Powershot A570IS Digital Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Uncertainty and E...
View photos created with this camera

The Powershot A570IS Digital Camera

Features:

  • 7.1-megapixel CCD captures enough detail for photo-quality 15 x 20-inch prints
  • DIGIC III Image Processor with improved Face Detection technology and Red-eye Correction
  • Clear, high-resolution 2.5-inch LCD for easy on-camera viewing
  • ISO 1600 and High ISO Auto to reduce image blur and expand low-light shooting capability
  • Print/Share Button for easy direct printing and downloading

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


2 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
David Van Camp
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/27/2008
Contact David
David's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2008 11:51:02 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2008 11:51:02 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2008 11:51:02 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2008 11:51:02 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2008 11:51:02 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I think you're using digital zoom, Annisa. Stick with optical, you won't have that problem!

Nice camera, convienient size, very good quality for price. Offers program & priority modes for more advanced use. Video is very handy and easy to use. Almost instant power on. Not too small, but still fits in pocket and has a nice grip (unlike ultra compacts.) Optical viewfinder is very handy, particularly in bright situations when LCD is hard to see, although parrellex error must be accounted for (as for all range finders.) JPEG artifacting is very low.

Image stabilization is very helpful in low-light / longer zoom, but not a life saver - good shooting technique is still needed!

Look at my gallery for examples.

CHDK -- free firmware enhancement software -- is highly recomended for more serious shooters. Adds JPEG+RAW, wider ISO / Apperature / Shutter settings, exposure & focus bracketing, battery charge indicator, better/more histograms, etc, etc.
http://chdk.wikia.com/wiki/CHDK

Downsides:
-Highlight clipping / blooming can be severe at metered exp in high contrast situations (sunny mid-day shots, particularly) Use exposure compensation or bracketing w/ CDHK & process RAW
-4x optical zoom is not enough.
-High ISO noise above 400.
-Lag time from shutter press to shot taken, particularly in longer end of zoom.
-Very long flash recycle time in low light / long subj dist.

All in all, I love this camera, although I wish I had gotten the A720IS for the longer zoom.

However, I just purchased a D80 which I expect will become my main camera for postings here soon!

4/24/2008 11:51:02 AM
 
Annisa C. Nunn
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/18/2007
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2008 1:22:50 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2008 1:22:50 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2008 1:22:50 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2008 1:22:50 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2008 1:22:50 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like this camera but the zoom can't go very far and when you zoom too much the picture turns fuzzy
4/2/2008 1:22:50 PM
 

2 Reviews  

Buy Powershot A570IS Digital Camera from Amazon.com