BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Mavica FD-90 Digital Camera


Sony

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Alice in Wonderla...
View photos created with this camera

Features:


  • 1.3 megapixel sensor captures enough detail for photo-quality 5
    x 7 prints
  • 8x optical plus 2x digital zoom lens with autofocus
  • 3.5" floppy disk holds five images at maximum resolution;
    optional adapter stores images on Memory Stick
  • Images can be read by any PC or Mac with a 3.5 inch floppy drive
  • Rechargeable Lithium-Ion battery and AC adapter included

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


14 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3 out of 5

3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
James R  Gardner

member since: 9/5/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I like the zoom best on this camera. Sometimes the viewfinder is hard to see because of glare.
9/18/2005 5:52:47 AM
 
Brian Lobdell
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Brian
Brian's Gallery

member since: 6/7/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
The Sony Mavica series was great in the early digital days. The floppy disk feature was handy for the low-res pictures taken on this camera. I was always impressed with the macro ability for this early camera, as it still will take closer, focused shots than many of the current models with higher resolution. Some of my favorite photo-art creations were taken with this camera, and look great on a web site or desk-top. Due to the low-resolution, these do not make for good prints, however. I also was always disappointed in any scenic shots as they never seemed to have the resolution integrity that would normally be expected. But this camera was a good learning tool, as I found my way into the digital world from my Nikon 35mm standard.
6/7/2005 8:58:50 PM
 
Rachel Rocket
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Rachel
Rachel's Gallery

member since: 5/23/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
It was a good camera when it came out, but these days there aren't enough megapixels to make it a serious contender. If you want a "snapshot" camera, this might be a viable option as you can pick them up fairly cheaply now.
5/25/2005 2:06:17 PM
 
Rhonda L. Roqueta

member since: 4/18/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Excellent pictures, however due to its age, the time between shots is LOOOOOONG! Uses a memory stick that I can insert in my mouse and not have to download into computer unless I want to. Excellent Macro and have been very happy with photos. Has a large body that has a great grip for holding. Only 1.6 meg, but has 16x digital zoom and optical 8x . f=4.75-38mm 1:28@37
4/18/2005 5:44:11 PM
 
Fiona M. Randle

member since: 3/24/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Like: Very easy to use, excellent zoom capabilities for a point and shoot camera. Like to use floppy discs Don't Like: Bulky and heavy. Delay in shutter reaction
3/24/2005 5:10:51 PM
 
Cedric  W. De Paiva

member since: 11/7/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Excellent for its purposes. Very good zoom lenses. It could have manual adjustments.
11/7/2004 10:02:10 AM
 
Linda L. Meth

member since: 5/15/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I love the ability to use a floppy disk and the ease of getting it on the computer without any extra hook ups. I would to have a camera with more pixels. This camera does very well with macro picture taking.
5/15/2004 2:50:32 PM
 
Nadine Nadeau

member since: 5/9/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Does not take good action shots
5/9/2004 2:16:26 PM
 
Fran Hall

member since: 12/29/2003
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
hope to have new camera soon. Also have Cannon power shot 30. A.F. is the worst I have ever seen. Used Cannon AE 35mm for years and loved it.Have two old digital Sonys. Both A.F just fine. Wish I would have stayed with Sony!
4/7/2004 10:33:15 AM
 
STEVEN MINER

member since: 3/21/2004
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
IT'S TAKES NICE MACRO PHOTOS, IT ALWAYS WORKS, IT'S OLD, NICE FOR CAR SHOWS, I CAN TAKE PHOTOS OF SOMEONES CAR AND JUST HAND THEM THE DESK. THAT'S ABOUT IT! STEVE
3/21/2004 8:04:32 PM
 
Jagrut Raval
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/27/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
nice but very bulky and big to handle
3/20/2004 9:31:41 PM
 
Douglas Keck

member since: 2/19/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
takes good macro pics wish I had more pixels This camera sparked my interests in photography
2/25/2004 7:52:45 AM
 
Anna M. Davis

member since: 2/6/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
okay, big and bulky
2/6/2004 9:58:39 AM
 
Audra Keahiolalo

member since: 11/1/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I don't have a lot to compare it to, for I am a novice photographer.
11/1/2003 8:37:32 AM
 

14 Reviews  

Add your own review

Buy Mavica FD-90 Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.