Online Photo Course - Digital Photography Basics with Lynne Eodice

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

4-Week Short Course: Digital Photography Basics Photography Course
Course Instructor: Lynne Eodice
4-Week Short Course: Digital Photography Basics

This four-week course is designed to teach the beginning photographer about the D-SLR and have fun doing it. We'll begin by examining lens choices, ISO settings, and what the various camera buttons and dials mean. From there, we'll move on to f-stops and shutter speeds, and how to utilize them for creative control. Instructor is Lynne Eodice, the former Features Editor for Petersen's PHOTOgraphic magazine and the author of Photos That Inspire. You'll learn how to see the way the camera does, and utilize various rules of composition for best results. There will be tips and techniques throughout this course that will assist those new to D-SLR photography, and will help you create striking images.

Category: Fundamentals Courses
Skill Level: 1 - Novice
Only $198 USD

Learn more about
4-Week Short Course: Digital Photography Basics


First 10 of 19 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Ushmita Hira
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/3/2013
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2013 9:25:32 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2013 9:25:32 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2013 9:25:32 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2013 9:25:32 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2013 9:25:32 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I was most happy to have Lynne as my instructor. She has always been helpful, and available (to answer my many (sometimes stupid) questions.

My questions were always answered in a timely way, and her approach made it possible for us as students to feel comfortable asking her any number of questions.

Where possible, examples were always given by Lynne, even if this required that she improve some of our our photo's and re-upload edited versions to show us the point she was making in her critiques.

Her critiques were my main method of learning. I am one who learns mainly from mistakes, and in this way, Lynne has been a great help. I am now out of my usual auto-mode, and am more willing to experiment with my camera.

Thank you Lynne!! Keep up the great work!!

11/27/2013 9:25:32 AM
 
Sharon  Norberg 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2012 4:29:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2012 4:29:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2012 4:29:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2012 4:29:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2012 4:29:30 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The 4 week Learning to Shoot Inspiring Images with Lynne Eodice was a great experience. I had little to no experience prior to class but Lynne put me at ease right away. The lessons are fun and informative. My favorite part of class was waiting for Lynne's critique, which was always very prompt. I used to always shoot on auto but not anymore. Thanks Lynne!
Sincerely,
Sharon N.
10/4/2012 4:29:30 PM
 
William J. Duntzee
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/5/2012
Contact William
William's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2012 8:10:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2012 8:10:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2012 8:10:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2012 8:10:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2012 8:10:03 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I highly recommend this course for those who are new to the DSLR or digital photography! Going from a point and shoot to my first DSLR, not only did I learn my camera controls, but I actually take pictures in Aperture mode or Shutter Priority mode and understand when to use them and why! (no more auto mode for me)! With Lynne's expert instruction, critiques, pro tips and advice I actually was able to see the quality of my pictures progress throughout the four week period! Thanks Lynne for making me a better photographer! Looking forward to another class with you!!! Bill
8/10/2012 8:10:03 AM
 
Caroline Lingerfelt
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/25/2012
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2012 2:50:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2012 2:50:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2012 2:50:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2012 2:50:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2012 2:50:16 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
In this BetterPhoto class, I think that you have done a wonderful job of setting high expectations for everyone while acknowledging that everyone is at a different place in their experiences and knowledge of how a camera works. Thanks for your encouragement and helpful evaluations of my pictures!
8/9/2012 2:50:16 PM
 
Gerard Simon 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2012 11:07:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2012 11:07:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2012 11:07:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2012 11:07:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2012 11:07:20 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course and the instructor really helped me understand the basics of photography, even though I had some working knowledge prior to joining. The best benefit is the critiques that I received for each of my pictures that I submitted. These allowed me to not only understand how to make the picture better for future reference, but they were also adjusted in photoshop which allowed me to see the difference.
Lynne was a fantastic instructor which always seemed available via e-mail and commented quickly at all times.
5/4/2012 11:07:20 AM
 
Charlene Stenton-Dozey 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2011 7:19:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2011 7:19:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2011 7:19:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2011 7:19:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2011 7:19:34 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I had bought my first DSLR one week prior, no 'real' photography experience and learnt heaps as a result of this course. At no stage did I feel out of my depth or that I was floundering. Lynne was great at explaining how to improve my photos further and my classmates were also great with their encouragement and perspectives. I felt well supported throughout and had a great time learning from the course materials, Lynne and my classmates.
8/2/2011 7:19:34 AM
 
E. Dorenda Doyle
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/17/2011
photolabphotos.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2011 9:15:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2011 9:15:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2011 9:15:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2011 9:15:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2011 9:15:49 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have taken photography classes/seminars before, but this is the first one I ever tried online . . . I could not have been more pleased! I learned far more by the second lesson than I ever did in a traditional classroom. The encouragement and camaraderie of fellow classmates, plus the positive critiques all ensured my success. Thank you!
7/28/2011 9:15:49 PM
 
Christie A. Dixon 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2011 11:46:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2011 11:46:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2011 11:46:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2011 11:46:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2011 11:46:08 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I am an amateur photographer and I love taking pictures! I thought by trying this course I could learn about my new camera and pick up some tips for taking a better picture. This course greatly exceeded my expectations. For the first time I have been able to use my Nikon D90 in the manual modes and actually understand what I was doing. Lynne's explanations were clear and easy to follow and she gave great examples. I am sure I will look back at the lessons for future reference. Lynne's critiques were extremely helpful and by taking her advice I truly believe I take a better picture! I really enjoyed working with Lynne - she is a great instructor!
5/19/2011 11:46:08 AM
 
Renee Clark
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/1/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2011 7:09:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2011 7:09:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2011 7:09:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2011 7:09:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2011 7:09:35 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have learned a great deal in this class. Lynn's helpful, detailed critiques on each photo submitted has been a true learning process that I have enjoyed immensely. She always found something positive about each photo posted and then shared details on how it could have been even better. Often she would redo a photo to show us a more pleasing crop or perhaps a brighter exposure or removing a distracting element in photoshop. This was a very educational aspect of her course for me. This class was my first with BetterPhotos and I am excited just thinking about what I will learn when I take her next class in April.
3/5/2011 7:09:35 AM
 
Danae Romrell
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/8/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2010 9:48:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2010 9:48:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2010 9:48:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2010 9:48:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2010 9:48:56 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this class! The course exceeded my expectations. This was my first BetterPhoto course and I think it is the perfect class for a beginner. Lynne as a wonderful instructor and gave great suggestions. I really appreciated the comments she made in her critiques. She was always positive and encouraging and helped me know what to change to make my pictures better. I am looking forward to taking other courses!
12/1/2010 9:48:56 PM
 
Maria R. Aiello
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/15/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2010 5:40:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2010 5:40:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2010 5:40:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2010 5:40:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2010 5:40:14 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a great course for those who are new to photography. Through this course I gained a better understanding of my camera, the variety of shooting modes and how to use them, as well as a good foundation for understanding the basic principles of composition. Lynne is an excellent instructor, and she offers both positive and constructive critiques. The assignments were fun, and I would highly recommend this class to those who want to build a solid foundation in photography.
11/9/2010 5:40:14 PM
 

First 10 of 19 Reviews  (see all user reviews)


Enroll

Add to Wishlist