D90 Digital SLR Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital SLR Cameras

Purple Tigers
View photos created with this camera

The D90 Digital SLR Camera

Features:

  • 12.3-megapixel DX-format CMOS imaging sensor
  • 5.8x AF-S DX Nikkor 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR lens included
  • D-Movie Mode; Cinematic 24fps HD with sound
  • 3-inch super-density 920,000-dot color LCD monitor
  • Capture images to SD/SDHC memory cards (not included)


© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


4 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Laura E. Swan
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/22/2008
Contact Laura
Laura's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2010 1:00:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2010 1:00:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2010 1:00:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2010 1:00:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2010 1:00:08 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have had my new Nikon D-90 for only one week and we are already great friends! I have so much to learn but have read so many great reviews and have seen wonderful results so far in quality that I know I would give it a 5, so I might as well do this NOW! :)

I MADE THE RIGHT CHOICE!

It bit a big hole in our pockets books, however. It was a huge leap from my High End Canon FLAT. Like going from a VW to a CADDY.

Enjoyed reading YOUR REVIEWS.

Thanks lots for adding them!

-Laura Swan

6/25/2010 1:00:08 PM
 
Kathleen K. Parker
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/30/2000
kathleenkparkerphotography.com
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2010 11:29:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2010 11:29:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2010 11:29:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2010 11:29:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2010 11:29:09 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
So far, so good. I like the "lightness" in weight of the Nikon D90. I photograph events and also the people, places, and things in New Orleans and sometimes elsewhere. If you need a camera that gives good results and is not a "heavy weight," depending also on the lens you have on it, then this is a good choice. I don't know about you, but my arms get tired after a few hours of hand held shooting! I just purchased the body as I already had the Nikkor 16-105mm lens that now is offered with it.
Finally, I have yet to shoot a video!
kk
3/7/2010 11:29:09 AM
 
Carolyn McIntosh
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/3/2008
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2009 9:04:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2009 9:04:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2009 9:04:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2009 9:04:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2009 9:04:40 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Agree with everything the first reviewer wrote except for the weight issue. By the time you add a battery pack, you have enough weight. I like how it feels in my hands. Have to admit that I have never used the movie feature and agree that you won't buy it for that feature. It is a marvelous camera and I have no intention of upgrading any time soon.
8/10/2009 9:04:40 AM
 
François Mourot
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/10/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2008 7:40:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2008 7:40:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2008 7:40:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2008 7:40:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2008 7:40:13 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
After a D100 for five years (still works as well as the first day I bought it) I am the proud owner of this D90. I am extremely satisfied.Excellent results in full auto mode, when you have no time for settings, beautiful viewfinder, excellent LCD screen enabling a sharp manual focus with liveview (macro shots especially), easily reprogrammed buttons on the camera through the easy menus...well it is very near perfect!
A great "plus": you can use all your old nikon lenses, with manual settings of course,just check the beautiful LCD to correct speed or exposure.
What could be nice? a little more weight giving more confidence in its ability to bear intensive use (I find it very light) and if Mister Nikon could give Capture NX2 with the camera, or at least offer a significant price reduction, that would be great!
Anyway, you will not be sorry if you buy it. Excellent sharpness and colours. I forgot, you can film too...though you will not choose it for that.
12/28/2008 7:40:13 AM
 

4 Reviews  

Buy D90 Digital SLR Camera from Amazon.com