BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Dimage S404 Digital Camera


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Baby
View photos created with this camera

Features:


  • 4-megapixel sensor captures 2,272 x 1,704 images for prints at
    11 x 14 inches and beyond
  • 4x optical/2.2x digital (8.8x total) zoom lens with autofocus
  • Included 16 MB CompactFlash card stores 12 images at default
    resolution
  • Automatically connects with Macs and PCs via USB port
  • Uses 4 AA batteries (alkalines included)

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 17 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Teresa E. Hamm

member since: 4/12/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is my first digital camera and I am always suprised that the pictures come out better than I hoped.
4/19/2006 4:47:28 PM
 
Wendie Sakakeeny

member since: 12/7/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I had this camera for 3 years, used ONLY it's auto features(it had many more!)...with some very happy results
1/7/2006 11:58:56 AM
 
Amy J. Solly

member since: 11/3/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Overall the camera takes wonderful pictures. I have had terrible luck with closeup pictures though.
12/6/2005 12:32:43 PM
 
Chris P. Partida

member since: 8/10/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I loved this camera when I first bought it, but then slowly started disliking it. The wheel that powers it on was too sensitive, the menu button broke easily and the battery life was no good with my 512 Mb CF. It did take some really good pictures for me though.
8/10/2005 12:20:17 PM
 
John T. Peters
blueskiesphotos.com

member since: 6/19/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I bought this Minolta Dimage about 3 years ago and I liked it a lot but I really longed for the SLR so now I have a Nikon D70.
6/22/2005 5:32:20 PM
 
Morgan D. Guiley

member since: 10/27/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I've had this camera for over a year, and it's worked great!! I love that you can take pictures in succession with just the click of a button! It takes very clear pictures--in low lights sometimes the pictures turn out blurry, but that seems to be any camera! I've been very, very pleased with it. I'd reccomend it to anyone!! No real complaints--the only "problem" is there's a little piece inside the camera that has fallen down at the top of the screen on the back--doesn't effect the picture at all, just a "cosmetic" problem.
10/27/2004 10:14:48 AM
 
Steve P. Szabados

member since: 9/15/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
It's a little bigger than I wanted, but the quality, craftsmanship and lens are great. Using the manual settings, some photos are not as vivid as I would like, especially if there is sky in the background.
9/16/2004 6:36:48 AM
 
Barbara L. Brands

member since: 4/15/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
The Minolta Dimage S404 is no longer an option. I think the newer one is the S414. They are good cameras for the auto shooter. Easy to use and the quality of images is acceptable. But of course as a basic point and shoot...not much control.
8/19/2004 7:20:41 PM
 
Lem Metro

member since: 8/15/2002
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Very limited manual control at 4MP. Only 2 aperture choices in AP mode. No manual mode. The Minolta GT 4X optical, all metal construction & Compactflash memory are the best points of this digicam. Servicable as a point & shoot only. Some control over WB, EV and focus modes.
8/19/2004 8:41:54 AM
 
Barbara L. Brands

member since: 4/15/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Length of use: 1 yr. It is a good mid-range camera first digital camera. I have taken thousands of pictures this year and I am overall happy with the quality for the price. It's a good camera for beginners and intermediate users. The setting choices are varied and easy to use. It uses rechargable AA batteries and to me that's a plus. The only thing I don't like about this camera is the on/off dial. It is located on top of the camera and turns on going in and out of the bag. Sometimes it comes on while in bag and wastes battery power. I have tried putting a piece of tape on it to stop the dial from turning, but it hasn't been very effective. When I asked Minolta about this problem, they suggested pulling the batteries when the camera is in the bag...not a very convenient fix.
4/19/2004 5:12:41 PM
 
Andrew J. Wyant

member since: 1/31/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
This camera has been a great learning tool. It has a few things I dislike about it. The zoom isn't very good and it is hard to focus in the manual mode. Overall it contains many options in regards to lighting, shutter speed, color, and quality.
1/31/2004 7:47:11 PM
 

First 10 of 17 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Buy Dimage S404 Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.