Online Photo Course - Composition Boot Camp with Rob Sheppard

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

4-Week Short Course: Composition Boot Camp Photography Course
Course Instructor: © Rob Sheppard
4-Week Short Course: Composition Boot Camp

Learn how to become a master in composition in ways that you may have never considered. So potential boot camp campers, listen up! Are you ready to be pushed into better composition? We are going to have some fun with a boot camp theme. Instructor is professional photographer Rob Sheppard, editor-at-large of Outdoor Photographer magazine and author of over 30 books about photography. Keep in mind that this is a boot camp, meaning we are going to be tough on composition. Are you ready for the challenge? Are you ready to take that next step in your photography?

Category: Composition Courses
Skill Level: 3 - Intermediate
Only $198 USD

Learn more about
4-Week Short Course: Composition Boot Camp


21 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Marisol Kelly
Contact Marisol
Marisol's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2014 6:26:13 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2014 6:26:13 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2014 6:26:13 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2014 6:26:13 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2014 6:26:13 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This class was a great learning opportunity. Rob Sheppard managed to convey the information in a way that made it clear, and examples he provided were helpful. He is very thorough and encouraging with his critiques. I highly recommend this class, it made me pay attention to details I never give a second thought to. I highly recommend his class.
7/4/2014 6:26:13 AM
 
Beth W. DeBor
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/9/2009
Contact Beth
Beth's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2014 10:44:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2014 10:44:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2014 10:44:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2014 10:44:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2014 10:44:10 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have to reiterate how much I enjoyed the lessons from the boot camp style that made me smile when I read them to your clear and concise critiques which I found to be extremely helpful. I'm only sorry the class is four weeks!
6/9/2014 10:44:10 AM
 
Richard J. Boyle
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/3/2013
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2014 9:10:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2014 9:10:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2014 9:10:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2014 9:10:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2014 9:10:38 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I learned a huge amount from this course. Rob Sheppard is a delightful instructor and one totally taken with his subject-it is infectious.

Having other students' work to evaluate prior to seeing Rob's evaluation was invaluable. I learned a great deal from the images of my classmates-some of them phenomenal.

I would recommend this course to all photographers trying to stretch themselves. The time spend thinking about each assignment, going out and shooting images, self-critiquing your work, and reviewing and analyzing Rob's comments produced large dividends.

Dick Boyle

1/1/2014 9:10:38 AM
 
Rebecca Barkley
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/27/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2013 10:35:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2013 10:35:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2013 10:35:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2013 10:35:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2013 10:35:07 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you for this class! I really feel I have a stronger understanding now of what makes a good composition ... Your comments were always very helpful- you have an impressive way of identifying exactly what is wrong or can be improved in an image.
10/8/2013 10:35:07 AM
 
William J. Duntzee
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/5/2012
Contact William
William's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2012 9:25:29 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2012 9:25:29 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2012 9:25:29 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2012 9:25:29 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2012 9:25:29 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was by far a 5 STAR course. I appreciated Rob's honest and to the point evaluations. Not only did Rob explain what he liked/disliked....he also showed me on some pic's to emphasize the point. I also appreciate how Rob allowed us to submit some extra pics in the Q & A section to further better ourselves. Rob, by far has made me a better photographer and although, there is a lot of information to digest in this 4 week course, has accomplished his mission...I now think about how to compose a better shot. Kudo's to you Rob and thank you for your honest and direct evaluations...I highly recommend this course to any photographer that wants and honest opinion on composition and how to get that "WOW" factor!!!
12/29/2012 9:25:29 AM
 
michael gerson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2012 10:45:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2012 10:45:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2012 10:45:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2012 10:45:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2012 10:45:16 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Extremely worthwhile; I not only compose photos differently now, I have gone over many of my older shots and have re-edited them based on the principles learned in the course.
7/6/2012 10:45:16 AM
 
stephen barney
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/3/2012
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2012 2:51:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2012 2:51:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2012 2:51:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2012 2:51:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2012 2:51:45 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great class from a great instructor, Rob knows his stuff and his critiques always cut to the heart of the issue. I found that every thing he said was worth its weight in gold. I am simply a better photographer because of Rob and I would not hesitate to take more of his classes. This class makes you challenge the rules of composition as well as reinforce them very thought provoking and very useful Excellent class thank you Rob
6/12/2012 2:51:45 AM
 
Frank Deland 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2011 8:15:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2011 8:15:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2011 8:15:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2011 8:15:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2011 8:15:05 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
A negative comment appears among the reviews, but those reasons of complaint are the exact reasons I signed up for my second course with Rob. I wanted my photos critiqued, so I could learn how to improve.

The strength of the course comes from the critiques. Rob does not rank or evaluate the photos he describes what he sees about the composition.

Rob keeps us "out of the center", but he is not fixated on rules. His teachings go way beyond that.

As the title Boot Camp implies, the concepts and ideas are not easy, but can be learned with practice by novices like myself.

The lessons progress logically as Rob teaches how the various elements of our photos form important relationships with each other that either contribute or detract from the overall composition.

In short, you will learn techniques of composition that will improve your skills as a photographer.

12/8/2011 8:15:05 AM
 
Thomas F. Rzaca 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2011 2:52:03 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2011 2:52:03 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2011 2:52:03 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2011 2:52:03 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2011 2:52:03 PM
Rating: 0 out of 5
The instructor of this course is biased. The only work he likes is his own. Of course, one can find likes & dislikes in any photo, but he is intent in finding dislikes in any photo that he critiques. If you value your own work and do not appreciate negativism just because the instructor thinks he knows best, stay away from this course and this instructor. In my opinion, $300 wasted and I will never take another course online with BetterPhoto.com
9/3/2011 2:52:03 PM
 
Steven R. Everhart
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/4/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2011 2:26:10 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2011 2:26:10 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2011 2:26:10 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2011 2:26:10 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2011 2:26:10 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I thought this was an excellent course for any one trying to improve the compostion of their photo. Compostion is the hardest part of photography for me. I have a better feel now of what makes a photo composionally better. Mr. Sheppard through the critques explains what you did right, wrong and ways to improve yout photos

5/30/2011 2:26:10 PM
 
Joan M. Reuben
Contact Joan
Joan's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2011 6:14:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2011 6:14:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2011 6:14:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2011 6:14:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2011 6:14:07 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Rob, I just want to thank you for providing me with your insight and knowledge about composition. I have learned so much from your lessons and your comments and I look forward to continue to put these concepts into use. This is first time that I can say that I feel more confident with my photography as the course comes to an end. I look forward to taking more classes with you in the future.
3/7/2011 6:14:07 AM
 
robert helm 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/26/2010 12:25:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/26/2010 12:25:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/26/2010 12:25:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/26/2010 12:25:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/26/2010 12:25:55 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This was a very useful course on composition. I've taken composition courses at a different online school, and I was afraid this might be very repetition of the same information. But I was wrong. Rob helped me look at at composing my captures from completely different perspectives.

I really enjoyed the class, and I learned a lot. I only wish their was a "part II" class

8/26/2010 12:25:55 PM
 
Djoanne Kramer
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/16/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2010 11:43:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2010 11:43:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2010 11:43:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2010 11:43:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2010 11:43:42 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I got so much from this course! Rob certainly gets you from shooting out of the middle! I'm not a pro photographer with a lot of gear, but this course really spoke to me. Thanks Rob.
8/4/2010 11:43:42 AM
 
Jen F. Petritz
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/31/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2010 2:10:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2010 2:10:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2010 2:10:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2010 2:10:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2010 2:10:07 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I would definitely recommend this course to anyone trying to improve their composition skills. I learned more than I even realized! Every time I go out to take photos, I look at the scene and consider things that I didn't before. I think this class has really improved my photography overall.
7/14/2010 2:10:07 PM
 
Mary  L. Olson
Contact Mary
Mary 's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2010 11:54:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2010 11:54:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2010 11:54:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2010 11:54:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2010 11:54:03 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Initially, I thought this course might be too simplistic, but it actually was quite challenging, forcing me to look at composition in new ways. Rob's critiques were detailed and helpful in pinpointing both good points and areas that need improvement, as well as specific ways to make a shot better.

Thanks,
Mary Lou Olson

7/11/2010 11:54:03 AM
 
Steinar Kibsgaard
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/31/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2010 1:00:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2010 1:00:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2010 1:00:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2010 1:00:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2010 1:00:07 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This composition course, Composition Boot Camp, is a very important course for your photographic skills.
4 important words from this course: Clarity, unity, relationships and corners(edges) ……be aware of the corners(the edges).
I have joined an earlier composition-course, with another teacher, and this earlier course was amazing, so I was very much in doubt if there was more to learn, but there certainly was, and I am happy that I also took this course (it was my 8. course at BetterPhoto).
It looks like those composition-courses at BetterPhoto are very good, so I have just today enrolled to one composition course more, …….yes – in the end I will learn it ;);)
You get quick answers from the teacher in Q and A.
The critique of your photos is very fine, you can benefit and learn a lot from that.

Rob takes you from where you are just now and “builds you up” and if you are a experienced photographer you also get something you can use, so I can really recommend this course.

7/2/2010 1:00:07 PM
 
John C. Sun
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/30/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2010 10:36:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2010 10:36:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2010 10:36:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2010 10:36:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2010 10:36:36 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
My second course taught by Rob. What I find great about Rob's classes is that, in every critique, he points out something that is essential, important, and which I would not have thought of myself. His lessons and feedback cut straight to the point. I learn from reading his critiques of my photos, as well as those of my classmates.

He takes the time to "mock up" photos that illustrate his critiques. He gives feedback, advice and suggestions on post-processing techniques. I feel he teaches much more than just the scope of the course.

I highly recommend this course, and his Storytelling Photos course as well. I plan to take his Wow factor course next.

6/5/2010 10:36:36 PM
 
Rona L. Schwarz
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/25/2009
Contact Rona
Rona's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2010 10:35:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2010 10:35:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2010 10:35:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2010 10:35:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2010 10:35:07 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I thought this was an excellent course. If you are familiar with Rob already through his writings and columns, you won't be disappointed - if you are not, well you are in for a treat! Lessons were very informative and chocked full of useful material; assignments really pushed you to try new things; and Rob's critiques were spot-on! He cuts to the chase and then frequently supplements his comments with additional shots of your photo showing you what he means and how it could be improved. Very valuable course, regardless of level!
5/10/2010 10:35:07 AM
 
David Mahoney 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2010 9:29:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2010 9:29:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2010 9:29:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2010 9:29:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2010 9:29:21 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Rob is a great instructor and relates well to students. The assignments pushed me to do more and Rob did as I asked and encouraged rather than bashed my photos. I would recommend both him and the course to others.
3/3/2010 9:29:21 PM
 
Harry N. Alsman 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2010 5:42:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2010 5:42:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2010 5:42:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2010 5:42:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2010 5:42:22 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was my first experiance with Rob and a BetterPhoto course. I'm very satisfied with both. The course presented new ideas and concepts. Even though they were basic, I would never have thought of them on my own. Rob presented these ideas in an easy to follow method so that I can continue working on them. Thank you Rob and BetterPhoto.
1/1/2010 5:42:22 AM
 
Elizabeth Law 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2009 8:47:28 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2009 8:47:28 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2009 8:47:28 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2009 8:47:28 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2009 8:47:28 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
An outstanding course! Rob's teaching has had an enormous impact on my photography. A clearly led course with very useful and constructive feedback. Rob's course has been so good that I have signed up for another one of his!
12/26/2009 8:47:28 AM
 

21 Reviews  


Enroll

Add to Wishlist