BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Camedia C-3020Z Digital Camera


Olympus

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control


View photos created with this camera

The Camedia C-3020Z Digital Camera

Features:


  • 3.3 megapixel sensor captures enough detail to create prints up
    to 11 x 14
  • 3x optical plus 2.5x digital zoom lens with autofocus
  • Included 16 MB SmartMedia card holds 40 images at default
    resolution
  • Connects to Macs and PCs via USB port
  • Uses 4 AA or 2 disposable lithium batteries (4 AA alkalines
    included)

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


40 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Nancy 

member since: 6/5/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Easy to learn, clear pictures. Don't like the delay after pressing the shoot button.
6/5/2006 10:28:13 AM
 
Cory C. Battler

member since: 4/22/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Not a bad little Camera Would love a SLR
4/23/2006 5:28:48 PM
 
Agnes Linder

member since: 4/18/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
very user friendly
4/18/2006 7:42:46 AM
 
Marcus W. OConnor

member since: 3/29/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
This is my first camera entry into the digital world. It certainly has taken some really good photos, but it slow to focus at times and the zoom is also slow.
4/5/2006 5:56:19 PM
 
Timothy N. Valdez

member since: 1/22/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This camera is easy to use and the functions are pretty self explanatory. It is limited in that you can't change lenses and you must have very well lit areas for most shots. Unfortunately this model does not provide any way to clean the sensor so if you get dust on it you have to edit every single photo you take.
1/22/2006 11:19:49 PM
 
Jill E. Curnutt-Howerton
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/20/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I do like the quality of the pictures this camera takes vs. film. I have had some time adjusting to this vs. manual camera, and digital vs film. but all in all, I am glad I went digital.
1/20/2006 1:14:56 PM
 
Daniel Harwell

member since: 11/3/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
At this point, the Olympus C-3020Z is outdated. Only 3.2 Megapixels, takes Smartmedia memory that exists only in sizes of up to 128 Mb. No external flash options, no remote. But on the other hand, I've been very happy with its performance. Colors represent well and it is easy to use. If you need an easy point-and-shoot camera, this will fill the bill.
1/17/2006 6:21:19 PM
 
xxxxx 
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/25/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great colours, resolution, sharpness, .jpg quality The only problem is that very bright portions turn to white
12/25/2005 12:50:02 PM
 
Lauren  Wojtkowski

member since: 7/2/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I am an ametuer photographer. This is my second digital camera, several years old. Takes OK pictures. Zoom is moderate. Camera works best for details in close range photos. Can overexpose pictures with flash. Night scene option impossible to use by hand, must use tripod or flat surface w/ timer. Effect is good when it works. Fill flash seems to overexpose, rather than help. Best pictures are in super high resolution mode. Sometimes I get better pictures with this than my point and shoot or SLR, but not the norm. Next digital camera will be an SLR.
7/2/2005 7:31:14 PM
 
Jon F. Boldebuck

member since: 7/4/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I enjoy my C3020 for its easy of use and overall quality of the pictures for a point and shoot camera.
6/27/2005 6:23:33 PM
 
Susan 
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/8/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is the first digital camera I have owned and I like that it is fairly simple to use. I am hoping to learn more about it and eventually move up to a more involved camera, but right now I am just having fun taking pictures!
6/8/2005 8:53:39 PM
 
Trudi Niverth

member since: 5/25/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
It's the first digital camera I've ever had and I love it. But I cannot compare it to any other camera. It's what I need for my purposes.
5/26/2005 12:48:50 PM
 
Sasa Hounda

member since: 5/19/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
well, its a good model but it has lots of noise when taking picture in the dark, with no flash and zooming another problem i have is that at the bright parts of the picture it gives high contrast. This is annoying when the photo is meant to be used for printing, because the white areas are burned But although it is only 3.2 megapixels it takes pretty good pictures at the size of 17,5x25cm
5/22/2005 11:55:51 PM
 
Cj Jehner

member since: 5/4/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
easy to use with many options for an amature
5/4/2005 3:43:09 AM
 
Catherine A. Emery

member since: 4/26/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is a great camera for the price. Takes great photos and is very user friendly. Has the ability to set up your own defaults. The next step up would be a digital SLR but they are still out of my price range.
4/26/2005 2:43:19 PM
 
Kelley m. Tomlinson

member since: 3/9/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
it is nice for a mid range digital camera.
1/12/2005 11:28:23 AM
 
Kimberly J. Whipps
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/10/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Most difficult - delay! Press the shutter button and get the shot 3 seconds later...I have miss a lot of great expressions because of this delay. However, I really like seeing what I am shooting in the display, before I snap. I wish my newer SLR had this feature.
1/10/2005 10:29:42 PM
 
Tammy Flynn

member since: 10/29/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It's a great starter camera. I received it as a gift. I would of picked something with more manual controls.
11/30/2004 8:38:28 PM
 
Jim Liner

member since: 9/3/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
It's a nice camera... takes great pictures but real quirky in lower light. Macro is, to me, not as good as my last SLR - a Pentax K1000 - and the write time is way too slow for my tastes. I would also prefer a conventional manual focus/zoom. It's second Olympus digital. Maybe someday, I can get a real camera.
9/3/2004 8:36:03 AM
 
Andrea Jawor

member since: 5/29/2004
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
ok for a starter
7/5/2004 2:45:16 PM
 
Cynthia A. Gallo Callan
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/29/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have taken some awesome photos with this camera. Love the Macro feature. I understand the new C5000 rocks. I would like to get something with more megapixels so that I could enlarge photos bigger than 11x14.
6/29/2004 8:33:59 PM
 
Shannon Firehammer

member since: 6/22/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This takes the best pictures of my plants and nature it is cool
6/22/2004 1:22:10 PM
 
Wendy Louise Hildebrand

member since: 6/13/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
excellent camera, really makes an amature look like a professional
6/14/2004 1:22:52 PM
 
Lawrence W. Stolte

member since: 3/31/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Not the easiest to use in all light situations and the optical zoom is to small ... but overall it does well for me
3/31/2004 2:19:25 PM
 
Barbara J. Woods

member since: 3/31/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I do not like the delay when trying to take an action photo. I always seem to get the "moment after" shot.
3/31/2004 7:06:38 AM
 
Barbara J. Woods

member since: 3/31/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I do not like the delay when trying to take an action photo. I always seem to get the "moment after" shot.
3/31/2004 7:04:40 AM
 
Joan E. Alvarez

member since: 6/22/2003
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
not enough zoom, pictures very clear
3/29/2004 5:53:43 PM
 
JAMES A. SHAW

member since: 2/23/2004
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
GOOD CAMERA FOR A MODERATE PRICE
2/23/2004 12:50:16 PM
 
Jennifer Balll

member since: 2/15/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love the macro on it, but I have been unable to get any good photos shooting at night
2/15/2004 1:46:51 PM
 
VERN E. WAHLBERG
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/9/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
LOVE THIS CAMERA LOTS OF SETTINGS TO EXPLORE. ALSO ACCEPTS ADD ON LENS..GREAT PRICE FOR WHAT YOU CAN DO .GREAT FIRST DIGITAL CAMERA
2/10/2004 7:14:50 AM
 
Victoria N. Anderson

member since: 2/5/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I think this is a great camera for someone anxious to learn. It has enough functionality combined with ease of use for me to be able to use it for quite some time.
2/5/2004 2:57:25 PM
 
Chad G. Dixon

member since: 1/25/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
It is just a sound camera!
1/25/2004 8:57:28 PM
 
Debbie M. Thibodeaux

member since: 1/10/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I can take as many pictures and delete what I don't like. I can save on cd rom or print the pictures I want to frame. I like the idea I can email pictures. This is my first Digital camera and I would not go back to my Nikon 35mm camera. It's just a lot of fun and I like taking pitures and not worrying if I take a good or bad picture. I love to have fun with family, friends, anumals and nature. We also travel a great deal (cruise ships, motor coach & air)so I have the opportuntiy to vist many places & countries.
1/10/2004 10:30:52 AM
 
Bruno Arnold

member since: 12/28/2003
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
For the Olympus Camedia C-3020 zoom, I think it is an average camera since it requires too much time from the moment you fully press the shutter release button from the moment it takes the shoot. Also, a little bit of chromatic aberations, the tripod mount is not align with the lens, the cover HAS to be removed before turning the camera ON, or else it will block the lens'extention... Great LCD screen though, good ease of use (not complex menus), but the "zoom motor" could be faster. Well, I have to admit I am looking to buy a Sony F-828 soon...
12/28/2003 7:20:18 PM
 
Roxanne Herres

member since: 11/18/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love my camera! It takes great close ups. Also it can be used as a manual camera or set everything on auto.
11/18/2003 7:25:16 AM
 
Paul Illes

member since: 10/23/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The only thing that bothers me is the delay in the shutter and the time for recording high resolution images, but that's common for cameras in this price range. Otherwise I am enjoying it immensely and even making a little money with it.
10/23/2003 7:25:34 PM
 
Jessica R. Williams

member since: 10/12/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love the options and the ease of use, but hate that it eats batteries very quickly.
10/12/2003 2:26:43 PM
 
Amanda C. Guthrie
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/5/2003
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
this camera is a good intro from digital point and shoot to semi full control.
I dislike the control over the focus and the small pixal rate.
For Macro Photography it fares well.
it's small thread size can sometimes make finding lenses/ filters hard.
7/9/2003 1:24:30 PM
 
Kathleen Brown

member since: 4/7/2008
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I like the immediate feedback of digital, and I like that this camera gives me control of the settings. However, I dislike the shutter lag. I've missed a lot of shots because of this. I tend to use my SLR for any shots of action or kids because I always miss the shot with this camera.
7/8/2003 8:09:01 AM
 
Paul Slate

member since: 9/4/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera! It is one of the best camera's I have had the pleaser to work with.
The color,contrast and quality of the picture's are true and clear.
The only thing I do not like about the camera is that it has a very slow reaction time.
I.e. between the time you push the button, and the time it takes the picture.
other than that the camera is great!
11/17/2002 8:56:34 AM
 

40 Reviews  

Add your own review

Buy Camedia C-3020Z Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.