BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Online 4-Week Short Course - Getting Started in Commercial Photography

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

4-Week Short Course: Getting Started in Commercial Photography Photography Course
Course Instructor: © John H. Siskin
4-Week Short Course: Getting Started in Commercial Photography

Learn new skills that will enable you to work as a professional photographer for businesses. This exciting 4-week online course - by commercial photographer John Siskin - covers product photography, copy work, architectural photography and industrial photography. These are the kinds of work that are used by businesses for everything from annual reports to catalogs and Web sites. This class will help you improve your lighting skills and learn to use them in new situations! Students and the instructor will have an opportunity to interact about business topics as well as photographic issues.

Category: Lighting / Exposure
Skill Level: 4 - Advanced
Only $198 USD

Learn more about
4-Week Short Course: Getting Started in Commercial Photography


7 Reviews  

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Phyllis Peterson
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/19/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I learned so much in this class! I appreciated all the information, hints, techniques, equipment ideas, etc., that you shared in your course material. I liked that your critiques were prompt and your suggestions were perfect.
5/3/2013 8:39:00 AM
 
Mark Calibo
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/8/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is for the serious hobbiest in studio style photography or photographers interested in going professional in commercial photography. It was very interesting just to learn the techniques used in commercial photograpghy. I learned a lot or enough to get me interested in pursuing this further. John is a true professional and extremely helpful with lots of reference material. Highly recommended but not for the novice!
4/8/2013 6:25:08 PM
 
Shana Shoblaska
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/18/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is an ideal course for professionals or those seeking to enter the commercial photography field. The instructor gives a good amount of technical information which is highly useful. Although I didn't have strobes and special lighting equipment, I was still able to complete the course and learn a lot.
4/9/2012 4:34:53 PM
 
Brenda Bentley
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Brenda
Brenda's Gallery

member since: 9/3/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Learned so much from this class it will take a while to absorb it all. The extra information provided to help with the assignments was extremely helpful. Now I know how beautiful jewelry and any shiny objects in magazines photos come out so wonderful. I have much more confidence now to be able to work with product photography and future clients.
7/17/2010 4:35:41 PM
 
Nessrine Ismail El Guindi

member since: 4/13/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is an excellent course with an outstanding teacher.
John’s critiques are the real gem of the course. His approach is plain, to the point and constructive. John gives tips and techniques that are so eye opening..
Product photography is a very intimidating subject. The course covers in detail how to photograph any product, shiny products, jewellery, big objects, interiors and architecture. It explains “why” you would use this lighting equipment and not another, and where to place it and where not to place it and why. The course gives some tips and techniques that are easy to apply to get professional results every time. I have made my own summary points from the lessons and critiques that I will always go back to in my product photography.
I came a cross a book by John Siskin that is not yet out “Understanding and Controlling Strobe Lighting: A Guide for Digital Photographers” that I am very excited about it.

A great course that I would recommend very highly!

7/1/2010 12:33:36 PM
 
Jon M. Lamrouex
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Jon
Jon's Gallery
jmlamrouex.com

member since: 5/10/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have taken more than one class from John and have been pleased during and after each class. I was very happy and challenged with the lesson content, class interaction and John's willingness to go beyond the call of duty for his students.

I was also extremely pleased with how I was able to implement the skills provided by working through the lessons right away.

This most recent class, Business to Business: Commercial Photography, has given me the professional confidence to move ahead with my plans to become a professional photographer. The lessons included photography knowledge specific to what a commercial photographer must know but also expanded that beyond photography to the business aspects of being a professional and in business.

My thanks go out to John Siskin for his wisdom and the BetterPhoto for being able to attract these professionals to teach us. It has truly enriched my photography and propelled me to attempt greater things.

12/7/2009 9:11:22 AM
 
Wheeler McDougal Jr.
wheelermcdougal.com

member since: 10/13/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
John did a magnificent job with this difficult course. This is my 12th course in Betterphoto.com given by a variety of professionals and by far the best. I would recommend it to anyone wanting to sharpen their skills in lighting and setup in the area of commercial photography. John's comments concerning the work submitted for the assignments were to the point and very helpful. Thanks again John and I will look forward to the next course you teach.
Wheeler McDougal Jr.
7/25/2009 11:54:38 AM
 

7 Reviews  

Add your own review

Enroll

Add to Wishlist


Copyright © 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc.® All Rights Reserved.