Online Photo Course - The Pursuit of Light with Ibarionex R Perello

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

4-Week Short Course: The Pursuit of Light Photography Course
Course Instructor: © Ibarionex R. Perello
4-Week Short Course: The Pursuit of Light

Learn how to take your photography to the next level by discovering how to see, control and use light. This course - taught by pro photographer Ibarionex Perello - is meant to reveal the "secret" of great photographers who creatively use the qualities of light (intensity, direction and color) to produce stunning and memorable photographs. You will also learn how to use the key features of your camera (exposure, white balance and ISO) to produce not only well-exposed images, but photographs that are dramatic, beautiful and memorable. It's a course that has the potential to transform what you do as a photographer.

Category: Lighting / Exposure
Skill Level: 3 - Serious Hobbyist
Only $198 USD

Learn more about
4-Week Short Course: The Pursuit of Light


19 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Rajiv Chopra
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/25/2006
Contact Rajiv
Rajiv's Gallery
crookedimagez.biz
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2014 8:17:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2014 8:17:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2014 8:17:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2014 8:17:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2014 8:17:17 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is an excellent course. It is easy to get fooled by the early lessons, into believing that this is a very easy course. However, through the lessons and the assignments, Ibarionex really enhances your ability and propensity to "hunt for light". This is something that I had forgotten, and this lesson came back to me. Excellent course
7/1/2014 8:17:17 AM
 
Robert Mc Donald
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/11/2010
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2012 9:07:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2012 9:07:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2012 9:07:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2012 9:07:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2012 9:07:15 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great course, great instructor. Light - we see it all the time but who knew it could be so interesting? Since I took this course, I see photography in a totally new way. I have taken several photography courses in the past but this one was the one that impacted me the most.
9/4/2012 9:07:15 AM
 
Eileen W. Thompson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/2/2007
eileen-thompson-photography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2012 10:43:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2012 10:43:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2012 10:43:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2012 10:43:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2012 10:43:38 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Step outside your current photographer's box into a fascinating experience with light. This class literally enlightens your ability to make photos that are genuinely inviting to the viewer. Loved this class. I know you will too!
6/9/2012 10:43:38 AM
 
stephen barney
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/3/2012
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2012 1:22:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2012 1:22:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2012 1:22:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2012 1:22:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2012 1:22:30 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Ibarionex is an awesome teacher, to some this class may seem to be a bit basic as I have seen in some comments,but this is so not true, if you feel this is basic you missed the point Ibarionex, gets you to really think about the factors of light that go into making a picture and the real learning is not the science of fstops and shutter speeds but the perception you gain from looking at light and seeing images in a totaly different way.

I am so glad I took this course it made me take a step change in the ethos of my photography and I am looking at the world in a whole new way.

It has my wife chuckling at me when I look at a sceen and say daft things like look ar how amazing the light is, I suppose thats a measure of the success of this class.

Highly recomended but take your artistic head into this as well as your technical one if you want to get the most out of it.

5/17/2012 1:22:30 AM
 
Steinar Kibsgaard
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/31/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2012 12:23:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2012 12:23:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2012 12:23:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2012 12:23:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2012 12:23:55 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Have just completed Pursuit of Light, and I'm still not sure whether it is correct to call it a skill 3-course or skill 2-course, but I must say that the teacher is so enthusiastic about light, so it "infects" you, and light is - after all - what it is all about, so I would recommend this course very much.

The teacher has also given me another boost - he's not the only teacher here at Better Photo ;);) - to pay more attention to white balance, and thank you for that.

1/26/2012 12:23:55 AM
 
Scott H. Hoffmann
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/5/2011
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2011 1:16:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2011 1:16:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2011 1:16:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2011 1:16:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2011 1:16:54 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
After the first couple assignments I was scratching my head and wondering why this was a level 3 class. The assignments were so easy. But this class really does build upon itself and by the end of the class I had a much better understanding of light which is exactly why I took the class.

The instructor Ibarionex Perello was always quick to review my photos and his thoughts on them seemed to be very good and constructive.

I would definitely recommend him and this course.

9/7/2011 1:16:54 PM
 
Gregory Mencotti
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2011 11:07:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2011 11:07:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2011 11:07:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2011 11:07:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2011 11:07:38 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This has been my second class with Ibarionex, and is one of the very best yet!
Ibarionex is a superb mentor and guide.
His course lesson plans are informative and inspiring.
This particular subject matter is crucial to internalize to step forward in photography.
7/30/2011 11:07:38 AM
 
Carla Maddox
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2011 9:04:41 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2011 9:04:41 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2011 9:04:41 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2011 9:04:41 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2011 9:04:41 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is not an easy class if one does not understand what makes an object interesting and why we want to take the picture. We can know all about TV, AV, ISO, and WB, but unless we understand they need to come together like a perfect ballet performance that involves music, dancers, lighting, props, etc., we often return from taking a picture only to be disappointed because it doesn't "feel" the way we saw it. That's because of the light or lack of it. This class really taught me two things; (1) to see beyond the subject; and (2)to reach outside of myself and shoot the picture, even though it may feel stupid. The only reason for a 4.5 rating is because the lessons need a little more clarity, otherwise it's a 5.
7/28/2011 9:04:41 AM
 
Michael Kronstadt
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/15/2011
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2011 11:59:32 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2011 11:59:32 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2011 11:59:32 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2011 11:59:32 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2011 11:59:32 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It sneaks up on you. I didn't think I was learning that much, but even the apparently simple early assignments turn out to be teaching you a great deal. Ibarionex has clearly thought this through very deeply and I recommend this course to any level photographer.

This was my first online photography course, so I couldn't see giving it five stars with no basis for comparison. Apologies to Ibarionex if I've rated him unfairly.

7/10/2011 11:59:32 AM
 
Jos de Sousa 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2011 7:26:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2011 7:26:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2011 7:26:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2011 7:26:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2011 7:26:49 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The content of the course is good and the instructor is trully a professional but personally speaking the period is relatively short therefore an extra period of, say 2 - 4 weeks can be added then the course would be more interesting since each week you can only grab the basic elements of the learning and one or two critiques from the instructor may not be sufficient to achiee to another level of excelence.
2/26/2011 7:26:49 PM
 
Steven R. Hill
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/29/2009
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2011 7:42:06 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2011 7:42:06 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2011 7:42:06 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2011 7:42:06 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2011 7:42:06 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This assignments in this class were too basic for an intermediate class. Porello does a good job with his feedback.
2/6/2011 7:42:06 PM
 
Stephanie Lewis
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/27/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2010 5:08:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2010 5:08:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2010 5:08:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2010 5:08:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2010 5:08:42 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This class is very valuable and well taught. Ibarionex is passionate about the topic and is very encouraging. I appreciated his extremely prompt feedback and his use of each critique almost as a separate mini-lesson. He gives more than standard feedback. He makes pretty thorough observations, which may be several paragraphs in length, that are tailored to your photo and your level of experience. It really helps to reinforce things to think about the next time you shoot. I think the course is too short though and should either be 8 weeks or have a Part II.
12/1/2010 5:08:42 PM
 
Jen F. Petritz
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/31/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2010 10:04:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2010 10:04:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2010 10:04:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2010 10:04:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2010 10:04:24 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was a really great class. I've taken a number of courses now, and this one was one of my favorites! I love light, and truely believe that lighting can take a good photograph and make it amazing. The instructer was knowledgable and passionate. I would recommend this course to anyone wishing to expand there knowledge and ideas of light!
11/11/2010 10:04:24 AM
 
Fred Fitchett 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2010 11:34:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2010 11:34:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2010 11:34:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2010 11:34:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2010 11:34:35 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course unrolls a perspective that every photographer needs to fully embrace to maximize their images: the importance of light and how its various qualities translate in your images.

Ibarionex is a quality teacher who starts you slowly, forcing a revisit to basics early in the class, then elevates you to another level over the next few weeks with assignments that open up the critical nature of light capture to the successful image. Each of the students in my session made great strides with each passing week, showing improvement in the way they began seeing the uniqueness in light and the part it played in the scene they were shooting.
I would recommend this course. It has made a significant difference in the images I've captured since completing it.

6/28/2010 11:34:35 AM
 
Pam Bosch
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/8/2006
pamboschphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2010 6:52:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2010 6:52:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2010 6:52:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2010 6:52:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2010 6:52:11 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Ibarionex is a outstanding instructor. He takes the time to provide indepth critiques which provide suggestions and points for improvement in a very gracious way. He gives you food for thought and action.

The lessons are very well organized and the assignments designed to really help you see light and develop a disciplined approach to capturing images you may not have otherwise noticed or attempted. The lessons are also fun!

I have always been able to see light but he took me to a whole new level of seeing and helped me gain the confidence to go for the light all the time. This class is a must for every photographer!

This is my second class with Ibarionex and it won't be my last.

Thanks Ibarionex for another fabulous learning experience.

6/4/2010 6:52:11 PM
 
Monique Binkhorst 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2010 11:10:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2010 11:10:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2010 11:10:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2010 11:10:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2010 11:10:15 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed this course. It put my focus back to the basics, what attracted me the the scene I am photographing and is my camera set at the best settings to achieve that. Ibarionex was very fast with his critiques ( sometimes within the hour) and his critiques were very to the point.
4/6/2010 11:10:15 AM
 
Andres Rivas-Alonso
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/1/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2010 3:41:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2010 3:41:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2010 3:41:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2010 3:41:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2010 3:41:11 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The Pursuit of Light with Ibarionex R Perello proporciona una visión mágica del fundamento de la fotografia: la luz.
Este curso es imprescindible y proporciona las herramientas para que tus fotos posean algo maravilloso: tus sentimientos.
Andrés Rivas-Alonso
1/5/2010 3:41:11 AM
 
Dave Parker
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/25/2009
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2009 7:17:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2009 7:17:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2009 7:17:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2009 7:17:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2009 7:17:35 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
In all probability, the Pursuit of Light is the most important course on the site. There is a true secret to be revealed here - a secret that will not only change the quality of your photography, but change the way you see. This was a very short course, logical in it's progression and gratifying in it's results. This should be a mandatory course for all photographers, regardless of discipline.
11/1/2009 7:17:35 PM
 
Janice  M. LeCocq
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/3/2007
Contact Janice
Janice 's Gallery
janice-lecocq-photography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2009 8:48:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2009 8:48:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2009 8:48:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2009 8:48:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2009 8:48:49 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Ibarionex can change forever the way you think about photography. Forget all those categories about the "kinds of photos" you shoot. For him, it is all about the light. When you look at his images, you will see exactly what light means to him. In this course you begin to experience how he sees the world and you also will begin to "pursue the light". The impact on your images is immediate. My only regret in this course is that it was over too soon, but the impact won't go away.
10/6/2009 8:48:49 AM
 

19 Reviews  


Enroll

Add to Wishlist