Online 4-Week Short Course - The Nikon D90 Camera with Simon Stafford

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

4-Week Short Course: The Nikon D90 Camera Photography Course
Course Instructor: Simon Stafford
4-Week Short Course: The Nikon D90 Camera

Learn how to use the cool features and functions of the Nikon D90 to best effect. This unique 4-week online course - taught by photographer and author Simon Stafford - is devoted to this exciting digital SLR camera - successor to the wildly popular Nikon D80 camera.

Category: CameraCourses
Skill Level: 2 - Hobbyist
Only $198 USD

Learn more about
4-Week Short Course: The Nikon D90 Camera


First 10 of 15 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Wan Ying Teoh 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2012 1:04:34 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2012 1:04:34 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2012 1:04:34 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2012 1:04:34 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2012 1:04:34 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I am happy that I 'stumbled' upon this course while surfing online, for I have learnt things that are really useful in improving my photography skills. Firstly I have learnt in each of the 4 lessons in this course about my camera controls and that has helped a great deal in deciding which camera setting to use ( WB, exposure modes, exposure compensation , picture controls etc) when taking a photograph afterwards. Secondly I have learnt skills like panning, pre-setting WB , getting maximum DOF by placing the focus point 1/3 of the way from the scene etc. The critiques by my instructor are invaluable to me for he has pinpointed all my strong and weak areas in a clear and constructive manner.This is definitely a course to be recommended to all new Nikon D90 users.Kudos!
8/18/2012 1:04:34 AM
 
Christel Durkin 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2011 11:38:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2011 11:38:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2011 11:38:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2011 11:38:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2011 11:38:07 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I just wanted to thank you for a great course. I really appreciate that you took the time to answer my myriad of questions in so much detail. Some of which I know seemed very basic and perhaps even off topic. I had no idea what aperture was before I started this course. The first week was very hard for me!! But I am amazed at how much I have learned in four weeks. I now officially have the photography bug.
6/6/2011 11:38:07 AM
 
Beth E. Burdett
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/4/2011
Contact Beth
Beth's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2011 10:15:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2011 10:15:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2011 10:15:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2011 10:15:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2011 10:15:58 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Just wanted to tell you that I have enjoyed your class immensely. I have learned so much. I am much more comfortable with my camera and know so much more about how to use it.
There were times when I wanted to give up, but your kind words of encouragement gave me what I needed to continue and I am glad I did.
Thank you for taking the time to share what you know with people like myself so that we can reach our photography goals.
I have already signed up for another class and am looking forward to learning more from you at a future time as well.
Once again, thank you for your candid but gentle critiques!
5/5/2011 10:15:58 AM
 
Jann  5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2011 9:38:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2011 9:38:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2011 9:38:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2011 9:38:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2011 9:38:20 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Just wanted to thank you Simon for such a great class. The way you have presented the material was so much easier for me to understand compared to the manual (which I never did get through completely!). I really appreciated the detailed critiques and have learned so much in this short time. I"ve enjoyed seeing everyone's work too!
4/21/2011 9:38:20 AM
 
John D. Roach
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/2/2010
Contact John
John's Gallery
jdroachphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2010 6:34:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2010 6:34:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2010 6:34:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2010 6:34:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2010 6:34:40 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Simon Stafford's instruction and critiques during the D90 Course were very helpful. It not only was it a course that enabled me to learn the more of the technical elements of my fine D90 camera,it also help me develop further in my photography skills. I highly recommend this course and Simon's leadership in learning.
12/2/2010 6:34:40 PM
 
Larry M. Mercer 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2010 5:58:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2010 5:58:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2010 5:58:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2010 5:58:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2010 5:58:30 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
You couldn't start out with a new camera in any better manner! Simon Stafford is a very detailed instructor who focused on you not only knowing "how" but "why". The material in this class is worth the cost alone. If there was one thing I didn't like it was the short time span.
11/3/2010 5:58:30 AM
 
scott johni 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2010 8:02:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2010 8:02:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2010 8:02:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2010 8:02:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2010 8:02:27 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course was terrific and the instructor was very professional and encouraging. I would recommend this course to anyone wanting to learn more about the Nikon D90. I'm actually taking Simon's next course: Composition the Essentials in a few days.
8/3/2010 8:02:27 AM
 
Cheryl Winn 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2010 9:40:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2010 9:40:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2010 9:40:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2010 9:40:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2010 9:40:17 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have really enjoyed this course. We sure did cover a lot of ground in 4 weeks. I've learned lots and had a blast doing so. Thank you.
7/7/2010 9:40:17 AM
 
Cheryl Winn 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2010 2:05:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2010 2:05:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2010 2:05:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2010 2:05:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2010 2:05:05 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I found this an empowering course. This course is about leaning the technical aspects of what your camera can & can't do but always with a view to putting you in creative control.

The course notes are clear, detailed & interesting(My eyes start glazing over when I read my camera manual).
The critiques are honest,clear & encouraging. Simon obviously takes the time to really look at your photos and is very generous with sharing all his experience.

I feel grateful for the oportunity to have taken part in this gem of a course & would highly recomend it to anyone with this camera.

6/15/2010 2:05:05 PM
 
Mike Weimer 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2010 9:02:41 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2010 9:02:41 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2010 9:02:41 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2010 9:02:41 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2010 9:02:41 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Manuals give you the technical data about the camera, what's in the menus, how to manipulate all the buttons and what you can change to make a photo look different. They don't tell you how the changes you make will effect the photo. That's where Simon was very helpful. He highlighted which changes are important to good photo-taking and how to change them in the camera to achieve what you intended. Just knowing what I could change was overwhelming. Knowing what changes would result in a better photo helps me focus. I'm much more comfortable with the camera when I go into the field. Thank you to Simon for a job well done.
4/7/2010 9:02:41 AM
 
Courtney Palmer 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2010 7:10:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2010 7:10:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2010 7:10:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2010 7:10:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2010 7:10:15 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course is awesome--material and instructor. If you want to learn about all your d90 can do, this is the course for you. My camera is still much smarter than I am, but I am starting to catch up. And I no longer shoot in Auto mode!

Simon is so accessible and available to answer questions (as small or naive as they may be). And he is very prompt at critiquing assignments as well.

Thanks a ton for a FANTASTIC class. I will definitely be back for more =).

3/3/2010 7:10:15 AM
 

First 10 of 15 Reviews  (see all user reviews)


Enroll

Add to Wishlist