BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


EOS 40D Digital SLR


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital SLR Cameras

Beam
View photos created with this camera

The EOS 40D Digital SLR

Features:

  • 10.1-megapixel CMOS sensor captures enough detail for photo-quality poster-size prints
  • Large 3.0-inch LCD display with enhanced Live View and broadened color gamut
  • 6.5 frame-per-second continuous shooting capability (for bursts of up to 75 Large/Fine JPEGs or 17 RAW images)
  • sRAW mode; 35-zone metering system; integrated Self-Cleaning Sensor Unit
  • Powered by BP-511A, BP-511, or BP-512 lithium-ion battery pack; stores images on CF cards

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


17 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Debbie A. DeClue
debbiedeclue.com

member since: 4/14/2007
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I actually don't own this camera (I am a Nikon Girl and love the D700 & D300) but I have an action sports photography business and there are 3 photographers that shoot for me that own this camera and I do not love the images that are captured. They are the kind of images that if you look at them quickly or not too closly they look in focus but if you take your time and look at them (I can tell right away) they are not really sharp. The players are kind of grainy and I am struggling to find the answer to why this is happening. Is this camera not made for action sports photography? Or, are these photographers who know the types of shots to get, not holding the camera as still as they should. If anyone has an answer for me, please let me know. Thank you . Debbie DeClue
1/9/2011 10:02:32 AM
 
Terrence G. Credlin
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/8/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
love this camera as a first DSLR it took a bit to learn but its so worth it
upgraded from an Olympus 5060 P&S
8/23/2009 2:03:18 AM
 
Rob Martin
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/17/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I finally got one of these babies. I went from an XT to an XTi and now the 40D.
Overall it is an excellent camera. The features and quality are amazing. Lots of manual controls and it will take some time to master them but it is well worth it.
9/11/2008 11:11:54 PM
 
John Caruso
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/27/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I absolutely love this camera. The image quality is fantastic, and the controls are intuitive and easy to manipulate. The build quality, too, is terrific. This just FEELS like a quality camera in your hands, and when you look at the results, you just KNOW it is.
8/11/2008 2:51:48 PM
 
Jim Darnall
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/3/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Just got the EOS D40 and been playing with it about a week. All I can say it is a world of difference coming from a Fuji finepix s9000 which is not a DLSR. I think I am going to love this camera. I have added my first shot to my gallery with the D40. AN amazing shot of the clouds after a storm went thru. Fun stuff.
7/25/2008 11:52:39 AM
 
Jay M. Schulz
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/1/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I upgraded from the 350D a few months ago and love this camera so much I tell all my friends that this is the ONLY camera to buy for beginners to professionals. You can't beat the price and the quality, with a good lens (not the cheap kit lens that most buy the camera with) will rival the 5D and any of the Nikon cameras. For most upgrading from the Rebel camera family, the 40D is a better choice than the 5D. It is not just the price of the camera body, but also the lenses (EF-S) won't work on the 5D, so it is better to stay with the APS-C sized sensor. I say shoot away with the 40D until you can afford something in the 1D family. You will be more than satisfied with the ability of this camera to keep up with your demands.
7/19/2008 6:40:03 AM
 
Zachary W. Sarette

member since: 6/28/2008
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good buy for the money. It's a fast, and decent camera with a good amount of weight. I've had this since January, and have made a few thousand pictures since then, shooting for a local newspaper, family events, and weddings among other things.

Buy good lenses with it, and it will make you very happy. Don't worry about setting it to manual, just set it to P or full auto mode and see how good you can make pictures. On the downside, the built in flash is not very dependable and takes a while to recycle. Get yourself an external flash for an extra $125 if you think you need it.

6/28/2008 12:47:59 PM
 
Zachary W. Sarette

member since: 6/28/2008
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good buy for the money. It's a fast, and decent camera with a good amount of weight. I've had this since January, and have made a few thousand pictures since then, shooting for a local newspaper, family events, and weddings among other things.
6/28/2008 12:43:42 PM
 
Liandra M. Barry
BetterPhoto Member
photobyliandra.com

member since: 4/30/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I upgraded from the 20D and I am quite please I waited since the 30D wasn't much different. After reading about the 40D, I knew I had to buy it. I'm quite happy with the improvements and I love the sensor self-cleaning option. I love my 40D. Highly recommend.
5/25/2008 6:10:49 PM
 
satoshi kondo

member since: 4/28/2008
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
The 40D is the first DSLR camera I've used so take this review with a grain of salt. The 40D is a stocky camera that feels great in my hands, and the intuitive placement of the buttons and dials makes the camera a pleasure to work with (aside from the questionable location of the on/off switch although I cannot say where would be better). What I don't like about the camera is the resolution of the screen is too low, making it difficult to tell whether an image is in focus or not. This problem is compounded by the fact that I have bad eyes.
5/22/2008 2:35:22 PM
 
Amy Duffing
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/11/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I upgraded from the XT in September...and have just LOVED this camera!!! The focus is SO fast and I love the picture quality/color/sharpness. A+++
12/15/2007 11:56:06 AM
 
Joe Cox

member since: 11/23/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Love the camera. Was hesitant at first to upgrade from my Rebel XT, but am now glad that I did. The camera fits my hands better and the layout of the controls makes it much easier to use. The larger LCD is great and a big plus since my eyes get worse the older that I get. Well worth the money and a pleasure to use. Would recommend the camera to anyone wanting a great DSLR.
11/23/2007 4:38:36 AM
 
Bill Wyatt
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/17/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have been using the 40D for a couple of weeks now. I still have a 30D that I use as a back up. I was hesitant about upgrading like a lot of people but I bit the bullet and did it. WOW what a diffrence, this camera is everything I could have hoped for. There are so many techi reports out there so I won't bore you with engineering statistics.
The 3 inch screen is awesome I can really see it in the sun so it is just what Canon said it would be. The shutter button is so much sweeter than the 30D it is precise and I know when it will go off a real bonus well I think so. Color is fantastic much better than the 30D is. AF is so much faster and more precise it is hard to compare them. The feel of the camera is bigger and heavier it feels like a pro's camera should. The live view which I was totally yawning over turns out to be a real advantage at times and when connected to a laptop you can set timed shots for time release shooting. You can control the camera from your pc which I think is cool. I could go on and I will later I am still figuring out all the features. Oh yeah don't forget the weather sealing around the battery lid, CF lid and along the hot shoe. I think there may be more but I am not sure. The auto sensor cleaning is a God send and works very well. I use long glass that sucks a lot of dust on the sensor so I randomly run the cleaner and I don't have those nast dust bunnies.
On the down side unless you use CS3 or like me Lightroom you will have to use Canon's version or a 3rd party software for Raw format. Bummer but I my work flow includes Light Room anyways.
Bill
11/16/2007 4:45:54 PM
 
Les Rhoades
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Les
Les's Gallery

member since: 3/22/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
First, let me say that Adobe Lightroom does convert the Canon RAW files, because I use it every day. So far this camera has been a huge improvement over my 20D, which I just upgraded from. The light meter is very good on this camera. The menu is set up much better and the large screen is amazing for a guy that needs glasses to read small print. The ergonomic grip feels better in the hand. You can view my gallery for sample images.
10/10/2007 10:57:08 PM
 
Keith Kratzert
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/30/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I found this video on youtube that does a great job explaining what can really be done with the liveview -- I have seem some people posting that is of know use because they can not focus it, but I think they just have not read the full instructions -- this video will put it into perspective http://www.youtube.com/view_play_list?p=7F1F92946DD1E6FF
10/2/2007 1:57:44 PM
 
Suzanne Colson
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Suzanne
Suzanne's Gallery

member since: 7/31/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Love it!! Upgraded from a 30D after reading mixed reviews about how much of an upgrade it really was. Of course the 3" screen is nice. The bigger the better. The buttons are just plain more conveniently located. Even after having my 30D for almost a year I always had to look at the buttons to change anything. I find myself being able to make changes without having to remove my sight from the viewfinder. The ISO always showing in the viewfinder is an absolute plus for me. I can't tell you how many times I would forget to change from 1600 or even 3200 in extreme light situations back down when moving into light. My fault, of course, but now that it is in the viewfinder I probably won't have this problem as much. The autofocus is much better. Plenty of people have written reviews that would argue this. I have about 6 Canon lenses; 3 of which I hardly used because of focusing issues. I was getting ready to send to Canon when the 40D was introduced. I figured I would wait and see how they perform on the 40D. I wasn't expecting miracles and was still willing to send them in. I don't have to. For whatever reason the focusing problem with these lenses is no longer a problem!! Images taken indoors need a white balance adjustment when using Auto Balance. Way too orange, but not difficult since I am shooting RAW and using Lightroom. I figure it will be handled in a future firmware upgrade. THe menu layout is better. Instead of a painfully long list of items to scroll through the menu is more like the Rebel XT. The only thing that I don't like is I plan to keep my 30D as a backup and switching back and forth is not easy for me due to this change. Hopefully I can find the funds to upgrade to the next version of the 5D and the menus are similar. I am not convinced with the LiveView capability, but plan on testing with my Macro work soon. 6.5 fps is definitely a plus. Doesn't seem like a huge difference from the 30D at 5fps, but definitely is. The ability to store the 6 most used Menu Options has been very useful so far. The 3 custom function settings appear very useful as well, but haven't used a much as I thought. I have been testing the camera, though, with portraiture work and there isn't much need for custom functions yet. I think it may be the best way to hopefully set Mirror Lockup. I am looking forward to replacing the focus screen with the gridlines in the camera.

Was the upgrade worth it? In my opinion, yes. Is the 30D still an entirely capable camera? Yes.

9/22/2007 9:35:41 PM
 
Keith Kratzert
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/30/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Only had it about 24 hours and so far I love it. However at this point Adobe does not support the RAW files "CR2". A bit frustrating since now I have to learn another RAW adjustment and conversion program like Bibble bibblelabs.com ... maybe it is a good thing to get away from Adobe for some things. I have to admit the bibble RAW conversion program works pretty good and after I am more familiar with it I may like it better then Adobe.

Anyway the camera is great -- keep in mind I am upgrading from the original Rebel. I'm loving the 3" screen. I'll report back after I have some more time on it.

9/8/2007 9:09:15 AM
 

17 Reviews  

Add your own review

Buy EOS 40D Digital SLR from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.