers, but just being aware of them through this class was so valuable. I must admit, I was a little overwhelmed after first purchasing the 7D. I enjoyed Charlotte's comments and her communication was excellent. I would highly recommend this class!
10/27/2011 4:56:51 PM
 
Teal Haviland

member since: 9/17/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is my first digital SLR camera, and I picked a beast (which I mean in a very good way). I knew I had a LOT to learn about it and I feel I am walking away from Charlotte's course with a wealth of knowledge and a far better understanding of the 7D. It does even more than O already knew it did. I would take this course again in a second, and feeel I definitely got my money's worth. Charlotte was always very prompt, professional, and helpful in her critiques. She also made me feel she was always available should I have any questions or need help. I am glad I took this course before diving into the others I'm already signed up for to help me relearn photography. It's been far too many years, but I am even more excited about rediscovering my old passion for capturing images. Thanks, Charlotte!
10/27/2011 2:16:11 PM
 
Susan Greenlee

member since: 10/4/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I upgraded from a Canon XSi to a Canon 7D. After taking it on a trial run, I wanted to put it right back in the box and ship it back. I decided instead to take Charlotte Lowrie's class on learning to use the 7D. She is a wonderful instructor and I can say that after her 4-week class, I can easily do almost anything on my camera. Her critiques are on time and she also gives additional information besides her critique. Her love of photography and teaching is so apparent, and her own photography is amazing! I have learned much from Charlotte and hope to take her camera RAW class soon. I'm so glad I took this class!
9/18/2011 2:23:57 PM
 
Ulla Spansdahl

member since: 7/14/2011
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The course really forced me to get into my camera and understand it and all it's possibilities for being creative. Learned a lot. Very good response on photos and questions. Very good text in the lessons, easy to understand. I thought I knew my camera rather well, but I was wrong before the course started. Inspiring. Thank you.
9/7/2011 5:34:23 AM
 
Marty Clarke
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/19/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I was only scratching the surface of what my 7D could do. In 4 short but information-packed weeks Charlotte helped me master the basic, intermediate and even some of the advanced features of this excellent camera. I also loved the prompt and thoughtful feedback I got on all my photo submissions. I can't wait to take another course!
9/2/2011 6:38:55 AM
 
James M. Angelino

member since: 7/4/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I wanted to learn more about my camera (EOS 7D). I learned alot, and it has made me a better photographer. Charlotte is great. She is highly skilled, and is a true professional and one who knows her craft exceptionaly well. Her professional comments about the course assignments are extremely helpful and encouraging. I would highly recommend this course if you want to become better at taking photo's with your eos 7d camera.
9/1/2011 12:42:03 PM
 
Syrisse S. Longbottom

member since: 6/24/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I was frustrated with my 7D, so I decided that perhaps the problem was with me - and indeed it was, as I discovered after taking this course.

I consider it a '2-fer'. Not only was it a course on how to use the 7D, but it was also a crash course in fundamentals such as focus, color and exposure.

Charlotte is an wonderful teacher with a fabulous demeanor. She's incredibly prompt with her lessons and critiques and has amazing skill at 'reading' photographs. I got my money's worth from this course on page 2 of the preview lesson alone, where she provided a tip on navigating the 7D that had baffled me for months.

Now that I have better understanding of this camera and how to take advantage of all that it has to offer, I'm crazy about the 7D!

8/3/2011 5:24:52 PM
 
Wayne T. Fisk
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Wayne
Wayne's Gallery

member since: 6/12/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I was very happy with this course on the Canon 7D! I knew a lot about the Camera before I took the class, and now I know even more. The one area I wish could have been expanded was the use of external flash(Canon 580 II)! The 7D has very complicated menus on flash setup and off camera flash!
8/2/2011 4:23:26 PM
 
Martha L. Holloway

member since: 6/29/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
When I got my Canon 7D I had no idea that I would be in way over my head learning how to operate it compared to the Canon T1i I upgraded from. Stumbling across this course and enrolling was one of the best investments I could have made. I did not expect so much information not only about the camera but about exposure, color, focus, custom functions (which I probably never would have considered using). So much information gives you the opportunity to become really comfortable with the Canon 7D. Charlotte has an exceptional teaching style which delivers information in a straightforward but amazingly easy to understand format and her critiques were always positive (even when making "suggestions")and informative. I would highly recommend this course and have already recommended Charlotte's course. You will not be disappointed.
7/29/2011 8:56:55 PM
 
Linda S. Smith
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Linda
Linda's Gallery

member since: 3/14/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Charlotte you are an amazing instructor! I feel that I am ready to tackle the world with my Canon EOS 7D now! I recommend your class to anyone who wants to further their knowledge about this fantastic camera. Keep up the good work!
7/29/2011 7:40:03 PM
 
Edward V. Chevallier

member since: 10/23/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is my first photography course - online or live. Charlotte is an outstanding teacher. Her lessons are easy to understand with step by step instructions for practice. Her critiques are straightforward and extremely helpful. I would highly recommend any of her classes!
7/29/2011 6:21:35 AM
 
Sue  A. Andrews

member since: 5/21/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This class is fantastic! The 7D has so much to offer and Charlotte's class helped me get off Auto mode and tap into that potential. Her lessons are clear and her critiques are detailed, informative, and timely. She is also available and responsive to questions. I would definitely recommend this class to any 7D owner who wants a directed approach to learning the features of the 7D. Thanks, Charlotte!
7/10/2011 10:24:58 PM
 
Lowell G. Kessler

member since: 6/5/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
The course selects some key features of the 7D and allows the student to get more out of their investment in this camera. The instructor is very good, knowledgable and responsive to student questions. I found it to be well worth in investment because I took away some really good tools I will use in my business. Thanks Lowell Kessler
7/4/2011 11:39:35 AM
 
Diane O

member since: 5/30/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course was the perfect amount of time with the perfect amount of information to get a better understanding of the Canon 7D. I am an SLR newbie, and this course was simple to follow and very educational. Charlotte was easily accessible and her critiques are invaluable. I would recommend this to anyone new to the 7D.
7/1/2011 3:28:23 PM
 
Jewell Newton

member since: 5/12/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I loved this course!!! As a person with a full time job, the four week course fit perfectly into my schedule. Just enough information to digest, while keeping my interest high.

Charlotte is extremely knowlegeable about the 7D and although I purchased her book several months ago, taking the course will make the complete Field Guide much easier to manage.

I've gained a lot of first hand , practical knowledge about using the 7D... now I'm ready to get out there and put my new skills to use! Thanks, Charlotte! I am looking forward to my next Betterphoto online course because of you!!!

6/3/2011 2:50:43 PM
 
Margareta Sizemore
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/8/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Just now on the last assignment in this course. It has been so tremendously helpful. Charlotte is a wonderful instructor no matter where you are with your photography. I highly recommend this class for not only learning more about your camera, but also for stepping up your photography.
4/1/2011 8:52:59 AM
 
Lubomira I. Ivanova

member since: 5/7/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was an excellent course! I have learnt a tremendous amount of information in just 4 weeks which covers not only how to use your Canon 7D camera, but also how to take great pictures! This course exceeded my expectations!
3/9/2011 1:00:38 PM
 
Jerry Rega
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Jerry
Jerry's Gallery

member since: 1/23/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Charlotte's course was very well worth it. I give this course 10 STARS!
3/6/2011 4:21:24 PM
 
Rebecca Luke

member since: 1/18/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I am completely satisfied with this course. I highly recommend it to anyone who has purchased the canon eos 7D. I learned so much that I never would have learned from the manual, no matter how many times I read it. The assignments were extremely helpful as well as all of Charlotte's feedback. Wonderfully done. Thank you!
3/4/2011 8:12:09 PM
 
David B. Dawson
Contact David
David's Gallery

member since: 1/6/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
In years past I have been a diligent consumer of high-dollar cameras, thinking that the mere act of spending more would make my photos better. This is, of course, nonsense. While having a better camera *will* help, an enormous part of the equation is having a thorough knowledge of what the camera will do, why a person would want to use the myriad features, and how to go about figuring the thing out.

That's where Charlotte Lowrie's class proved invaluable. With the skill of a fine teacher and the artistry of an outstanding photographer, Charlotte knows how to transform the Canon 7D from an intimidating machine into an extension of the user's creative vision.

There's a whole lot more than merely turning a few dials and pushing a few buttons. There's knowing why and when to apply certain features, and I can't praise Charlotte highly enough for teaching me how to capture time and light with this fine camera. Through comprehensive lessons, incisive assignments, and comprehensive critiques, Charlotte ends up teaching a whole lot about the elements of solid photography while also providing a comprehensive experience in using this fine camera. The way I see it, you can't beat that with a stick.

3/2/2011 8:36:14 PM
 
Jerry Rega
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Jerry
Jerry's Gallery

member since: 1/23/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I really enjoyed Charlotte's 7D course on line. Charlotte's critiques were honest and very helpful. Her assignments were well done and extremely helpful. I even had Charlotte’s 7D book that I had purchased from Amazon and found that to be a great tool to help with my 7D study. I highly recommend this course to everyone who purchases a Canon 7D.
2/25/2011 5:54:34 AM
 
Catherine D. Costolo
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Catherine
Catherine's Gallery
catherinecostolophotography.com

member since: 12/29/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have had several Canon digital cameras and never learned to use all the different features. So when I bought a 7D I decided I would approach this camera differently and really learn about it. This course has certainly met my goal. The lessons were full of information and I am very glad I took it. Charlotte's assignments were well thought out and her critiques were very helpful.
2/24/2011 12:44:52 PM
 
James Denny
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/23/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great course.

Really enjoyed working on it and I learned a great deal about my camera that your manual doesn't tell you.

2/23/2011 4:26:57 AM
 
Ellen Euting

member since: 12/24/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
My kids gave me this 7D course as an Xmas present--I was a bit skeptical, but knew that I could "opt out" after a week if I decided it wasn't going to work.
Wow, am I glad I didn't! Charlotte's course has been wonderful-teaching me so much that I wouldn't have spent time to learn by reading the manual. And having her critique the pics has been awesome. Great course. I'm so happy to have learned so much about the 7D. Thanks, Charlotte.
2/4/2011 6:31:29 PM
 
Sherri Herren
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/1/2009
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I got a 7D for Christmas and even though I already owned a Rebel, I could immediately tell that I needed help learning all the features of the 7D. This course, while at time a little overwhelming, fit the bill. I am still overwhelmed with the large number of setting on the camera but I am much more comfortable playing with them. I would recommend for anyone new to the 7D world.
1/27/2011 2:55:33 PM
 
Patricia Tasonis
Contact Patricia
Patricia's Gallery

member since: 2/25/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
In a very full and quick 4 weeks, I learned more about my Canon 7D than I had in the previous 6 months of actively using the camera. The class was exactly what I needed to explore the many capabilities of the 7D. I highly recommend this class by the woman, Charlotte K. Lowrie, who wrote the book on it! Charlotte gave very thorough (& gracious!) critiques of the photo assignments. Thank you.
1/5/2011 7:56:49 AM
 
Donald C. Gasparetti
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/1/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
As a relative novice I was not sure what to expect and a little apprehensive. It exceeded my expectations. For the first time I actually understand my camera's capabilities ... and even better - how to use them!

If your a novice like myself, and have a 7D - take this course first. You will not be disappointed !

1/1/2011 4:06:00 PM
 
Sigrun Gudjonsdottir
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/18/2010
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
If you just got the Canon 7D then I highly recommend this course to you! I had gone through the manual several times before the course but still didn't figure out what the 7D could do. Thanks to this course I know understand the 7D much better and have set up custom functions and settings - something I had never done before. Taking this course is much more productive than reading a book and the results are also several pictures I can be really proud of :-)
12/29/2010 5:43:31 PM
 
Joel M. Vardy
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 10/27/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Though fairly familiar with many photographic concepts I found the Canon 7D a bit overwhelming in it's complexity. I found this course as a way to fight through the buttons and many of the possibilities that I didn't always know where available in this model. Charlotte's concise and methodical approach was a perfect fit for my analytical and impatient style. I was able to focus my energy on the appropriate assignments and reignite my enthusiasm for this hobby. It appears to me that this short course could have been stretched to 8 weeks yet the 4 week course meets the 80:20 rule and more specialized topics like flash and video may not lend themselves necessarily to the nature of the online course structure. I would highly recommend Charlotte's patient and supportive style to anyone looking for a structured way to either learn or review the vast feature-set of the 7D.
11/30/2010 10:36:42 PM
 
Laura Kogan
earthnskyphotography.com

member since: 12/29/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this class and have come away with a new comfort and familiarity with my camera. I'm finding all the buttons and options, which had previously seemed overwhelming, to be quite familiar now and I even learned about possibilities that I never would have even thought about, left to my own devices. Although I had read parts of the manual, Charlotte's clear and concise lessons and the associated assignments really clinched the information in my mind. I especially appreciated her encouraging style as well as her prompt and very thoughtful feedback. I always looked forward to her critiques which were encouraging and enthusiastic but also helped me, in concrete ways, to see how I could have done better. I would not hesitate to recommend this course to any new 7d owner and I plan to take another class with Charlotte before the end of the year!
8/31/2010 8:36:22 PM
 
robert helm

member since: 4/5/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this course, and more importatly I learned a lot. When I signed up for this course, I thought it would be strictly a technical couse. You know, "This button does this" type of course. But I was wrong. Charlotte's approach is to teach us specific functions of the camera as an aide to becommming more creative and artistic. Not only do we learn about the camer, but become better photographers - NICE!

I've taken several compositional course, 1 here at better photo and several others at others locations. One thing Charlotte taught me to trully understand why you don't use AWB all the time. Other instructers have said "don't use AWB", but never said why or how to choose the correct settings. She showed us how to use the 7d's settings, and software, to get the correct settings. It's just been a very informative and useful course.

If you own a 7d, you really need to take the course. It's such an advance camera. I also bought the field guide, and that really helps a lot also.

The only thing I would change is the course length. I think this is such an advance camer, you could make the course 8 weeks. Or, maybe there should be some type of "Part 2" course. Just a thought

I highly recommend this cours

8/30/2010 10:28:13 AM
 
Susan Holding

member since: 2/26/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was my first BetterPhoto class. Charlotte was great. Her feedback was enthusiastic, informative and supportive. The assignments were fun and challenging. I would highly recommend this class.
8/1/2010 11:08:54 AM
 
Karen D. Pape

member since: 6/14/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Charlotte did a great job of breaking down the complexities of the 7D into manageable bits. I am not a "techie" and the extensive abilities of the camera have been a bit intimidating, but by the end of the class I was very comfortable with the 7D and even "tethered" to the computer. I really liked the fact that she included some technical information for those who might want it but kept the homework assignments simple enough so that everyone could be successful and confident in completing them. And, her critiques were great - very supportive, very helpful. I look forward to taking another class from her.
7/8/2010 2:49:54 PM
 
Karen D. Pape

member since: 6/14/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Charlotte did a great job of breaking down the complexities of the 7D into manageable bits. I am not a "techie" and the extensive abilities of the camera have been a bit intimidating, but by the end of the class I was very comfortable with the 7D and even "tethered" to the computer. I really liked the fact that she included some technical information for those who might want it but kept the homework assignments simple enough so that everyone could be successful and confident in completing them. And, her critiques were great - very supportive, very helpful. I look forward to taking another class from her.
7/8/2010 2:49:45 PM
 
Bob Campbell

member since: 1/21/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course opens up most of the aspects of what the 7D can do. If you only take one type of subject matter, this course will open up other venues that show what the total camera can do.
6/30/2010 11:44:36 AM
 
Randy Isbell
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/12/2010
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed Charlotte's class on the Canon EOS 7D. Her lessons were easy to understand and the assignments were engaging and fun. I definitely learned a lot about this camera that I would have struggled with on my own. I will be taking more of her classes for sure. If you have a new Canon 7D, I highly recommend this class!
6/2/2010 6:19:07 PM
 
John Kalb

member since: 3/18/2010
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Charlotte knows the 7D inside and out and now I do too. It's a complex machine and I have more understanding and confidence about "what to do when" as I'm taking photos. I appreciated the assignments and the fair and honest critiques, it did help focus me to achieve my goals. This was my first BP class and I'm already signed up for more. Thanks!
5/3/2010 9:12:29 PM
 
Jackie M. Sajewski
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/21/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I am very happy I took the course offered here by Charlotte Lowrie. I did get her book as a gift from my husband when I got the &D camera but these lessons really got me out there trying the numerous features this camera has. The class flowed well and I really feel comfortable with the focus system and picture styles. Something I had not ever used before on my XTi. The course is also really great on learning exposures and compensations for different situations. I am very satisfied.
5/1/2010 8:37:10 AM
 

57 Reviews  

Add your own review

Enroll

Add to Wishlist


Copyright © 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc.® All Rights Reserved.