EasyShare Z1012 IS Digital Camera


Kodak

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

THORNS ON A YOUNG...
View photos created with this camera

The EasyShare Z1012 IS Digital Camera

Features:

  • 10.1-megapixel resolution for prints up to 30 x 40 inches
  • 12x optical zoom with optical image stabilization
  • 2.5-inch LCD screen
  • Enhanced click-to-capture speed (0.14 sec) and auto-focus accuracy; Smart capture mode
  • Capture images to SD/SDHC memory cards



© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


3 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Michael R. Maddox
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/11/2007
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2009 10:48:43 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2009 10:48:43 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2009 10:48:43 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2009 10:48:43 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2009 10:48:43 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I've been in photography for about three years now, and it's been the best thing that's happened to me. However, I've felt rather confined in shooting pictures with a standard compact point-and-shoot, and felt the need to venture into using a more creative-prone camera.

The Kodak Z1012IS is a pretty good choice in that regard. It's a very sturdy camera. It's easy to handle overall, and seeing as this is my first time handling a Kodak, I was able to learn my way around it pretty quickly. The images that I've taken with this camera are pretty good overall. The quality is excellent, and the sharpness of the pictures really stand out when you upload them to the computer. The optical zoom is excellent, though the quality seems to degrade sharply between 300mm and 396mm. Something that I really like about this camera is being able to adjust the strength of the flash, though I wish that it had a sync-flash feature as do some other cameras (such as the Canon SX 110).

Unfortunately, while the camera is great for its purpose, there are several quirks that I have with it. Firstly, the Kodak line still uses the thumb-zoom feature, rather than the shutter-finger zoom that I've grown so accustomed to using with my past Olympus cameras. This would be easily reconciled if the Kodak company would make it pressure-sensitive. Secondly, Kodak definitely wasnít thinking about macro shots when they created this camera. The macro mode is rather awkward to use, as the lens doesnít do well with close-up subjects. However, this does have an upside. This forces me to venture into other forms and subjects of photography. Another rather annoying thing that Iíve noticed, though itís possible that this is with all cameras, is that when I take images using the ďmanualĒ setting, the automatic exposure thatís used in this mode constantly seems to over-darken the images when Iím trying to take indoor shots. This irritation is made worse when I realize that the spot-metering feature is perpetually useless. The center-weight works pretty well, but the spot is a waste of dead technology. Finally, the manual focus is a very nice touch, especially when the camera just refuses to get it right. However, my only irritation with this feature is that you have to use the arrow keys to center in on your preferred focus-point. It wouldíve been nice to use the scroll-wheel for this feature, as with all the others.

For the most part, the Z1012IS is very powerful for a ZLR, and is certainly worth the cost. However, its faults can ruin the deal for less-patient and less experienced photographers.

6/9/2009 10:48:43 AM
 
E and J Photography
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/7/2008
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2008 7:40:24 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2008 7:40:24 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2008 7:40:24 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2008 7:40:24 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2008 7:40:24 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Hello! This is my first Kodak camera. It is a very nice camera. Only 1 flaw that I notice. Whenever you take Macro shots, it is not good on this particular view. You need to constantly tweeking it. Other than that, the Zoom lenses are awesome for distance shots. Also, the features it has are really amazing. It is a nice camera to start with, before buying an SLR. As for the quality of the picture, thumbs up. ;O)
10/8/2008 7:40:24 AM
 
Joy E. Cobb
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/24/2005
Contact Joy
Joy's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2008 4:11:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2008 4:11:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2008 4:11:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2008 4:11:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2008 4:11:23 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is my third Kodak digital. If you have owned a Kodak, there is no learning curve...you can capture great images from Day One. I love the Panorama Stitch Mode...you just take three photos from left to right, lining them up on the edge provided, and the Z1012 IS stitches them in-camera! I'm also looking forward to using High ISO Mode to capture those difficult action shots of deer at dawn or dusk. The Flower (Macro) Mode is still excellent, and you can use the In-Camera Crop function to make your closeups even closer. 5 Stars from me...Kodak continues to improve their "point & shoots" so you can use them like DSLR's. (There is also a Manual Mode for total control.)
6/17/2008 4:11:23 AM
 

3 Reviews  

Buy EasyShare Z1012 IS Digital Camera from Amazon.com