BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Coolpix 5000 (E5000) Digital Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Closed
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 56 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Dana A. Miedama

member since: 6/8/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I can't really rate it just yet. I am just trying it out. Learning!
6/8/2006 8:21:52 AM
 
Edgar Strietman

member since: 5/7/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Nice camera to use next to a D70 or D 100
5/7/2006 5:21:31 AM
 
Lisa D. Smith

member since: 3/25/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I really don't know enough about digital cameras, so I don't feel inclined to rate my Nikon CoolPix 5000. However, I can say, speaking in extreme layman's terms, of course, that I like the many features and options that the Nikon 5000 has. My main problem with the camera has been that the manual is not very user friendly, and the battery that comes with the camera has got to be one of the worst ones out there.
4/7/2006 4:30:58 PM
 
Rodney G. Adams

member since: 7/20/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
So far I love it. Still getting use to all the gizmos. A little more advance than my 950
4/5/2006 4:35:42 PM
 
Graham Prentice

member since: 3/25/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
This camera can be very complicated if you try and navigate through the menu. Once you are framilar with it, the shots can be great. if set on default settings, this is a great point and shoot. If the settings are customized, and novice may pick it up and not be able to use this camera.
3/25/2006 9:38:23 AM
 
Chua Wee Kiong

member since: 2/23/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is my first Digital Camera,and i like it come with macro.
2/23/2006 6:00:32 AM
 
Cheryl C. Clemmer
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/31/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Like the pictures quality. Prefer SLR
1/6/2006 10:57:57 PM
 
Rammohan Paranjape

member since: 12/8/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
good camera for beginners
12/8/2005 2:52:19 AM
 
Jay Bearden
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 10/29/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I especially like the small size/weight of the E5000. The camera has a broad range of functions available and provides excellent quality photos (I mostly shoot landscapes). I like using the fisheye and telephoto lens with this camera. After 3 years using this camera the only thing I've found that I dislike about it is that it's very slow. I shoot RAW exclusively and taking pictures is a "shoot and wait" exercise in patience watching the hour glass while it saves the image. Other than that, I really like this camera.
11/29/2005 2:03:47 AM
 
Julie Whyte

member since: 11/8/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I feel that the Nikon is a good camera, however, the Macro feature has never worked well for me and I am dissatisfied with indoor photography, even with a bounce flash added on. However, there are several desirable features such as Quick View of your recent photos, Protection feature to mark photos that you don't want deleted accidentally, and zoom in the viewing mode. This has saved me from thinking I had a great shot, when it truly was out of focus.
11/8/2005 10:55:06 PM
 
Connie Styduhar

member since: 8/30/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The photos are not so great when zoomed in to take picture.
9/26/2005 4:11:23 PM
 

First 10 of 56 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.