Online Photo Course - Learning Your Canon Digital SLR with Jim M White

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

4-Week Short Course: Learning Your Canon Digital SLR Photography Course
Course Instructor: Jim M. White
4-Week Short Course: Learning Your Canon Digital SLR

This course is especially designed for students who own a Canon digital SLR camera, but who have little or no knowledge of photography. Instructor and professional photographer Jim White will take the mystery out of the camera's controls, dials, menus, and other functions. By removing that intimidation factor, you will be on your way to being a better photographer. This four-week online photography class will help you proceed beyond the point-and-shoot, all-automatic stage, and will help in your future lens-buying decisions.

Category: Fundamentals Courses
Skill Level: 1 - Beginner
Only $198 USD

Learn more about
4-Week Short Course: Learning Your Canon Digital SLR


6 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Maria 
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/7/2013
0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2013 8:55:19 PM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2013 8:55:19 PM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2013 8:55:19 PM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2013 8:55:19 PM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2013 8:55:19 PM
Rating: 0.5 out of 5
I had heard good reviews about BetterPhoto, but I guess it depends on the instructor. Reviews came halfway through the next lesson and seemed to be very general. I asked a question pertaining to an assignment (setting Custom White Balance) that did not get answered throughout the entire length of the course: am I setting Custom WB correctly? any tips? I actually asked this question twice - once with my Custom WB photo and again in the Q/A forum but never got a response. I don't think I was setting it correctly but never got any feedback on how to do it correctly. Nothing at all, which is what I thought I was paying for.

For $200, this class was terrible. The benefit of taking a course vs reading a book is the instructor comments. However, my instructor gave very general comments and simply restated points from the lesson rather than actually giving assistance on how to improve or how to use the settings better. Usually just a couple of sentences. Nothing that was said actually helped me or served in any way to improve my photography skills. Hardly any constructive criticism at all, and the one question I asked - twice - was never addressed. And it was central to the lesson.

2/27/2013 8:55:19 PM
 
Celia Visscher
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/16/2012
Contact Celia
Celia's Gallery
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2012 5:16:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2012 5:16:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2012 5:16:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2012 5:16:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2012 5:16:20 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have enjoyed this course very much. The little knowledge I had and what I have learned have made a huge difference in the way I take pictures now. I would recommend this course to anyone that has a Cannon camera and is just starting photography.
10/10/2012 5:16:20 PM
 
sherri brown 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2012 10:33:33 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2012 10:33:33 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2012 10:33:33 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2012 10:33:33 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2012 10:33:33 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I really learned a lot. Now I dont think I will ever use the auto function on my camara.
10/3/2012 10:33:33 AM
 
Birgit Adams 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2011 5:27:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2011 5:27:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2011 5:27:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2011 5:27:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2011 5:27:52 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The course really helped me to leave my Canon EOS 400d's auto mode and go into manually adjusting aperture, shutter, ISO, white balance etc. Jim is a great instructor and his comments and critiques were ever so helpful. A highly recommendable course for beginners and people shooting only in auto mode!!
12/14/2011 5:27:52 AM
 
Shawn Lipinski 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2010 5:30:21 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2010 5:30:21 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2010 5:30:21 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2010 5:30:21 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2010 5:30:21 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
It's not that this class is bad, you can learn some of the basic thing you need to know. For me it was not worth $200 when a $20 book could have tought you the same thing, since thats all you do is read a lesson anyways. There was nothing in this class that I did not already pick up in a basic begginers book that I had purchased.

Your lessons will take almost any begginer 20-30 minutes per week.

I think if Betterphoto.com could run this type of class for $50- $100 it might be worth it, but it defiantly was not worth $200.

The instructor was good, and he gave clear feedback.

7/8/2010 5:30:21 AM
 
deanna hoffman
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/11/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2007 3:52:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2007 3:52:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2007 3:52:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2007 3:52:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2007 3:52:16 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Just wanted to share my excitement. Last week I decided that my blurred fan pick matched the monthly theme for the contest, so I entered it (with not much thought). I looked today and I got Editor's Pick. I am so thrilled! Just had to share with you guys. Jim, thanks, I would never have taken a picture like that if it wouldn't have been for this class.
9/23/2007 3:52:16 PM
 

6 Reviews  


Enroll

Add to Wishlist