BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Minilux Camera


Leica

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Point and Shoot Film Cameras

Dutch Fort
View photos created with this camera

The Minilux Camera

  • High-quality 35mm compact camera with handsome titanium body
  • High-speed Leica Summarit 40mm lens (f/2.4)
  • Automatic exposure or aperture priority (preselected aperture setting)
  • Manual or automatic focusing from 28 inches to infinity
  • Automatic lens protection cap


Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


5 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Andy Middleton

member since: 10/12/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
A joy to use the rangefinder.A solid built camera with minimum features but wonderful build quality....excellent lenses complete the package.
10/12/2004 10:38:26 AM
 
Deepa --- Deepa

member since: 11/22/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
good to use but still i don't know how to use it
11/22/2003 10:40:38 PM
 
Hans Duggen
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/15/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I take photos with this camera periodly, epsecially under travels and in bad light conditions.
7/8/2003 8:33:38 AM
 
Paul Anders

member since: 6/26/2001
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Excellent (but big for a p&s) camera. Quality is obvious at first touch, and photographs do not disapoint. Lens quality is excellent, but interface is not perfect - too many buttons. Those seeking a similar quality camera with wider lens/smaller size/lighter weight may want to look elsewhere - eg. Ricoh GR 1s. I have and use both - compared to an SLR the Leica is tiny. Compared to some other compacts it is huge and heavy. Feel the size and weight of the camera before you buy. If you can live with a very high quality un-compact compact, buy it. Rating would be 10 if slightly smaller. Weight is reassuring though.
 
Mike Booth

member since: 2/16/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Almost 50% of my 30x20 big enlargements were taken on compacts when I was not "on duty".I reasoned that I ought to buy a top notch compact and chose the Leica Minilux after some deliberation. I was not disappointed.
This camera has exceeded my wildest expectations. It's now 6 years old andhaving seen the sheer quality of result it produces, I am now the proud owner of two M6 cameras and one R6.2
When you buy a compact that leaves your serious gear behind, what else can you do but change the serious gear? That's how much the Minilux impressed me.
 

5 Reviews  

Add your own review

Buy Minilux Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.