Online Photo Course - High Dynamic Range (HDR) Photography with Tony Sweet

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

4-Week Short Course: High Dynamic Range (HDR) Photography Photography Course
Course Instructor: © Tony Sweet
4-Week Short Course: High Dynamic Range (HDR) Photography

Learn how to use Photomatix software to create great High Dynamic Range images using any camera. In this 4-week course, Tony Sweet - pro photographer, author, and Nikon Legend Behind the Lens - will demystify HDR and teach you how to have total control over the total dynamic range of your image. You'll gain a whole new level of creative expression!

Category: Lighting / Exposure
Skill Level: 2 - Hobbyist
Only $198 USD

Learn more about
4-Week Short Course: High Dynamic Range (HDR) Photography


8 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Richard J. Boyle
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/3/2013
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2014 1:44:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2014 1:44:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2014 1:44:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2014 1:44:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2014 1:44:19 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a most unique course on HDR. I became interested in HDR when I noticed that it is an option on the iPhone. Tony Sweet is a talented instructor and his course is just plain fun. His critiques are direct and stretched my understanding image processing considerably. I would recommend this course highly as a passing knowledge of HDR should be part of every serious photographer's resume. Finally, if you want a very cool course that is also fun, this is it.

Dick Boyle

2/2/2014 1:44:19 PM
 
Aernout Zevenbergen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/16/2012
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2012 1:56:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2012 1:56:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2012 1:56:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2012 1:56:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2012 1:56:05 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great introduction to HDR. I would have liked less emphasis on sliders and more on suitable subjects though, and how to use those subjects for HDR. What works, what doesn't, and how can you make what doesn't work still work.
4/15/2012 1:56:05 AM
 
Michelle D. Allen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/19/2009
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2010 6:37:04 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2010 6:37:04 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2010 6:37:04 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2010 6:37:04 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2010 6:37:04 PM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
As a frequent participant in BetterPhoto courses, I must confess I found this course very disappointing. Tony seems to use the phrase “Don't forget, there is no HDR manual or specific instructions” often. I am a novice user of HDR processes so appreciated this approach at first. By the end of the course, though, I began to feel that this phrase (used in all four weeks) became an excuse for not giving sufficiently detailed information in the lessons. The specific examples in each lesson were narrow in scope, confined to the particulars of the images presented. While I appreciate the step-by-step examples for the processing showcased in each lesson, as a student it would be very helpful for Tony to have included advice about what types of subjects/settings make great HDR images for each segment.

Others reviewers have noted the brevity of the critiques. In addition, I found Tony’s communication style to be very difficult as a student. Some critiques were hard to understand, in fact, even hard to read from a grammatical standpoint. There seems to be a lag in response times when answering student questions. Frankly, my previous experiences with other instructors on BetterPhoto.com has lead me to expect more from someone who has authored several books and taught several classes.

Unfortunately I cannot recommend this course to others. I did learn some nice tricks and techniques in this class. However, I have learned much more about HDR from free information readily available on the internet.

12/6/2010 6:37:04 PM
 
Philip I. Crawford 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2010 9:30:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2010 9:30:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2010 9:30:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2010 9:30:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2010 9:30:55 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I learnt a lot and really enjoyed entering the world of HDR, but as I have seen in other reviews the material was limited in scope and instructor comments fairly brief - not sure what I really expected, except fuller longer lessons perhaps. I *highly* recommend getting Tony's HDR video which was excellent in conjunction with this course - I learnt a lot from that and made the course make a lot more sense to me and like any course reading around the subject from other books helped also. That said I would recommend it to everyone.
6/30/2010 9:30:55 AM
 
Steinar Kibsgaard
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/31/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2010 8:26:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2010 8:26:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2010 8:26:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2010 8:26:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2010 8:26:31 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I joined this HDR-course as a beginner in this HDR-world.

While waiting for the course to begin, I bought more books and downloaded a lot of stuff, and I started to read.

I must say: You really do not need all this stuff, unless you want to go very deep in HDR - this course will do it a long, long way. You will get some of Tony Sweets settings, you can load into your Photomatix and use it, they are not just good, they are simply amazing.

His critique of your pics ? - for me it is the most important thing , and what I use my money for, joining those courses at betterphoto.com - and this is my 7. class) :

Tony has the ability to go directly to the point of your photo. Sometimes I could use more words from him, but I must admit, that he go directly to the point.

1/30/2010 8:26:31 AM
 
Janice M LeCocq
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/3/2007
Contact Janice M
Janice M's Gallery
janice-lecocq-photography.com
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/1/2009 3:04:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/1/2009 3:04:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/1/2009 3:04:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/1/2009 3:04:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/1/2009 3:04:06 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Tony is one of the most creative instructors in the BP lineup. His critiques are short but to the point. The classes are fun, and his examples are inspirational. I'll be looking for more of his classes. I've taken his Lensbaby class which was great; this one was equally enjoyable. I strongly recommend him.
8/1/2009 3:04:06 PM
 
Paul Barnes 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2009 4:52:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2009 4:52:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2009 4:52:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2009 4:52:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2009 4:52:06 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
My objective for any course taken is to learn something new, something not in the textbooks or on line. This course taught me multiple new things about HDR photography as well as intrducing Nik Software's Vivesa program via critique comments. Excellent course for anyone interested in HDR
3/5/2009 4:52:06 AM
 
Steve Jolicoeur 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2009 8:15:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2009 8:15:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2009 8:15:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2009 8:15:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2009 8:15:02 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I entered this coarse with the hopes of making my photo`s more clear and defined in all aspects of exposure, as the HDR coarse stated, it delivers , and more .I now have controle over what and how I want to deliver exposure in my photo`s.Plus direction in other areas I will persue,and doors I have yet to open. This coarse dose not end but is the door step to so many more posabilitys to come and explore.
Tony lays back and lets you do your thing , then puts it in your face so you remember it .Could not ask for better . Thanks again
Steve jolicoeur
3/3/2009 8:15:02 PM
 

8 Reviews  


Enroll

Add to Wishlist