Camedia D-490Z (C990Z) Digital Camera


Olympus

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

into the mountain
View photos created with this camera

Allows you to directly control aperture but not shutter speed.

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 26 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Colleen M. Gmys 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2007 3:30:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2007 3:30:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2007 3:30:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2007 3:30:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2007 3:30:02 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Although the camera if about 7 years old, it still functions well. I like that the menu allows you to view pictures without needing to turn the lens on. You do not need to have the LCD on to take pictures which saves on the battery life. With the LCD on, if you need to move the camera from side to side to find your subject, the image is more instantaneous.
10/7/2007 3:30:02 PM
 
DICK SELF
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/10/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 6:59:00 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 6:59:00 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 6:59:00 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 6:59:00 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 6:59:00 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
EASY TO LEARN AND USE HAD IT FOR 4 YEARS AND HAVE REPLACE IT W/OLYMPUS SP500UZ WHICH I REALLY LIKE!
1/11/2006 6:59:00 AM
 
DICK SELF
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/10/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 6:57:33 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 6:57:33 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 6:57:33 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 6:57:33 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 6:57:33 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
EASY TO LEARN AND USE HAD IT FOR 4 YEARS AND HAVE REPLACE IT W/OLYMPUS SP500UZ WHICH I REALLY LIKE!
1/11/2006 6:57:33 AM
 
Dave  4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2006 2:10:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2006 2:10:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2006 2:10:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2006 2:10:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2006 2:10:33 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good sturdy camera that I can take (in its protective waterproof case) hiking, canyoneering, rock climbing, etc.
1/8/2006 2:10:33 PM
 
Shelli 
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/19/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2005 9:15:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2005 9:15:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2005 9:15:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2005 9:15:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2005 9:15:02 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Takes good pictures, very little red eye problems, doesn't hold that many in memory (for what I have).
12/19/2005 9:15:02 PM
 
Donna Mihelich
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/7/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2005 5:33:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2005 5:33:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2005 5:33:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2005 5:33:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2005 5:33:19 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is a good overall workhorse of a camera. I purchased it in 2000 knowing nothing about digital photograph. I was never able to take a good photo because of my eyes and the lcd was the perfect solution for me. I have taken hundreds of photos over the yeara and now want to become even more skilled in photography.
11/17/2005 5:33:19 PM
 
Janet E. Backhaus
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/18/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 12:50:49 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 12:50:49 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 12:50:49 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 12:50:49 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 12:50:49 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love it...very clear pictures. Easy to use, nice and compact to carry.
8/29/2005 12:50:49 PM
 
K.C. Erredge 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2005 12:30:08 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2005 12:30:08 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2005 12:30:08 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2005 12:30:08 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2005 12:30:08 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
For only having 2.1 megapixels, this camera takes relatively good pictures.
8/25/2005 12:30:08 PM
 
Leonard Glick 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2005 10:49:15 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2005 10:49:15 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2005 10:49:15 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2005 10:49:15 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2005 10:49:15 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
compact and easy to use. could use a better zoom
8/10/2005 10:49:15 AM
 
d Coscia
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/23/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 8:52:58 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 8:52:58 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 8:52:58 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 8:52:58 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 8:52:58 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
The Olympus D490 was my first digital camera and the ease of use made it a joy to use. What I liked about it was the option of using the lcd screen to take pics. and what I didn't like about it was nothing at the time. However after becoming more familar with other cameras I don't like the limitations for iso settings and not being able to set my own f/stop. All in all it was a great first camera to learn with.
7/26/2005 8:52:58 PM
 
Vince C 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2005 11:22:32 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2005 11:22:32 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2005 11:22:32 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2005 11:22:32 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2005 11:22:32 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I actually found this website while shopping for cameras. The Olympus is very reliable and takes good pictures for a 2mp camera but is outdated and lacks features so I am shopping for a new digital camera that I can grow into. I am considering the Panasonic DMC-FZ5.
7/22/2005 11:22:32 AM
 

First 10 of 26 Reviews  (see all user reviews)