D100 Digital SLR Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital SLR Cameras

Solitude
View photos created with this camera

The D100 Digital SLR Camera

Features:


  • Built around a 23.7 x 15.6mm RGB CCD, the D100 captures images
    with an incredible, film-rivaling 6.1
  • Pictures are amazingly detailed and color-rich, with resolutions
    up to 3008 x 2000 pixels
  • 3D Matrix Metering
  • 5 Area Dynamic Autofocus with Focus Tracking and Lock-on
  • Built-in Speedlight featuring D-TTL flash control capability +
    standard ISO-type hot shoe

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 502 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2009 10:15:16 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2009 10:15:16 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2009 10:15:16 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2009 10:15:16 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2009 10:15:16 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The D100 is my first DSLR. Progressing somewhat slowly I have a beginners opinion. Today it's HEAVY. The camera may have as many features and megapixels as you need. Having said that you will upgrade. Look more for sensor capabilities,ease of menu and portability. Will you carry it with you at all times or be tempted to leave it behind on extremly short trips? What bothers me most is how difficult it is to keep clean. Though it is not self cleaning it is a dust magnet easily leaving specs(in the same general area)that show up on photos. If you can afford it go to the body that will support your current lenses and the lenses you will use in the future.
1/10/2009 10:15:16 AM
 
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2009 10:15:11 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2009 10:15:11 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2009 10:15:11 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2009 10:15:11 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2009 10:15:11 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The D100 is my first DSLR. Progressing somewhat slowly I have a beginners opinion. Today it's HEAVY. The camera may have as many features and megapixels as you need. Having said that you will upgrade. Look more for sensor capabilities,ease of menu and portability. Will you carry it with you at all times or be tempted to leave it behind on extremly short trips? What bothers me most is how difficult it is to keep clean. Though it is not self cleaning it is a dust magnet easily leaving specs(in the same general area)that show up on photos. If you can afford it go to the body that will support your current lenses and the lenses you will use in the future.
1/10/2009 10:15:11 AM
 
Jace Webster
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/17/2006
0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2008 10:19:28 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2008 10:19:28 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2008 10:19:28 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2008 10:19:28 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2008 10:19:28 AM
Rating: 0 out of 5
lame
7/12/2008 10:19:28 AM
 
Daniel D. Therrien 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2007 11:06:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2007 11:06:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2007 11:06:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2007 11:06:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2007 11:06:23 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Had it for a few years now, besides a little cleaning, this unit is great, I must have taken in excess of at least 100,000 pictures so far... I take action sports photography (hockey-baseball-football-figure skating)... Will be upgrading to a D300 soon, will never sell the D100, great backup...Thanks NIKON...
12/13/2007 11:06:23 AM
 
Richard D. Sprouse 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 6:54:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 6:54:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 6:54:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 6:54:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 6:54:44 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Built like a tank, but images seem a little soft at times
7/6/2006 6:54:44 PM
 
Joseph Teplitz 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 4:07:08 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 4:07:08 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 4:07:08 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 4:07:08 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 4:07:08 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Love the photo quality and overall feel and functionality. Also have the D200
7/6/2006 4:07:08 AM
 
Christopher C. Hall 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 4:35:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 4:35:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 4:35:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 4:35:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 4:35:06 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent spot metering and auto focusing. Continuous shooting buffer with raw imaging too small for action sports.
7/4/2006 4:35:06 PM
 
Uma Nath
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/21/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 12:55:29 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 12:55:29 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 12:55:29 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 12:55:29 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 12:55:29 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
i'm very much satisfied about the picture quality and lens clarity in nikon. the megapixels is not enough 4 me.so i'm waiting to upgrade my camera.
6/29/2006 12:55:29 PM
 
Stephanie Wood 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 10:09:07 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 10:09:07 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 10:09:07 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 10:09:07 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 10:09:07 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is my work camera, but they let me take it home. It has a great lense for lanscapes or to zoom in from far away. I enjoy it because it's digital but sometimes it has more options than I need.
6/29/2006 10:09:07 AM
 
Luciano E. Luna Gonzalez 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 8:31:17 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 8:31:17 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 8:31:17 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 8:31:17 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 8:31:17 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
*Excellent resolution, good colour, tonal balance tends to be more 'contrasty' *Superb 3D matrix metering *Selection of output colour space (however JPEG files not tagged correctly) *Very nice ergonomics, good feel, balance and control layout *Wide selection of ISO sensitivities, all the way up to ISO 6400 equiv. *Low noise in JPEG images up to ISO 800, more noise visible in RAW converted images *Very fast operation, instant power up and no delays in menus or playback *Excellent auto focus, works well even in low light, AF assist lamp *Great selection of white balance options, fine tuneable white balance *Great flexibility, custom control over self-timer, meter power off times etc. *Nice 'loupe' style playback magnification *Good suite of software included (Nikon Acquire, *View, View Editor, Camera Control) *RAW mode option, included 'Nikon View Editor' provides rudimentary RAW conversion *Remote capture software for studio setups *Full Nikon F mount lens compatible (better with D and G type lenses) *Easy to use, integrated digital / photographic controls and displays *Gridlines in viewfinder display *Top panel LCD illuminated *Nice LCD monitor cover included *Custom functions to control camera operation *Excellent battery life, light weight and small batteries *Lighter than the competition (D60, S2 Pro)
6/20/2006 8:31:17 AM
 
David Burke
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/9/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2006 1:07:57 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2006 1:07:57 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2006 1:07:57 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2006 1:07:57 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2006 1:07:57 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like the camera overall but I do not like the limited buffer. I get very frustrated shooting RAW and only having about a three image buffer and waiting well over a minute before being able to take the next shot.
6/11/2006 1:07:57 PM
 

First 10 of 502 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy D100 Digital SLR Camera from Amazon.com