Alpha A700 Digital SLR Camera


Sony

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital SLR Cameras


View photos created with this camera

The Alpha A700 Digital SLR Camera

Features:

  • 12.24 MP Exmor image sensor with on-chip AD conversion
  • Super SteadyShot® in-camera image stabilization
  • Powerful Bionz image processor with noise reduction
  • Continuous 5 frame-per-second shooting to capture fast motion
  • 3.0 LCD screen with 921k pixels for photo-quality viewing

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


5 Reviews  

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Pat and Graham Robards
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/23/2005
Contact Pat and Graham
Pat and Graham's Gallery
caninecreatives.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2010 1:02:36 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2010 1:02:36 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2010 1:02:36 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2010 1:02:36 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2010 1:02:36 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent review Peter!

I got mine five years ago now, after a collection of lenses my husband went full frame to the A900 last year.

~Pat and Graham Robards

1/7/2010 1:02:36 AM
 
Regina Robinson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/11/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2009 9:27:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2009 9:27:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2009 9:27:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2009 9:27:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2009 9:27:59 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love my sony alpha 700. It's the most perfect gift I ever bought myself.
12/7/2009 9:27:59 PM
 
kerby lee pfrangle
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/19/2005
Contact kerby
kerby's Gallery
pfrangle.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2008 1:58:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2008 1:58:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2008 1:58:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2008 1:58:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2008 1:58:27 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love my Sony Alpha 700.

The images are so clear and the camera was fairly easy to learn to use.

I got two Zeiss lens and a top macro lens to go with the camera and get some wonderful images.

It is a fantastic camera.

12/26/2008 1:58:27 PM
 
Raymond Johnston 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2008 11:39:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2008 11:39:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2008 11:39:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2008 11:39:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2008 11:39:34 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Since 10/06, I have had a Sony A100 and have loved it. 10/07 I bought a second A100 back up body. 10/08 I bought the A700 and while the A100 did a lot, the A700 does even more. I like the 5fps rating for some things, the higher resolution, losing one knob on top and putting some of the more common adjustments on buttons on the top.
I believe the shutter is quieter than the A100 and definately more responsive. I am looking forward to getting a vertical grip as I have understood that this really helps the balance of the camera for portrait (vertical) shots especially when using a larger lens such as some of the fast 70-200 lens.
The A700 uses both the CF cards and the micro duo cards (without the adapter that comes with the A100) at the same time allowing you to switch between the 2 cards without having to physically change the cards. So with the VG with 2 capacity batteries and the 2 storage cards, you can really do some serious shooting without having to change anything.
The A700 has a more elaborate DRO with up to 5 adjustable settings to handle those shadow to bright scenes. It also has a Raw setting, a cRaw setting and an extra fine JPEG setting along with the fine JPEG and the standard JPEG.
I really believe this is a serious contender against some of the higher $$$ cameras especially for the serious amatuer and the semi-pro. Great camera.
11/11/2008 11:39:34 PM
 
Peter Banz 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2008 1:07:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2008 1:07:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2008 1:07:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2008 1:07:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2008 1:07:36 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I wonder why this camera (and all other Sony DSLRs) are hidden under discontinued cameras on this site?!
I got the Sony a700 about 4 month ago. I do have a Nikon D100 that's now collecting dust together with the F2 and F models. There is not a single thing I'm missing. The a700 offers just about everything I'm looking for. 12 Mpix Sony sensor, 3" hi-res Sony view screen just like the D300. But why not buy the original? In addition I get body stabilization and a mirror lock. Both are very important to me. I did have to buy glass to fit the a-mount. That was no problem. I was able to tab into the large Minolta AF used lens base. All of these lenses gain the benefit of the SuperSteadyShot system. The sharpness and color of these old lenses easily match the new plastic. If I want to spend a lot of money I can buy Zeiss lenses.

I got the legendary Minolta Beercan 70-210, the Minolta Macro 100 prime, the 55mm prime and the 24-105. All for just a few hundred $. I'm ready to go to full frame whenever I want.

As the DSLR race heats up I feel Sony is a great contender. Unlike the others Sony has the capacity to do their own chips and control the others destiny. Take the Sony parts out of the D300 and you don't have much bleeding edge technology left. I also like Sony for not rushing things to the market. Liveview may come in handy in a few situations. The a700 does not have it. But I rather wait for the a350 LV system to show up in the next generation Sony rather then some weird work around.

When making my decision to buy the a700 I checked many reviews. Several criticized Sony for not having a top display. I don't understand the need for that. I can only guess that they never seen a 3" LCD as bright as the Sony and automatically switching from landscape to portrait when you turn the camera.

I do recommend a Nikon add-on. The viewfinder magnifier of the D200 fits the Sony DSLRs. Using that with the a700 gives you almost 100% ...just like the old full frames.

8/24/2008 1:07:36 PM
 

5 Reviews  

Buy Alpha A700 Digital SLR Camera from Amazon.com