D1H Digital SLR Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital SLR Cameras

Play with Intensi...
View photos created with this camera

The D1H Digital SLR Camera

Features:


  • ISO equivalency 200-1600 (variable in 1/3, 1/2 or 1 EV steps)
  • JPEG Baseline (approx. 1/4, 1/8, 1/16 compressed), uncompressed
    (12-bit Raw, 8-bit YCbCr-TIFF, 8-bit RGB-TIFF), monochrome mode
  • Supports CompactFlash (Type I/II) & Microdrive media
  • 2-inch, 130,000-dot, low temp. polysilicon TFT LCD with white
    LED backlighting
  • IEEE-1394 Firewire Interface

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


16 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Robert Young 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2006 7:06:01 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2006 7:06:01 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2006 7:06:01 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2006 7:06:01 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2006 7:06:01 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent color rendition. Very little noise.
6/10/2006 7:06:01 AM
 
Christian Johansson 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 2:18:39 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 2:18:39 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 2:18:39 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 2:18:39 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 2:18:39 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Old, few but good pixel, fast and a good house. Mostly for my sportphoto and as a backup.
6/9/2006 2:18:39 PM
 
John J. Molligo 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2005 11:59:48 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2005 11:59:48 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2005 11:59:48 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2005 11:59:48 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2005 11:59:48 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Used it for photojournalism and was adequate. I think there are better digital cameras available now. Prefer to originate on film.
12/29/2005 11:59:48 AM
 
Justin N. McGarry 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 3:24:48 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 3:24:48 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 3:24:48 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 3:24:48 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 3:24:48 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Awesome camera
12/12/2005 3:24:48 PM
 
Brian Gritt
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/13/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2005 5:05:45 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2005 5:05:45 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2005 5:05:45 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2005 5:05:45 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2005 5:05:45 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This thing is a tank. By today's standards, the 3mp sensor is obsolete but the speed and accuracy of this camera makes it a very useful tool for the right situations.
5/17/2005 5:05:45 AM
 
Karen Lund 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2004 1:12:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2004 1:12:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2004 1:12:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2004 1:12:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2004 1:12:50 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera is the very best for me! It takes excellent pictures and I am so pleased with it.
9/15/2004 1:12:50 PM
 
Nancy Barbata
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/19/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2004 8:06:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2004 8:06:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2004 8:06:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2004 8:06:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2004 8:06:49 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The Nikon D100 (31Dec03) brought me back to photography after too long a dry spell. The reviews on dpreview.com helped me decide which SLR I would purchase. I knew a little about digital photography, but found myself faced with a steep learning curve when I brought the new camera home. Without Thom Hogan's Complete Guide to the Nikon D100, I would still be lost. Over the last few months, as I studied Thom's book and other resources (books, Web sites, etc.) and just got out there to shoot lots of photos (practically unlimited in digital), I felt confusion give way to understanding, in part due to previous experience with a Nikon F (circa 1975). A strong background in photography made a big difference; I wouldn't recommend this camera for a beginner. The 28-200 zoom lens I chose for my first lens offers good flexibility, but on a recent trip to the Seguoia redwoods I realized that I will be looking into what my wide-angle options are soon. I think I would like to have the option of slower than 200 ISO. I still feel sluggish and forgetful about all the options and settings at my fingertips. I'm working on solidifying my workflow. All in all, I am thrilled with my camera and the photos I am making.
8/13/2004 8:06:49 AM
 
Rick Richardson  5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 7:45:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 7:45:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 7:45:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 7:45:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 7:45:55 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Wonderful features. Love it. But since this is my first digital SLR I'm a little biased.
7/13/2004 7:45:55 PM
 
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2004 7:04:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2004 7:04:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2004 7:04:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2004 7:04:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2004 7:04:48 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
My primary photographic interest is landscape and I find the D100 outstanding for that application. My only complaint is the slow flash sync speed and comparatively small image buffer when I shoot my son's sports activities.
2/25/2004 7:04:48 AM
 
Irving Heilweil 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2004 5:27:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2004 5:27:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2004 5:27:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2004 5:27:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2004 5:27:55 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
THE DIH IS GREAT
2/16/2004 5:27:55 PM
 
Hugh Jervis 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2004 8:26:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2004 8:26:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2004 8:26:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2004 8:26:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2004 8:26:19 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have no real complaints about the camera.Having previously used nikon eqiupment with a FM2 which I really liked and the quality is evident with my new D100.On the plus side the digital D100 has expanded my horizons and I feel much more willing to experiment. I have instant feedback and the cost and waiting period with film is negated. A minor gripe is that on two occasions I have had the low pass filter cleaned as dust or ? was evident on my images. I take care when changing lenses and this may be a design flaw with digital SLR cameras.
2/2/2004 8:26:19 PM
 
Jolene A. Dennis 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2004 12:25:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2004 12:25:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2004 12:25:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2004 12:25:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2004 12:25:25 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It's a great overall camera for landscapes and nature photography. One thing i dont' liek about it is it can't handle long exposures without alot of noise, so star shots and night shots are difficult.
1/24/2004 12:25:25 PM
 
Jackie  M. Moukperian 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 8:17:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 8:17:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 8:17:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 8:17:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 8:17:02 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
GREAT GREAT GREAT camera very fast very good camera. Love it!!
1/12/2004 8:17:02 PM
 
Lisa N. Hermes 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2003 9:32:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2003 9:32:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2003 9:32:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2003 9:32:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2003 9:32:31 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Still testing new camera.
11/23/2003 9:32:31 PM
 
Keith Johnston 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2003 3:41:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2003 3:41:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2003 3:41:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2003 3:41:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2003 3:41:01 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have been very pleased with this camera. It enables me to capture the action shots I desire and is easy to use. It is very versatile and allows me to take action shots in poor lighting situations as well as offering a wide range of capabilities in all lighting situations. It is a little heavy, but given the abuse it may be subject too, I am appreciative of it's ruggedness. Given it is only a 2.7 megapixel camera, there are limitations on what I can do with the pictures, but this has not been a problem to date.
10/6/2003 3:41:01 PM
 
Elizabeth Davison 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2003 4:27:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2003 4:27:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2003 4:27:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2003 4:27:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2003 4:27:24 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It is heavier than I expected, so that is the main drawback. My favorite part about it and the main reason why I bought it is the speed with which it takes pictures. My son figureskates, so I want to be able to take alot of action pictures. I like how easy it is to transfer the pictures to my computer using firewire.
7/8/2003 4:27:24 PM
 

16 Reviews  

Buy D1H Digital SLR Camera from Amazon.com