Online Photo Course - Image Design: Revealing Your Personal Vision with Tony Sweet

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

Image Design: Revealing Your Personal Vision Photography Course
Course Instructor: © Tony Sweet
Image Design: Revealing Your Personal Vision

Learn creative compositional techniques to move your photography to the next level. Whether you're photographing trees, flowers, nature, still-life, mountains, patterns, abstract images, or any other subject, strong and simple design is the hallmark of great photography. There is no luck involved in consistently good photography. Join Nikon Legend Behind the Lens, Tony Sweet, for this inspiring 8-week course guaranteed to jump start your creativity and improve your compositional skills. Various compositional techniques will be explored and fine tuned throughout the course, designed to motivate you to create simpler, cleaner, and more compelling images.

Category: Composition Courses
Skill Level: 2 - Serious Hobbyist
Only $396 USD

Learn more about
Image Design: Revealing Your Personal Vision


42 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
John D. Roach
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/2/2010
Contact John
John's Gallery
jdroachphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2014 1:08:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2014 1:08:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2014 1:08:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2014 1:08:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2014 1:08:20 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Tony's course was great and helps one to look again at their work, their style and see differently. It also forced me to practice some things I had forgotten as well return to past work and learn little more about what worked and what didn't work and figure out why. I highly recommend Better Photo and certainly take a course with Tony. You will be rewarded with new insight.
7/16/2014 1:08:20 PM
 
G. Margaret  Hennes
Contact G. Margaret
G. Margaret 's Gallery
gmargarethennes.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2013 8:30:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2013 8:30:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2013 8:30:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2013 8:30:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2013 8:30:31 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I found myself inspired and challenged during this course. Each lesson made me really think,look critically at photo subjects and see them in a different light.
Above all I appreciated Tony's fair and constructive feedback along with suggestions for improving my images.
G. Margaret Hennes
9/15/2013 8:30:31 AM
 
Pam Baumann
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/6/2009
Contact Pam
Pam's Gallery
pambaumannphotography.com
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2013 9:55:28 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2013 9:55:28 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2013 9:55:28 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2013 9:55:28 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2013 9:55:28 AM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
As I am a huge fan of BP, this was not my first class with them, however, it was my first class with Tony Sweet. While the class content was extremely valuable, the delivery was lacking. The course content will challenge you to bring your images up a notch and step out of your comfort zone, but Tony seemed pretty disengaged from the course. He was pretty much absent from any type of discussion and got by with the mandatory critiques of weekly assignments. As compared with other BP instructors, he was not of the type to encourage any type of dialogue or offer any guidance on additional aspects of an image. He sometimes answered questions but not always. When he did, it was usually a quick one-liner and that was it. He seemed and actually mentioned a few times that he was very busy with other things - which is all fine and good - but when you're spending $400.00, it would be nice to get $400.00 worth of interaction with the instructor.
Often, his feedback or critiques were lacking in specificity and he never took the time to make any changes to a student's image in an effort to illustrate a point. This is pretty much the norm with most other instructors that I have taken classes with. Other instructors have come across enthusiastic and sincerely interested in a student's work and seemed genuinely interested in moving them to the next level. Not so much with Tony. The class and interaction with was very much on the back burner with him.
While the specific lessons were valuable, I would look at taking another course that had similar teaching points with a different instructor. While I learned a few things from the written lessons themselves, I can honestly say that I did not learn or increase my skillsets or knowledge bank from Tony's contributions. I still haven't received my final lesson critiques and the class has been over for about two weeks.

5/6/2013 9:55:28 AM
 
Steinar Kibsgaard
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/31/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2012 8:05:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2012 8:05:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2012 8:05:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2012 8:05:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2012 8:05:05 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course with Tony Sweet covers a lot, and I can recommend it.

This was my 20. course, so of course some of the stuff was repetition for me, but I still had advantage of it, because some of the teachings in the lessons was "special" = Tony Sweets approach, and this approach is worth getting.

And also because Tony Sweets critique was always honest and spot on,

4/25/2012 8:05:05 AM
 
Josh A. Friedman
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/3/2010
joshfriedmanphoto.com
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2010 7:48:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2010 7:48:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2010 7:48:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2010 7:48:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2010 7:48:55 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
There were good & not-so-good aspects of this course. Tony is an extremely talented photographer. His lessons & assignments were thought-provoking, & very useful. However, his feedback was very sparse & it often lacked specificity (at times it was clear that he had cut-and-pasted feedback from one student to another). Other instructors gave both longer, more specific, & more constuctive feedback. In fact, other instructors periodically took a student's photo & made changes to illustrate their feedback -- to my knowledge, Tony did not do this at all. Also, responses in Q&A tended to feel very rushed. All of that said, I thought the course was good, but it could have been better.
8/20/2010 7:48:55 AM
 
Anna Marie Senita 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2010 7:35:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2010 7:35:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2010 7:35:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2010 7:35:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2010 7:35:38 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was an excellent course. It helped me to understand why an image has impact and how to achieve that in mine. I began to see the concepts in other people's images as well as seeing before I took my own images.
5/19/2010 7:35:38 AM
 
Peter Lind
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/1/2007
palindphotography.com
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2010 3:39:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2010 3:39:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2010 3:39:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2010 3:39:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2010 3:39:37 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
While doing this course, I found it helped changing were I took my shots so as to add that something little that really helped improve my shots. The comments on my shots were very insightful and helpful.

Further when looking at the masters or great shots, I started to see how there had incorporated these same steps and how I may take similar shots.

It is a hard course but nothing is gained without effect. I highly recommend this course.

5/12/2010 3:39:37 PM
 
Dick Beery
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/11/2009
3oaks-photography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2009 3:14:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2009 3:14:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2009 3:14:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2009 3:14:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2009 3:14:50 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I really enjoyed the lessons and even though I had read or heard about most of the topics, it was a challenge to put them into practice. Tony's comments were concise and to the point and always gave suggestions for ways to improve.
9/3/2009 3:14:50 PM
 
Jerry Jelinek
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/15/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2009 1:32:19 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2009 1:32:19 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2009 1:32:19 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2009 1:32:19 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2009 1:32:19 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
The class was informative and challenged me to get out and try new things. That is the positive and very much needed by myself to get out of my 'comfort' zone.

But I found Tony to be very lax in keeping a dialog going with students. He always answered questions when I asked them, but it always seemed rushed.

He never really tried to engage the students in any dialog to keep them moving forward. I always felt that it was a bit of a burden on him to really do much with the class.

3/11/2009 1:32:19 PM
 
Chellie L. Hyre
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/1/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2009 6:22:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2009 6:22:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2009 6:22:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2009 6:22:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2009 6:22:34 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a great class for learning to look at photo subjects in a whole different way - as designs rather than snapshots. Each lesson was challenging, and Tony's critiques were honest and fair. I especially appreciate the effort he put into explaining how each picture could have been improved.
1/7/2009 6:22:34 PM
 
Kate Cowan
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/15/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2008 2:11:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2008 2:11:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2008 2:11:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2008 2:11:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2008 2:11:24 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I learned a lot on Tony's course. I am beginning to see more possibilities in my image making and am much more aware of what adds impact in an image. The other members images were inspirational too and Tony's feedback was concise and experienced.
12/3/2008 2:11:24 PM
 
Robert C. Garrigus
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/30/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2008 11:05:35 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2008 11:05:35 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2008 11:05:35 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2008 11:05:35 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2008 11:05:35 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Tony Sweet's course was a good one. The only thing keeping it from being in the "best" category was the uniqueness of the instruction as compared to the two previous composition courses I have taken with BP. Much of the same content was covered in Jennifer Wu and William Neill's courses. I still learned lots and enjoyed getting very useful feedback from Tony.

Cheers!

Bob G.

12/3/2008 11:05:35 AM
 
Wendy A. Moreland
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/27/2008
wendy-moreland-photography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2008 5:51:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2008 5:51:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2008 5:51:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2008 5:51:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2008 5:51:57 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course was instrumental for me in shifting my thinking from "taking a picture" to "designing" a picture. The lessons were thoughtful, challenging, and also thought-provoking. I felt very fortunate to also have the added advantage of critiques from Tony which were straightforward and so very helpful and educational. In addition, exposure to Tony's experience to help guide the fledgling photographer was great. Very worthwhile course, I am sure I will use the concepts constantly from now on.
11/6/2008 5:51:57 PM
 
joy hockman 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2008 2:01:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2008 2:01:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2008 2:01:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2008 2:01:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2008 2:01:50 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I got so much out of this course. I've learned to be more careful about details. Scenics (compared to close-ups) have been difficult for me and now I'm beginning to have a way to organize what I'm seeing in order to make a more evocative picture.
And the criticism that some of my pictures where not sharp enough made me pay more attention to when I can use f.22
Thanks
10/13/2008 2:01:50 PM
 
Audrey Stulberger
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/3/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2008 9:26:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2008 9:26:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2008 9:26:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2008 9:26:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2008 9:26:27 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I think this is a wonderful class. Tony Sweet is a generous and knowledgeable teacher. His insights helped me see things differently and try things in a new way-always a good thing.
10/9/2008 9:26:27 AM
 
Ervin Vice 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2008 11:27:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2008 11:27:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2008 11:27:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2008 11:27:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2008 11:27:20 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The Image Design course taught by Tony Sweet gave me a new visual vocabulary and an expanded recipe book for making interesting images. Each weekly lesson was clear, with instructive examples, while allowing the student a lot of flexibility in terms of subject matter. Even if my photographic interests evolve and change over the years, what I've learned in this course will always be valuable.
7/4/2008 11:27:20 AM
 
Hannah E. Vorhes
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/3/2007
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2008 3:11:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2008 3:11:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2008 3:11:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2008 3:11:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2008 3:11:06 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very good- challenging, but leaves a LOT of room for personalizing the photos you shoot and a lot of room for opportunity. I really enjoyed this class.
6/8/2008 3:11:06 PM
 
Edith Clifford 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2008 3:27:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2008 3:27:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2008 3:27:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2008 3:27:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2008 3:27:26 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
See my full review in the Q and A section of the class
Edith Clifford
5/8/2008 3:27:26 PM
 
Roger Mitchell
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/9/2007
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2007 2:11:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2007 2:11:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2007 2:11:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2007 2:11:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2007 2:11:35 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
If the bottom line is, “Did I learn anything and will I use it in my future photography?” then the answer is, definitely, “Yes”. In my opinion, however, it wasn’t as easy as it should have been. Tony’s lessons are minimal on instruction. Rather than explaining things, he tends to rely on our ability to look at example images he has made and deduce what he’s talking about and, more importantly, how to do it. That’s somewhat difficult when trying to understand how to achieve the concepts of flow, rhythm, balance, etc. Abstract terms are difficult to describe but I’d have appreciated a more detailed attempt from Tony. Tony’s critiques of our assignments were also generally minimalistic; frequently just a single sentence. I would have preferred more in depth discussion of our images and more details on how they could be improved or alternatives that might have been explored.

Tony is an excellent photographer and I believe he sincerely tries to share his skills with us. As I said, I learned much and I’m already using it in my images, however I feel I could have learned much more with additional detail in the lessons and critiques.

6/10/2007 2:11:35 PM
 
Chuck Inglefield
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/7/2004
chuckinglefield.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2007 11:51:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2007 11:51:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2007 11:51:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2007 11:51:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2007 11:51:38 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Easily one of the best of the 8 BP courses I have taken. Tony's feedback is thoughtful and constructive. His lessons are abstract enough to encompass more than just nature/landscape photography. Being in an urban setting, I found this valuable. I highly recommend this class.
3/13/2007 11:51:38 AM
 
Susan Feulner
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/4/2005
Contact Susan
Susan's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2007 10:58:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2007 10:58:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2007 10:58:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2007 10:58:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2007 10:58:23 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
After experiencing a class where the reviews were not on time I really appreciated having such quick turnaround. The class was excellent and Tony's comments were right to the point. The only quarrel I had is not knowing why an excellent review from him did not necessarily mean a photo was a picture of the week.
3/11/2007 10:58:23 AM
 
Michael Garth
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/21/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2006 8:46:28 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2006 8:46:28 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2006 8:46:28 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2006 8:46:28 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2006 8:46:28 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The course was excellent. The lesson plans were well thought out and clear. Some of the assigments deal with a more abstract approach to the subject which is good. This is what leads to a more personal, creative design. Tony was prompt in his critiques as wells as to questions posed in the Q and A section. This course was well worth it (my time and my money). I can only hope that Tony develops another course focusing on design and/or creativity since I have now taken the two he offers. When he does, I will be first in line. Thanks
~mike
12/9/2006 8:46:28 AM
 
Meline Pickus 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2006 7:30:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2006 7:30:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2006 7:30:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2006 7:30:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2006 7:30:33 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Tony's class has really helped me focus on what is important for good photography. It helped me clarify My thoughts about composition and organize my ideas when framing a scene.
11/24/2006 7:30:33 AM
 
Irina Kotikova
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/3/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2006 7:18:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2006 7:18:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2006 7:18:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2006 7:18:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2006 7:18:23 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
It's one of the best classes I took at betterphoto. It seems impossible to teach creativity but Tony helps you to see your own. Each class you concentrate on a single clean design idea and that idea sticks in your mind. Plus Tony's critiques are always straight to the point, helping you improve after each lesson.
9/13/2006 7:18:23 AM
 
Douglas J. Eng
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/14/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 8:10:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 8:10:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 8:10:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 8:10:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2006 8:10:56 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was my second class with Tony. If you want to see what an incredible photographer he is, check his website. You won’t be shooting like him after this class, but you will be able to understand what goes into a great photograph, and how to build your own critiquing capabilities. You will also find Tony very helpful on answering QA questions and private emails. I was once told that if you are going to take a course, learn from the best. Tony is one of the best around.
9/11/2006 8:10:56 PM
 
Allen H. Gutheim 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2006 12:53:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2006 12:53:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2006 12:53:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2006 12:53:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2006 12:53:02 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
A really helpful class that left me with a new set of skills I can develop further and use in future photography. The course was well-paced, so that each week developed new skills that built on the prior lessons. Finally I understand why some photos are enviable, while others are only ordinary. Thanks Tony!
5/31/2006 12:53:02 PM
 
John Christiansen 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 3:50:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 3:50:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 3:50:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 3:50:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2005 3:50:55 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I thought this was an awesome class! It really gives me something solid to build on. Tony provided great feedback on my photos. He has helped clear up some personal confusion that I have struggled with in my compositions. Thanks you Tony, and I look forward to my next class!! I am really glad I stubled onto BetterPhoto.com!! I will definately be a repeat customer!! Now if I can only find more time in the day...
Thank You, John C.
12/9/2005 3:50:55 PM
 
John St. Pierre 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 4:10:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 4:10:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 4:10:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 4:10:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 4:10:45 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This has been my first online course. I learned more from this course than I had expected. Tony has a unique perspective on some of the elements of design that I had not seen anywhere before. I have taken workshops with other photographers and they were very good. However, I found that the 8 week length of this course allowed me more time to work on a specific task. Weekend or week long workshops do not allow for such development. Being able to see what other photographers have done and then seeing the critique in writing has been very instructional. I would recommend this course to anyone who wants to learn some new skills.
12/8/2005 4:10:45 PM
 
albert a. caporaso
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/17/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 9:24:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 9:24:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 9:24:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 9:24:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 9:24:25 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was my second Better Photo course. It was very good. It complemented my first course about light. Tony's instructions and critques are low keyed but right on target. While he doesn't discourage being spontaneous, he makes me think a lot more before I pull the trigger. I like his philosophy of clean and simple designs. And I liked his specific instructions on how to get it. I will go over his lessons many times to try to keep improving my skill.
Al Caporaso
12/7/2005 9:24:25 AM
 
Eileen Kennedy 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 5:08:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 5:08:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 5:08:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 5:08:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 5:08:41 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I really learned a lot from this course, and Tony was a great instructor. His critiques were always constructive and to the point. I think the strongest aspect of the course is his ability to articulate and illustrate very abstract concepts in ways that help us think about and organize our own composition. I have taken in person workshops, but they did not help me learn why a given composition works or does not work in the way this course did.
12/7/2005 5:08:41 AM
 
Marie Mans
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/30/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2005 11:02:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2005 11:02:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2005 11:02:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2005 11:02:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2005 11:02:31 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Tony’s lessons go beyond the usual “don’t put it in the middle” advice. He helped me to see more clearly how different features in the frame relate to make a successful photograph. I learned to see my slides, my favorite images, even TV with different eyes.

Tony’s critiques, detailing corrective actions, combine into a virtual “How To” book.

I think I'll play with these eight lessons for the next ten months – then join Tony’s Class again next fall to see what I have learned.

It couldn’t have been better.

Marie Mans

12/6/2005 11:02:31 AM
 
Bill  Prosser
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/18/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2005 11:26:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2005 11:26:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2005 11:26:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2005 11:26:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2005 11:26:13 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this course. It encouraged me to go out and look for new ways to make photographic images. Tony is an excellent photographer and teacher. I found his comments on students images to thoughtful and useful to our improvement; as were his answers to our questons. His lessons gave exellent photographic examples of what he was teaching that lesson. His discussion of his images and how they were achieved were quite useful to my understanding. I felt, however, that he might have given slightly more explanation of some of the visual design concepts, like rhythm, balance, and mood.
9/14/2005 11:26:13 AM
 
Charles J. Cangialosi 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2005 10:03:38 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2005 10:03:38 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2005 10:03:38 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2005 10:03:38 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2005 10:03:38 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Tony's 30-second, one-line critiques would be adequate if they were delivered in a timely fashion. Unfortunately, Tony spends most of his time out in the field running his own workshops or on assignment. As a result, there is a minimum of a 1 to 2 week delay between class submission and his critique. In fact, at one point, we received a new assignment, but had not received feedback on the two previous ones! Considering it is only an 8-week course, this destroys momentum, especially when the classes are supposed to build on each other. If it wasn't for the class feedback, there would be no activity while Tony is away on assignment. Buy his DVD instead.
6/6/2005 10:03:38 AM
 
Gretchen S. Kolsrud 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2005 8:05:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2005 8:05:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2005 8:05:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2005 8:05:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2005 8:05:48 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a fascinating course with highly interactive classmates, most of whom are very good photographers. Tony is a superb teacher-- highly responsive, to the point, helping and supportive.
2/10/2005 8:05:48 AM
 
Patricia A. Drake 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2004 9:16:02 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2004 9:16:02 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2004 9:16:02 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2004 9:16:02 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2004 9:16:02 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Tony, thank you for the positives and the helpful critiques. I am learning so much from this class. I am excited again about photography.
11/1/2004 9:16:02 AM
 
Wanda Judd
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/2/2003
wandajudd.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2004 1:44:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2004 1:44:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2004 1:44:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2004 1:44:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2004 1:44:33 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks Tony, You are an amazing photographer and an equally amazing
instructor...your attention to detail is only superceded by the gracious way you point out that I haven't paid attention to detail...I have learned so much from your kind and gentle critiques....and Thanks to my fellow classmates, what awesome photographers.
9/16/2004 1:44:33 PM
 
Margie Willensky 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2004 5:23:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2004 5:23:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2004 5:23:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2004 5:23:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2004 5:23:49 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I'd like to take this opportunity to thank you for the experience of your
course. I appreciate the structure you provided and the descriptions of each assignment were excellent. I especially liked the examples and your description/commentary on the images.

This is my first on-line course
experience, and I thought that you communicated very insightfully and in a manner that really helped me to see the images differently. In fact, the ability to go back and re-read comments on my own or other people's images turned out to be reinforcing and would not be possible in a live class environment! You really helped me to see differently.

You are really an excellent teacher!

3/16/2004 5:23:49 PM
 
Shawn M. Knox
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/19/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2004 8:16:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2004 8:16:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2004 8:16:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2004 8:16:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2004 8:16:29 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks for the advice... This has been a really great course!
3/11/2004 8:16:29 PM
 
James L. Peacock 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:47:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:47:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:47:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:47:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:47:01 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Hi Tony, I really enjoyed this class. You are an excellent instructor and I feel like I learned alot from the class.
1/4/2004 12:47:01 AM
 
Leonid Strizhevskiy 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:46:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:46:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:46:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:46:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:46:06 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I feel that Tony is doing a good job as a teacher. He always finds precise words. He is able and eager to give a lot to his students
1/4/2004 12:46:06 AM
 
Ed Gauci 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:45:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:45:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:45:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:45:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:45:09 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I was really pleased with the Image Design course and I feel I learned a lot.
1/4/2004 12:45:09 AM
 
Lea A. Mulqueen 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:44:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:44:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:44:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:44:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 12:44:12 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I just want you to know how much I've enjoyed Tony Sweet's Course. Although much of what was taught in the course was stuff I already knew, he helped me pull it together, make sense of it and USE it! I've always felt composition was my weakest point but with Tony's help, I think I have greatly improved in this area. His lessons are easy to understand and fun. His critiques are kind, but helpful. He answers questions quickly and honestly. I would recommend this course to anyone who has a working knowledge of their equipment and would seriously like to improve their photography.

I love this class. Tony is doing a great job. His lessons are really helping me to see better photographically!

I was feeling like I had lost my way... photographically speaking! [Tony's] course is helping me get back on track...

1/4/2004 12:44:12 AM
 

42 Reviews  


Enroll

Add to Wishlist