Camedia D-490Z (C990Z) Digital Camera


Olympus

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

ITALIAN ART-VEGAS...
View photos created with this camera

Allows you to directly control aperture but not shutter speed.

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


26 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Colleen M. Gmys 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2007 3:30:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2007 3:30:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2007 3:30:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2007 3:30:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2007 3:30:02 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Although the camera if about 7 years old, it still functions well. I like that the menu allows you to view pictures without needing to turn the lens on. You do not need to have the LCD on to take pictures which saves on the battery life. With the LCD on, if you need to move the camera from side to side to find your subject, the image is more instantaneous.
10/7/2007 3:30:02 PM
 
DICK SELF
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/10/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 6:59:00 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 6:59:00 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 6:59:00 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 6:59:00 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 6:59:00 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
EASY TO LEARN AND USE HAD IT FOR 4 YEARS AND HAVE REPLACE IT W/OLYMPUS SP500UZ WHICH I REALLY LIKE!
1/11/2006 6:59:00 AM
 
DICK SELF
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/10/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 6:57:33 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 6:57:33 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 6:57:33 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 6:57:33 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 6:57:33 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
EASY TO LEARN AND USE HAD IT FOR 4 YEARS AND HAVE REPLACE IT W/OLYMPUS SP500UZ WHICH I REALLY LIKE!
1/11/2006 6:57:33 AM
 
Dave  4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2006 2:10:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2006 2:10:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2006 2:10:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2006 2:10:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2006 2:10:33 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good sturdy camera that I can take (in its protective waterproof case) hiking, canyoneering, rock climbing, etc.
1/8/2006 2:10:33 PM
 
Shelli 
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/19/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2005 9:15:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2005 9:15:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2005 9:15:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2005 9:15:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2005 9:15:02 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Takes good pictures, very little red eye problems, doesn't hold that many in memory (for what I have).
12/19/2005 9:15:02 PM
 
Donna Mihelich
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/7/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2005 5:33:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2005 5:33:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2005 5:33:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2005 5:33:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2005 5:33:19 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is a good overall workhorse of a camera. I purchased it in 2000 knowing nothing about digital photograph. I was never able to take a good photo because of my eyes and the lcd was the perfect solution for me. I have taken hundreds of photos over the yeara and now want to become even more skilled in photography.
11/17/2005 5:33:19 PM
 
Janet E. Backhaus
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/18/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 12:50:49 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 12:50:49 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 12:50:49 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 12:50:49 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 12:50:49 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love it...very clear pictures. Easy to use, nice and compact to carry.
8/29/2005 12:50:49 PM
 
K.C. Erredge 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2005 12:30:08 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2005 12:30:08 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2005 12:30:08 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2005 12:30:08 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2005 12:30:08 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
For only having 2.1 megapixels, this camera takes relatively good pictures.
8/25/2005 12:30:08 PM
 
Leonard Glick 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2005 10:49:15 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2005 10:49:15 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2005 10:49:15 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2005 10:49:15 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2005 10:49:15 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
compact and easy to use. could use a better zoom
8/10/2005 10:49:15 AM
 
d Coscia
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/23/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 8:52:58 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 8:52:58 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 8:52:58 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 8:52:58 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 8:52:58 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
The Olympus D490 was my first digital camera and the ease of use made it a joy to use. What I liked about it was the option of using the lcd screen to take pics. and what I didn't like about it was nothing at the time. However after becoming more familar with other cameras I don't like the limitations for iso settings and not being able to set my own f/stop. All in all it was a great first camera to learn with.
7/26/2005 8:52:58 PM
 
Vince C 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2005 11:22:32 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2005 11:22:32 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2005 11:22:32 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2005 11:22:32 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2005 11:22:32 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I actually found this website while shopping for cameras. The Olympus is very reliable and takes good pictures for a 2mp camera but is outdated and lacks features so I am shopping for a new digital camera that I can grow into. I am considering the Panasonic DMC-FZ5.
7/22/2005 11:22:32 AM
 
Debora StPhillips 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2005 5:34:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2005 5:34:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2005 5:34:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2005 5:34:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2005 5:34:39 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Takes nice pictures for someone that is not to serious about photography, but just wants good family pictures.
7/19/2005 5:34:39 AM
 
Karene Millar 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2004 4:02:29 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2004 4:02:29 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2004 4:02:29 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2004 4:02:29 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2004 4:02:29 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Love the color accuracy, but the shutter is very slow.
10/27/2004 4:02:29 PM
 
Jeff Sullivan
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/29/2004
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2004 10:07:19 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2004 10:07:19 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2004 10:07:19 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2004 10:07:19 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2004 10:07:19 AM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
It was nice to get 2Mpixels resolution in early 2001 when we bought this camera, but its quality is no better than film "point and shoot" cameras. Pictures taken with this camera are rarely of high quality, but the convenience of digital photos, the ability to take many photos and select only the best for printing, enables capturing some precious moments.
7/30/2004 10:07:19 AM
 
Sharon  Day
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/27/2004
Contact Sharon
Sharon 's Gallery
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2004 7:18:50 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2004 7:18:50 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2004 7:18:50 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2004 7:18:50 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2004 7:18:50 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
The Olympus D-490Z does a fairly good job on people and close-ups. It doesn't do very well with landscape photography.
7/6/2004 7:18:50 AM
 
MICHAEL R. McQUEEN 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2004 12:43:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2004 12:43:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2004 12:43:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2004 12:43:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2004 12:43:00 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
did not know anything about digital photography. it is simple to use and when i bout it i think 3 mp was the top but for 2.1 mp i could not be more pleased. i have not bought film or paid for development in over 5 years. the camer has more than paid for itself. i may be an amateur bubt it sure makes me look good and if not i just delete and start over.
6/27/2004 12:43:00 PM
 
Steve Strope 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 8:53:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 8:53:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 8:53:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 8:53:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 8:53:40 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This was a GREAT point and shoot camera. It gave me plenty of great shots, and lots of practice. I used it for 3 years and never had any problems. I have recommended Olympus to other's based on this camera.
6/25/2004 8:53:40 PM
 
Alan F. E. Thiese 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2004 7:33:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2004 7:33:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2004 7:33:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2004 7:33:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2004 7:33:06 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I had just obtained a computer when I purchased this camera. At the time it was a very adequate camera. Now that time has passed I am considering a camera that will allow me to obtain enlargements in the 11X14 inch range. My current camera has served me well; however as I now desire larger images I know that soon I must upgrade. Thanks for the opportunity to submit this evaluation.
5/13/2004 7:33:06 AM
 
Latief Askari
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/11/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2004 10:55:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2004 10:55:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2004 10:55:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2004 10:55:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2004 10:55:02 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
nice one.
5/2/2004 10:55:02 PM
 
Swami Gurupremananda
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/1/2004
Contact Swami
Swami's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2004 1:38:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2004 1:38:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2004 1:38:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2004 1:38:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2004 1:38:45 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
What I like about the Olympus D-490Z camera: I like a camera that weighs less, this one is only 318 gms. For 2Mp it takes good pictures.
4/2/2004 1:38:45 PM
 
Mike  4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2004 11:50:52 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2004 11:50:52 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2004 11:50:52 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2004 11:50:52 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2004 11:50:52 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Easy to use,small fits in your pocket. Slow to download
2/13/2004 11:50:52 AM
 
Ed Darby 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2003 5:47:08 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2003 5:47:08 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2003 5:47:08 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2003 5:47:08 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2003 5:47:08 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
For me, it works! First digital, had a chance to use one belonging to a friend. We travel a lot, is small, light weight, easy to use.
11/5/2003 5:47:08 PM
 
Edie Allen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/31/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2003 5:54:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2003 5:54:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2003 5:54:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2003 5:54:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2003 5:54:26 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I enjoy this camera--found it to be easy to use. The quality of the photos is exceptional.
10/31/2003 5:54:26 PM
 
Cole Bremer 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2003 6:49:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2003 6:49:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2003 6:49:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2003 6:49:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2003 6:49:22 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It was a gift from the family. I really like it.
9/6/2003 6:49:22 PM
 
Cole Bremer 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2003 6:47:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2003 6:47:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2003 6:47:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2003 6:47:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2003 6:47:55 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It was a gift from the family. I really like it.
9/6/2003 6:47:55 PM
 
Michael D. Streeter 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2003 12:17:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2003 12:17:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2003 12:17:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2003 12:17:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2003 12:17:04 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
very good little camera.
8/12/2003 12:17:04 PM
 

26 Reviews