BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Online 4-Week Short Course - The Pursuit of Light with Ibarionex R Perello

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

4-Week Short Course: The Pursuit of Light Photography Course
Course Instructor: Ibarionex R. Perello
4-Week Short Course: The Pursuit of Light

Learn how to take your photography to the next level by discovering how to see, control and use light. This course - taught by pro photographer Ibarionex Perello - is meant to reveal the "secret" of great photographers who creatively use the qualities of light (intensity, direction and color) to produce stunning and memorable photographs. You will also learn how to use the key features of your camera (exposure, white balance and ISO) to produce not only well-exposed images, but photographs that are dramatic, beautiful and memorable. It's a course that has the potential to transform what you do as a photographer.

Category: Lighting / Exposure
Skill Level: 3 - Serious Hobbyist
Only $198 USD

Learn more about
4-Week Short Course: The Pursuit of Light


First 10 of 19 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Rajiv Chopra
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Rajiv
Rajiv's Gallery
crookedimagez.biz

member since: 12/25/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is an excellent course. It is easy to get fooled by the early lessons, into believing that this is a very easy course. However, through the lessons and the assignments, Ibarionex really enhances your ability and propensity to "hunt for light". This is something that I had forgotten, and this lesson came back to me. Excellent course
7/1/2014 8:17:17 AM
 
Robert Mc Donald
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/11/2010
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great course, great instructor. Light - we see it all the time but who knew it could be so interesting? Since I took this course, I see photography in a totally new way. I have taken several photography courses in the past but this one was the one that impacted me the most.
9/4/2012 9:07:15 AM
 
Eileen W. Thompson
BetterPhoto Member
eileen-thompson-photography.com

member since: 9/2/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Step outside your current photographer's box into a fascinating experience with light. This class literally enlightens your ability to make photos that are genuinely inviting to the viewer. Loved this class. I know you will too!
6/9/2012 10:43:38 AM
 
stephen barney
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/3/2012
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Ibarionex is an awesome teacher, to some this class may seem to be a bit basic as I have seen in some comments,but this is so not true, if you feel this is basic you missed the point Ibarionex, gets you to really think about the factors of light that go into making a picture and the real learning is not the science of fstops and shutter speeds but the perception you gain from looking at light and seeing images in a totaly different way.

I am so glad I took this course it made me take a step change in the ethos of my photography and I am looking at the world in a whole new way.

It has my wife chuckling at me when I look at a sceen and say daft things like look ar how amazing the light is, I suppose thats a measure of the success of this class.

Highly recomended but take your artistic head into this as well as your technical one if you want to get the most out of it.

5/17/2012 1:22:30 AM
 
Steinar Kibsgaard
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Steinar
Steinar's Gallery

member since: 5/31/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Have just completed Pursuit of Light, and I'm still not sure whether it is correct to call it a skill 3-course or skill 2-course, but I must say that the teacher is so enthusiastic about light, so it "infects" you, and light is - after all - what it is all about, so I would recommend this course very much.

The teacher has also given me another boost - he's not the only teacher here at Better Photo ;);) - to pay more attention to white balance, and thank you for that.

1/26/2012 12:23:55 AM
 
Scott H. Hoffmann
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/5/2011
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
After the first couple assignments I was scratching my head and wondering why this was a level 3 class. The assignments were so easy. But this class really does build upon itself and by the end of the class I had a much better understanding of light which is exactly why I took the class.

The instructor Ibarionex Perello was always quick to review my photos and his thoughts on them seemed to be very good and constructive.

I would definitely recommend him and this course.

9/7/2011 1:16:54 PM
 
Gregory Mencotti

member since: 1/1/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This has been my second class with Ibarionex, and is one of the very best yet!
Ibarionex is a superb mentor and guide.
His course lesson plans are informative and inspiring.
This particular subject matter is crucial to internalize to step forward in photography.
7/30/2011 11:07:38 AM
 
Carla Maddox

member since: 6/29/2010
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is not an easy class if one does not understand what makes an object interesting and why we want to take the picture. We can know all about TV, AV, ISO, and WB, but unless we understand they need to come together like a perfect ballet performance that involves music, dancers, lighting, props, etc., we often return from taking a picture only to be disappointed because it doesn't "feel" the way we saw it. That's because of the light or lack of it. This class really taught me two things; (1) to see beyond the subject; and (2)to reach outside of myself and shoot the picture, even though it may feel stupid. The only reason for a 4.5 rating is because the lessons need a little more clarity, otherwise it's a 5.
7/28/2011 9:04:41 AM
 
Michael Kronstadt
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/15/2011
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It sneaks up on you. I didn't think I was learning that much, but even the apparently simple early assignments turn out to be teaching you a great deal. Ibarionex has clearly thought this through very deeply and I recommend this course to any level photographer.

This was my first online photography course, so I couldn't see giving it five stars with no basis for comparison. Apologies to Ibarionex if I've rated him unfairly.

7/10/2011 11:59:32 AM
 
Jos de Sousa

member since: 1/12/2011
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The content of the course is good and the instructor is trully a professional but personally speaking the period is relatively short therefore an extra period of, say 2 - 4 weeks can be added then the course would be more interesting since each week you can only grab the basic elements of the learning and one or two critiques from the instructor may not be sufficient to achiee to another level of excelence.
2/26/2011 7:26:49 PM
 
Steven R. Hill
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/29/2009
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
This assignments in this class were too basic for an intermediate class. Porello does a good job with his feedback.
2/6/2011 7:42:06 PM
 

First 10 of 19 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Enroll

Add to Wishlist


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.