Camedia D-460Z Digital Camera


Olympus

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

My Lovely Amber
View photos created with this camera

Allows you to directly control aperture but not shutter speed.

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


28 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
jimmy Casama
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/30/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 8:45:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 8:45:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 8:45:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 8:45:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 8:45:50 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
my first digital camera only 1.3 megapixals but works just fine when fixed up in my photoshop
3/30/2006 8:45:50 AM
 
Paula Williams 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 3:30:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 3:30:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 3:30:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 3:30:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 3:30:18 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love the pictures the camera takes. There are 2 things I don't like...1) It doesn't have good zoom and 2) Before you can take your next picture, you have to wait for the camera to finish saving the one you just took.
1/13/2006 3:30:18 PM
 
David P. Patterson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/27/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2005 9:20:19 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2005 9:20:19 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2005 9:20:19 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2005 9:20:19 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2005 9:20:19 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This was my first digital camera. It's only a 1.3 megapixel, but still takes some very nice shots.
12/27/2005 9:20:19 PM
 
Allen Morrell
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/29/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2005 9:24:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2005 9:24:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2005 9:24:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2005 9:24:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2005 9:24:26 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great for an older point n shoot digital.
11/27/2005 9:24:26 PM
 
Carrie H. Patterson - Clarke 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2005 11:48:47 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2005 11:48:47 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2005 11:48:47 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2005 11:48:47 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2005 11:48:47 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Very basic and older camera. It is slow checking pictures, deleting, etc. and does not store many pictures. Also downloading pictures from the camera itself is very slow and cumbersome. (I cannot download directly from disc in camera beacuse my computer is too old) What I do like about it however, is that it is easy to use and to understand.
11/1/2005 11:48:47 AM
 
anonymous  4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2005 5:07:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2005 5:07:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2005 5:07:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2005 5:07:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2005 5:07:56 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The Olympus D-460Z ( also known as C-960Z) was an excellent camera while I used/had it, until it was stolen...It was the first digital camera I bought. Since then, I replaced it with a C-5050Z. I have never regret buying digital Olympus.
10/4/2005 5:07:56 PM
 
A. Murphy
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/24/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2005 4:20:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2005 4:20:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2005 4:20:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2005 4:20:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2005 4:20:43 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Since I don't have anything to compare it to, I would say my camera is terrific! Although I would love to be able to zoom in closer.
10/1/2005 4:20:43 PM
 
Andrew Kriz 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2005 4:30:01 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2005 4:30:01 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2005 4:30:01 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2005 4:30:01 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2005 4:30:01 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Quick startup, good point and shoot. Decent resolution. Lacks advanced exposure features.
9/17/2005 4:30:01 PM
 
Jenny Simcox
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/15/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2005 9:03:37 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2005 9:03:37 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2005 9:03:37 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2005 9:03:37 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2005 9:03:37 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Not good at far away shots or real close ups but overall excellent quality photo's up to 5X7's!
7/15/2005 9:03:37 PM
 
Gwenn L. Dunlap 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2005 11:12:53 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2005 11:12:53 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2005 11:12:53 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2005 11:12:53 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2005 11:12:53 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
The camera is good, but I find it takes a lot of time and effort for all photos to be edited because the pictures are typically never either bright enough or dark enough and usually need a little bit of sharpening. It also takes a lot of time between pictures to be ready for the next picture. Otherwise, it's a good camera.
6/26/2005 11:12:53 AM
 
Leslie A. Neilson 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 4:48:28 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 4:48:28 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 4:48:28 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 4:48:28 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 4:48:28 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
For the most part, I like my camera, although I would like to upgrade to a camera that has a greater pixel resolution. I like the zoom feature on the camera and the special flash feature to prevent red eye. You can add frame numbers, set time and date the picture was taken.
6/7/2005 4:48:28 PM
 
Evaan L. Portillo 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2005 6:09:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2005 6:09:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2005 6:09:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2005 6:09:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2005 6:09:43 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Nice little point and shoot camera. Lasted about 3 years of heavy use before a pixel failure. Would recommend. Very easy to use with excellent results.
4/24/2005 6:09:43 PM
 
Jill Danderfer 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2005 12:26:34 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2005 12:26:34 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2005 12:26:34 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2005 12:26:34 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2005 12:26:34 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
The camera takes good pictures, but doesn't have many options.
3/20/2005 12:26:34 PM
 
Neda Sobhian 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 8:11:46 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 8:11:46 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 8:11:46 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 8:11:46 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 8:11:46 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Quality of the pictures are good. At the time it was purchased it was great, but I would go with a more compact and higher pixel camera now that more options are available.
6/17/2004 8:11:46 PM
 
Sanjeev Mathur 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2004 3:28:25 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2004 3:28:25 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2004 3:28:25 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2004 3:28:25 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2004 3:28:25 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
THIS IS AN EXCELLENT CAMERA FOR FIRST TIME USERS. ITS PICTURES ARE SUPERB FOR ITS MP RATING
4/12/2004 3:28:25 AM
 
Rebecka Franklin 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2004 8:44:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2004 8:44:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2004 8:44:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2004 8:44:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2004 8:44:04 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I think this is a great camera. I bought it before I knew very much about cameras or computers but it was easy to learn how to use. My uncle had just gotten a very new, nicer Olympus camera and (being 74 years old) couldn't figure out how to use it. Knowing what I did about my Olympus, I easily learned his camera and was able to teach him to use it. In other words very user friendly!
3/18/2004 8:44:04 AM
 
Judith Nagel 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2004 10:20:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2004 10:20:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2004 10:20:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2004 10:20:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2004 10:20:48 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have used this camera for 4 years and have gotten many beautiful shots. I shoot my majority of pictures in macro mode. Because this model does have limitations, I am looking to upgrade soon.
3/9/2004 10:20:48 AM
 
Leslie A. Preuit 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2004 1:55:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2004 1:55:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2004 1:55:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2004 1:55:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2004 1:55:53 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love using a digital camera and this is the first one I have ever used. I love the fact that there is no film involved and I can delete unwanted pictures at any time. The only thing I don't like is the delay when snapping the picture. Kids aren't very patient so I would like a Cannon Digital SLR someday.
2/9/2004 1:55:53 PM
 
Jane  4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2003 5:08:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2003 5:08:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2003 5:08:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2003 5:08:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2003 5:08:26 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really love my Olympus. I've had it for 3 years and its never given me a bit of trouble. I am, however, getting camera envy and want to upgrade to a camera with more of everything.
10/25/2003 5:08:26 PM
 
Betty Amirault 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 6:18:35 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 6:18:35 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 6:18:35 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 6:18:35 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 6:18:35 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
we didn't know much about digital cameras when we bought our camera. I wanted something that I could get great shots & be able to put them on the computer to later download & print. I wanted something with a zoom also. I now know that there are several newer models out there, but finances have prohibited me to upgrade. I would love to learn more about photography & take the camera whereever I go to try & get different shots. I love the landscape/scenic & animals shots.
10/21/2003 6:18:35 PM
 
Ben J. Stahl 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 7:49:06 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 7:49:06 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 7:49:06 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 7:49:06 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 7:49:06 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Easy to use. Easy to carry in my pants pocket. Adequate zoom range. Exposures are excellent under most conditions. Color renditions are brilliant and vivid. Enlargements are dissapointing because of the 1 megapixel resolution.
10/16/2003 7:49:06 PM
 
Ken McClelland 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2003 6:08:34 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2003 6:08:34 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2003 6:08:34 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2003 6:08:34 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2003 6:08:34 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Not too shabby for a 1.2 megapixel
10/12/2003 6:08:34 AM
 
Theresa L. Hayes 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2003 4:27:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2003 4:27:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2003 4:27:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2003 4:27:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2003 4:27:39 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this camera
10/10/2003 4:27:39 PM
 
Duane Frybarger 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2003 4:49:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2003 4:49:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2003 4:49:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2003 4:49:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2003 4:49:37 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great point and shoot camera but limited creative controls. At the time I bought it (Feb 2001), I was just interested in taking shots of interesting nature settings. I am now looking for a digital camera with more creative control (aperture priority, shutter priority, full manual, etc).
8/20/2003 4:49:37 PM
 
Vicki L. Horn 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2003 8:22:47 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2003 8:22:47 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2003 8:22:47 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2003 8:22:47 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2003 8:22:47 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Great camera for the money.
7/31/2003 8:22:47 PM
 
Sandi Parrott 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 3:25:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 3:25:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 3:25:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 3:25:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 3:25:51 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I think for the money, this camera is well worth what I paid. The customer service is excellent, as I had a "smashing" accident with the camera, and had to send it to Olympus to get it fixed. Had the camera back in two weeks as good as new.
7/9/2003 3:25:51 PM
 
Michael R. Murphy 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 6:00:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 6:00:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 6:00:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 6:00:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 6:00:00 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Takes very nice pictures, at one time this was top of the line, now I just use it as a backup. 1.3 megapixels
7/1/2003 6:00:00 PM
 
Kelly L. Parsons 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2003 12:58:35 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2003 12:58:35 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2003 12:58:35 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2003 12:58:35 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2003 12:58:35 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
For an old model, the camera still performs wonderfully. I'm spoiled rotten with the user friendly photo editing software that came with it! However, I wish someone would have warned me how much I'd be spending in batteries. To knit-pick, I'm dissatisfied with the lense closing performance, which is sometimes quite lacking.
6/28/2003 12:58:35 AM
 

28 Reviews