EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital SLR Cameras

First Snow
View photos created with this camera

The EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera

Features:

  • 15.1-megapixel CMOS sensor with improved noise reduction
  • EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM standard zoom lens included
  • Enhanced Live View shooting includes Face Detection Live mode
  • New Lens Peripheral Illumination Correction setting; HDMI output
  • Capture images to Compact Flash Type I or II memory cards (not included)



© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


10 Reviews  

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Lisa Buchanan
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/5/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2010 12:14:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2010 12:14:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2010 12:14:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2010 12:14:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2010 12:14:33 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I just switched up from my Rebel XTi to an EOS 50D. What a great toy! It never leaves my hip, my photos have improved, and I never cease to be pleased with my photo results. I have only had it for a short time, and am totally convinced that I made the right camera choice for me.
8/17/2010 12:14:33 PM
 
Linda Lavey 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2010 7:50:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2010 7:50:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2010 7:50:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2010 7:50:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2010 7:50:51 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I just love my 50D. I just finished a course on knowing the 50D. What a great camera. I stepped up from the Rebel XT which I feel is also a good choice especially for a newbie but I am hooked on the 50.
6/15/2010 7:50:51 PM
 
Shari Kelly
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/20/2007
Contact Shari
Shari's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2010 7:13:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2010 7:13:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2010 7:13:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2010 7:13:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2010 7:13:59 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love! love! my 50D! My husband surprised me with it about a year ago and I am truly addicted to taking pictures with it. The sharpness, color, and speed are all I want from a camera and this brings professional results. It goes everywhere I go on most days.
Again, I love my 50D!
4/7/2010 7:13:59 PM
 
Kathy Wesserling
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/21/2005
Contact Kathy
Kathy's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2010 7:52:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2010 7:52:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2010 7:52:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2010 7:52:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2010 7:52:06 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Sort of a double-review. Recently moved up from Rebel XT with a battery pack to the 50D, also with a battery pack (will never shoot without one again.) The extra weight is offset by the easier 'hold' of the camera. My walk-around lens is the Canin 18-200.

The change-setting features are a bit different, but a lot easier/faster.

Shooting in RAW and manual about 99% of the time has produced some wonderful images for me. Unless you're going Pro and have a zillion dollars to spend on the 7D or the Marks, this is all you'll need.

3/22/2010 7:52:06 AM
 
Bunny Snow
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/16/2004
Contact Bunny
Bunny's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2009 3:03:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2009 3:03:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2009 3:03:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2009 3:03:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2009 3:03:21 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The only thing wrong with the 50D is it eats too many batteries. But, the Live View, which I use on occasion, has made a world of difference helping me to compose my images better than looking into the tiny viewfinder and the tiny LCD screen of the 20D. I'm even getting the hang of using my Singh-Ray GRD filters, with the help of the larger screen (and of course the preview finder).

It seems to me that this camera is sharper, although it's generally not the camera but the lenses which make for a sharper image. Perhaps, it is because we can see better, or maybe the shutter button is more sensitive. I know it often shoots before I'm ready.

This was definitely worthy of the weight for an upgrade, although I still use my 20D on a regular basis. I need to learn how to use outside the camera flash with this camera and where to set Mirror Lock. Cannot find it in the menu and cannot imagine that Canon would leave it out.

11/8/2009 3:03:21 PM
 
azadeh hayeri 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2009 12:56:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2009 12:56:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2009 12:56:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2009 12:56:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2009 12:56:55 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
the best camera I have had up to noe
the battery life is a little poor
10/22/2009 12:56:55 AM
 
Carlos R. Naya
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/31/2006
Contact Carlos
Carlos's Gallery
cnayaphotos.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2009 3:12:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2009 3:12:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2009 3:12:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2009 3:12:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2009 3:12:40 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love my 50D, I still use my 20D, however the 50D is sharper.
10/18/2009 3:12:40 PM
 
Bill Wyatt
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/17/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2009 7:12:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2009 7:12:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2009 7:12:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2009 7:12:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2009 7:12:17 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I think it is a wonderful camera, nice color and relatively low noise with fast frame rate speed. I wish they would stay at 12 mega pixels and work on noise.Don't crame ever pixel you can get on to a small chip. Forget live view, forget HD movies, give me low low noise and a better, faster more precise focusing system! At a lower price!!
7/27/2009 7:12:17 PM
 
jeff crosier
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/7/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2009 8:22:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2009 8:22:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2009 8:22:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2009 8:22:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2009 8:22:30 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I stepped up from an Xsi to the 50d and I just love this camera. It has so many features and the 15 mp allow me to crop as much as I want. I do miss the lightness of my Xsi though!
7/21/2009 8:22:30 AM
 
Rita Jane Smith
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/22/2004
ritajane-photography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2009 4:57:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2009 4:57:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2009 4:57:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2009 4:57:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2009 4:57:38 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I just love the 50D, it is a bit heavy though.. The photographs are clear and sharp. The color is fantastic.
6/4/2009 4:57:38 AM
 

10 Reviews  

Buy EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera from Amazon.com