Cyber-shot DSC-P31 Digital Camera


Sony

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

caleb_015
View photos created with this camera

The Cyber-shot DSC-P31 Digital Camera

Sony's DSC-P31 combines compact dimensions with an affordable 2-megapixel sensor and AA battery power. If you're looking for a take-anywhere camera that's easy to use and produces sharp images, the P31 is worth a closer look.

Features:


  • 2-megapixel sensor captures 1,600 x 1,200 images for prints at
    sizes up to 8 x 10 inches
  • Autofocus lens with 3x digital zoom (no optical zoom)
  • Included 8 MB Memory Stick holds 12 images at default settings
  • Connects with PCs and Macs via USB port
  • Uses 2 AA batteries(rechargeables included)

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


25 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Robert V. Lewis 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 2:02:02 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 2:02:02 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 2:02:02 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 2:02:02 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 2:02:02 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
uhh it could have better zoom but the quality is good enough for me
6/2/2006 2:02:02 PM
 
Stephanie M. Pulford 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 6:52:20 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 6:52:20 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 6:52:20 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 6:52:20 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 6:52:20 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
the pictures are sort of fuzzy and the video doesn't have sound
10/25/2005 6:52:20 PM
 
Amber Vincent 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2005 11:44:15 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2005 11:44:15 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2005 11:44:15 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2005 11:44:15 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2005 11:44:15 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
It takes its best pictures outside. I wish it had a clearer picture, I would also like more zoom.
9/1/2005 11:44:15 PM
 
David Kusuma Winarta 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 4:44:06 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 4:44:06 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 4:44:06 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 4:44:06 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 4:44:06 PM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
sony dcc-p31 is a simple digital camera with low pixels. the disadvantages of this camera is its standard functions. however, this camera is good enough for traveller who do not want to get confuse with sophisticated functions of camera.
8/30/2005 4:44:06 PM
 
Wanda Perry 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2005 8:22:36 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2005 8:22:36 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2005 8:22:36 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2005 8:22:36 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2005 8:22:36 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This is a great camera, given its a 2megapix. Its easy to use, great for a beginner!
8/19/2005 8:22:36 PM
 
Katy D. Krenzke 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2005 9:36:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2005 9:36:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2005 9:36:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2005 9:36:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2005 9:36:35 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It actually takes very nice pictures
7/5/2005 9:36:35 PM
 
Kodie M. Miller 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2005 6:39:34 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2005 6:39:34 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2005 6:39:34 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2005 6:39:34 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2005 6:39:34 PM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
I've never had another camera but I bet there are better ones
5/13/2005 6:39:34 PM
 
Michele  R. Brown 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2005 7:33:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2005 7:33:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2005 7:33:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2005 7:33:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2005 7:33:50 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really enjoy the fact that I can look at the pictures that I just took and determine whether or not I like it, or if I don't, then I can take another shot. I like the fact that there is no delay on the camera when you take a shot.
4/20/2005 7:33:50 AM
 
Michele  R. Brown 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2005 7:33:02 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2005 7:33:02 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2005 7:33:02 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2005 7:33:02 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2005 7:33:02 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really enjoy the fact that I can look at the pictures that I just took and determine whether or not I like it, or if I don't, then I can take another shot. I like the fact that there is no delay on the camera when you take a shot.
4/20/2005 7:33:02 AM
 
jinga oana 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2004 2:14:05 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2004 2:14:05 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2004 2:14:05 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2004 2:14:05 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2004 2:14:05 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
i like the effects the camera has and its menu is pretty good with huge variety of adjustings to the types of photos i take...what i hate about it is the zoom as it is pretty small...
12/5/2004 2:14:05 AM
 
amne lambarak  4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/19/2004 11:58:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/19/2004 11:58:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/19/2004 11:58:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/19/2004 11:58:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/19/2004 11:58:57 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
My sony cyber-shot digital camera is exactly what i needed when i decided to take a trip to Morocco in 2001. i needed something small with good quality and sony digital camera was just what i was looking for. I like that it takes a clear shots even in the night time. This camera has a lens of 5.0mm so i can't take good shots from far. i wish it had a better zomming.
11/19/2004 11:58:57 AM
 
amne lambarak  4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/19/2004 11:54:51 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/19/2004 11:54:51 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/19/2004 11:54:51 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/19/2004 11:54:51 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/19/2004 11:54:51 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
my sony digital camera is just what i wanted. i always loved taking pictures since i was as young as 8 years. I love the size, i love how it takes clear pictures, even during the night time shots. It is only 2.0 mega pixels, so i can't really take good pictures from far. It was my first trip to Morocco in 2001 is when I decided to buy this camera, because i knew there was going to be a lot of intresting places I wanted to take shots of.
11/19/2004 11:54:51 AM
 
Angela D. Beene 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2004 12:34:28 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2004 12:34:28 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2004 12:34:28 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2004 12:34:28 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2004 12:34:28 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Overall, this is a pretty good digital camera. We bought it to take pictures during vacations, and it has produced some wonderful results. The flash is broken, but I believe that is from the rough terrain that it has been dropped on repeatedly.
9/15/2004 12:34:28 PM
 
Caleb leggett 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2004 6:30:46 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2004 6:30:46 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2004 6:30:46 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2004 6:30:46 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2004 6:30:46 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
it is a good beginer camera but if possible i would get a high mp camera
8/25/2004 6:30:46 PM
 
Michelle D. Frizzle 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2004 9:34:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2004 9:34:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2004 9:34:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2004 9:34:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2004 9:34:58 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I got this camera for Christmas 2 years ago and it's great for a first time digital camera but I am sure there is much better out there. I want more zoom power...LOL
7/21/2004 9:34:58 AM
 
K  . Alderete
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/14/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2004 3:32:44 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2004 3:32:44 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2004 3:32:44 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2004 3:32:44 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2004 3:32:44 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I used this camera for almost two years as a beginner digital camera. It was a very good point and shoot and I would recommend any of the Cybershot line as a good starter digital camera!
7/10/2004 3:32:44 PM
 
K  . Alderete
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/14/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2004 5:21:15 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2004 5:21:15 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2004 5:21:15 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2004 5:21:15 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2004 5:21:15 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This is a good first-time digital camera for those who are just point and shoot. But because there is no optical zoom, when the digital zoom was used, the pictures sometimes appeared out of focus or distorted. It had a limited range on it. But for the price and ease of use it is still a good everyday camera.
6/14/2004 5:21:15 PM
 
Susan Deering 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2004 7:57:03 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2004 7:57:03 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2004 7:57:03 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2004 7:57:03 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2004 7:57:03 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I Like my Camera.
6/12/2004 7:57:03 PM
 
Ty Lee 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 1:46:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 1:46:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 1:46:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 1:46:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 1:46:01 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Battle weary, good weight size etc, battery life good. Not so good in low light.
2/11/2004 1:46:01 AM
 
Fiel Patricio 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2004 12:49:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2004 12:49:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2004 12:49:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2004 12:49:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2004 12:49:30 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is a great beginner's digital camera. Intuitively easy to learn. I only gave it an 8 because of the price and I wanted a higher resolution. But all in all, it produces great quality pictures.
1/19/2004 12:49:30 PM
 
Cindy A. Howat 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2003 4:02:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2003 4:02:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2003 4:02:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2003 4:02:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2003 4:02:09 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love everything about it but the slow shutter speed. If it was quicker it would be rated the best in my books!
10/27/2003 4:02:09 PM
 
Fabricio M. Alves 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2003 3:15:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2003 3:15:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2003 3:15:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2003 3:15:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2003 3:15:04 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is a very simple camera, but that also mantains the professional tools for a great shot. The video fucntion is superb, especially for the zoom in-out resource.
7/20/2003 3:15:04 PM
 
Michele A. Vidiri 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2003 2:17:51 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2003 2:17:51 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2003 2:17:51 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2003 2:17:51 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2003 2:17:51 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This camera was a gift... If I had picked one out, I would have gotten one with a better zoom. For the most part it works for me since I do not know a whole lot about cameras. I have had it for a year and am still learning how to use it. I do no like the fact that it cannot get wet at all - this requires the purchase of a special case for it if you are going to be near water.
7/4/2003 2:17:51 PM
 
Frank C. Bonansingq 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2003 8:53:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2003 8:53:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2003 8:53:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2003 8:53:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2003 8:53:02 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I prefer using the Sony P31 as it gets in closere than the P30. My P31 is excellent for taking close ups,as I can get to 3.5 inches from the subject and be in focus. I use flash almost all the time and use automatic ISO. I often set the light EV to -2.0 to get a 500/sec shutter speed to stop the hummers wings in the low light or scene mode. Even that somnetimes doesn't stop their wings! They are quick and the shutter requires you hold the button down all the time to be ready. I am a new old guy or old new guy with the picture taking! But have taken some fine picctures with these palm sized digital cameras and rate them very good for 640 X 480 jpg or bmp email pictures I pass along to freind and foe alike. frank b. Indio Hills CA
7/3/2003 8:53:02 PM
 
Darren Alexander
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/27/2002
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 12:44:11 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 12:44:11 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 12:44:11 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 12:44:11 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 12:44:11 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This has been a great, cheap digital camera!
6/17/2003 12:44:11 PM
 

25 Reviews  

Buy Cyber-shot DSC-P31 Digital Camera from Amazon.com