Cyber-shot DSC-P30 Digital Camera


Sony

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

because flowers a...
View photos created with this camera

Features:


  • 1.3M pixels, 1280x960 res.
  • 3x optical, 6x digital zoom
  • Includes 4MB Memory Stick
  • Connects with Macs and PCs via included USB interface cable
  • Also has Mpeg movie mode and high speed auto focus illuminator
    that allows positive focus in the dark

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


27 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3 out of 5

3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Christine DiChiara 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 10:14:24 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 10:14:24 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 10:14:24 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 10:14:24 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 10:14:24 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This Sony Cybershot I have takes somewhat good photo's.I liked it because its pretty simple to use.But now that I'm really into taking pictures,I am going to purchase a new camera.I'm still doing reserch on camera's.Hopefully soon I will have one.I'm kinda looking and thinking about the Cannon Rebel??????
6/14/2006 10:14:24 PM
 
Jeannie Myers 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2006 1:23:21 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2006 1:23:21 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2006 1:23:21 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2006 1:23:21 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2006 1:23:21 PM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
This camera is great for a beginner, it takes decent up close photos, but not distance photos, it gets blurry.
1/31/2006 1:23:21 PM
 
Katie E. Wray
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/27/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2005 12:40:03 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2005 12:40:03 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2005 12:40:03 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2005 12:40:03 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2005 12:40:03 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
LOW megapixels!
10/27/2005 12:40:03 PM
 
M Dawson 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2005 7:25:01 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2005 7:25:01 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2005 7:25:01 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2005 7:25:01 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2005 7:25:01 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Decent camera for beginner. Older camera would like more megapixels but it does have a some good features.
10/19/2005 7:25:01 AM
 
Janice C. Williford 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 7:18:08 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 7:18:08 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 7:18:08 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 7:18:08 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 7:18:08 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Good "snap shot" camera. Max optical zoom is 3X, and the auto-lighting leaves much to be desired. Photos often come out either blue (outside) or red (inside) tinted.
8/18/2005 7:18:08 PM
 
Debbie K. Giles 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 8:40:36 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 8:40:36 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 8:40:36 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 8:40:36 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 8:40:36 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I like my camera. It is the first digital I have ever owned. It was given to me so I don't know a lot about it. I am learning as I go.
8/15/2005 8:40:36 PM
 
Parimal Dilip Borkar 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2005 10:17:59 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2005 10:17:59 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2005 10:17:59 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2005 10:17:59 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2005 10:17:59 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
i wpould give it 3 out of 5 mechanically and 10 out of 5 emotionally. The best part about this camera is that i am having it.
6/27/2005 10:17:59 PM
 
Mary Ann Cruz 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2005 2:07:05 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2005 2:07:05 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2005 2:07:05 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2005 2:07:05 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2005 2:07:05 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It's great for point and shoot type of photographs but lacks the power of a manual camera with more control of the photo.
5/25/2005 2:07:05 PM
 
Sheena S. McKinney 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2005 7:37:32 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2005 7:37:32 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2005 7:37:32 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2005 7:37:32 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2005 7:37:32 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Nice Camera. No complaints. Worth the money spent on it.
2/24/2005 7:37:32 AM
 
Kulialani Evans 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 12:06:18 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 12:06:18 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 12:06:18 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 12:06:18 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2004 12:06:18 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
This is a good little camera. I enjoy that I can view my photos instantly and the quality of the pictures is pretty good. I don't like the 4.5 seconds delay and that most of the outdoor photos turn out with a blue haze. This was actually given to my daughter as a gift a few years back and I have been using it lately.
9/14/2004 12:06:18 AM
 
Jennie Osment
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/3/2010
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2004 10:17:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2004 10:17:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2004 10:17:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2004 10:17:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2004 10:17:24 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
For the money, it's a great little camera. Great for a beginner.
7/7/2004 10:17:24 PM
 
Karen Abernathy 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2004 7:20:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2004 7:20:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2004 7:20:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2004 7:20:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2004 7:20:21 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like this camera better when I take pictures outdoors, it take GREAT ones there. But not so great ones inside.
6/10/2004 7:20:21 PM
 
Sharon Lynn Navarrette 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2004 12:16:10 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2004 12:16:10 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2004 12:16:10 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2004 12:16:10 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2004 12:16:10 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like the camera, but it is had to delete pictures, you have to hit the buttom right in the middle and soft wear is not easy to use or find the pictures with out saving to a file.
4/19/2004 12:16:10 PM
 
Daniel Watkins 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2004 6:48:26 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2004 6:48:26 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2004 6:48:26 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2004 6:48:26 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2004 6:48:26 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
This is a pretty good camera for the money. I like the optical zoom, size of the camera, easy to use functions, and macro. Not so happy with the 1.3MP, digital zoom, small lcd, and time it takes to take a picture. Just right for a first digital camera.
3/30/2004 6:48:26 PM
 
Sara Helmrich 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2004 7:08:12 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2004 7:08:12 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2004 7:08:12 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2004 7:08:12 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2004 7:08:12 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This camera takes very good pictures in natural or high light. If you have to use the flash you can get washed out images, and it takes about 15 seconds for the flash to recharge to be ready to take another shot.
3/5/2004 7:08:12 PM
 
Chris A. Henderson 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2004 10:55:46 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2004 10:55:46 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2004 10:55:46 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2004 10:55:46 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2004 10:55:46 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Great for starting out.
2/7/2004 10:55:46 PM
 
Melissa A. Orcutt 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2004 10:51:36 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2004 10:51:36 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2004 10:51:36 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2004 10:51:36 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2004 10:51:36 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Great for beginners.
1/19/2004 10:51:36 AM
 
Melissa A. Orcutt 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2004 10:51:31 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2004 10:51:31 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2004 10:51:31 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2004 10:51:31 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2004 10:51:31 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Great for beginners.
1/19/2004 10:51:31 AM
 
Derek J. Geffers 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2003 8:09:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2003 8:09:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2003 8:09:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2003 8:09:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2003 8:09:59 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great Camera. Low noise at long exposures at ISO 100
10/2/2003 8:09:59 PM
 
Cherry M. Shamblin 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2003 9:16:04 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2003 9:16:04 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2003 9:16:04 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2003 9:16:04 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2003 9:16:04 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
great pictures good resolution
9/19/2003 9:16:04 PM
 
Paulette M. Machor 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2003 11:56:33 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2003 11:56:33 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2003 11:56:33 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2003 11:56:33 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2003 11:56:33 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I like it becuase it is light and easy to use, but the megapixals could be a little more to a 35mm. Good solid camera and nice for the price!
8/19/2003 11:56:33 AM
 
Joann  Tompkins-Winborn
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/1/2002
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2003 8:41:23 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2003 8:41:23 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2003 8:41:23 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2003 8:41:23 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2003 8:41:23 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This camera works much better than my AGFA ePhotoCL18, however, I had difficulty figuring it out when I first got it so I gave it to my son. I have reclaimed it and am in the process of learning how to use it.
7/20/2003 8:41:23 AM
 
Rafael Sarres 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2003 6:07:24 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2003 6:07:24 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2003 6:07:24 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2003 6:07:24 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2003 6:07:24 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good 1.3Mp camera The good: It takes great night pictures (2 sec shutter max). The video has no time limit (just your storage) The bad: the video has no sound. Poor battery life.
7/17/2003 6:07:24 AM
 
Omer Sidat
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/29/2002
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2003 2:54:24 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2003 2:54:24 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2003 2:54:24 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2003 2:54:24 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2003 2:54:24 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
My all time "Friend In Need" shooting companion on the go. Amazing results for its core 1.2 Mega Pixles. Great for Night shots, specially clouded moon skys, provided you are using a good tripod. Fantastic results on Panoramic compositions. With my DSC F717 in use now, my P30 takes a back seat ride on photography trips, but its always there when I need it. Put Offs: Not any that I can't live with.
7/12/2003 2:54:24 AM
 
Debra J. Jensen 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2003 3:55:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2003 3:55:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2003 3:55:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2003 3:55:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2003 3:55:40 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
great starter camera
6/19/2003 3:55:40 PM
 
Laura L. Olson 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2003 6:53:43 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2003 6:53:43 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2003 6:53:43 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2003 6:53:43 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2003 6:53:43 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I agree, This is what I have been using, It says that you should not print any bigger hat 5x7 but have printed 8x10's and they look great
3/7/2003 6:53:43 AM
 
Chris Sessoms 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2002 10:28:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2002 10:28:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2002 10:28:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2002 10:28:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2002 10:28:06 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera is a very good camera. Its only 1.3 mega pixels, but don't let that sway you a second! This camera has an excellent zoom (3x optical 6x digital) the LCD moves fluidly, its very easy to use, has some great photo maniuplation functions. My friends have told me that all my pictures are worthy of a photo studio!

The only bad thing about this camera. Battery life sucks. 30 minutes on 2 AA batteries.

Other than that, This camera was an excellent purchase and i'm glad I got this camera.
Excellent zoom. Great pics. Easy to use.. GREAT CAMERA!

9/5/2002 10:28:06 PM
 

27 Reviews  

Buy Cyber-shot DSC-P30 Digital Camera from Amazon.com