BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


An Introduction to Photographic Lighting

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

Learn how strobes work and what kind of strobe equipment you might need in this outstanding online photography course. This 4-week class draws on more than 15 years of John Siskin’s experience in teaching Professional Lighting. This class has two goals: One, to help you decide how to start with artificial lighting, and two, to help you understand how to approach lighting problems with your tools. The class will introduce you to the whole range of lighting tools and how to hold it all together. All of the assignments, which are designed to enable you to understand how light works, can be done with cheap lights you can get at a home improvement or hardware store.


17 Reviews  

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Gregory Mencotti

member since: 1/1/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
One of the most valuable of the 14 BP classes I’ve taken to date, John imparts expert lighting knowledge and wisdom. Even though this is an “Intro” class, his lesson plans, supplemental info and high standards make this course potentially satisfying to advanced shooters wanting to enhance their studio lighting prowess. John is a great teacher, and offers an astounding degree of personal attention to his students. I recommend without reservation!
4/3/2012 5:58:56 AM
 
Betsy Sasnett
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Betsy
Betsy's Gallery

member since: 11/6/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a great course for learning photographic lighting. I learned so much and can't wait to put it to use!
1/8/2012 1:13:27 PM
 
Steve Miller
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/28/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I can't begin to say how much I learned in this class. I am no longer intimidated by photographic lighting. John's lessons did a great job giving us a lot of knowledge about lighting, and lighting equipment. He also sent our several mid-week emails with bonus info. Without yet having to buy anything expensive, I now feel ready to jump into the complex and expensive world of lighting equipment. I also feel like I have a direction for what equipment I would like to buy as I can afford. I see light differently now, and can use that to my advantage in all areas of my photography.
11/10/2011 1:36:04 PM
 
Gill Masters
BetterPhoto Member
gillimasters.com

member since: 9/20/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I wanted to say thank you for all the help you have given me! I
really enjoyed the class, and it has given me a whole new direction in my
photography that I wasn't expecting. So far, photography for me has been about landscapes and sport action, but now the lighting has really grabbed my attention. I am very keen to practice and experiment to find a new outlet for my creativity. It also appears that I have a few friends who are very willing to sit for me. I think I will be having a lot of fun with this!
8/30/2011 10:48:15 AM
 
Peggy J. Pfister
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Peggy
Peggy's Gallery

member since: 2/2/2011
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This class provides not only theoretical knowledge, but very practical info and tips that the student can put to good use immediately. John is extremely knowledgeable, and is a patient, accessible, and supportive instructor. Great class!
6/1/2011 8:22:16 PM
 
Cindy A. Brown
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/9/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I really enjoyed John's class. He is a fountain of information, very willing to help and is quick to answer questions. If you are wanting to learn about photographic lighting this is most certainly the class for you.
5/3/2011 2:02:35 PM
 
D Jensen
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/17/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is by far the best photography class I have ever taken. John is an excellent instructor, and is always there for you. He provides lots of extra valuable information, and his critiques are very honest and helpful. Really, really enjoyed this class!
4/27/2011 3:29:57 PM
 
Pat Harry
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Pat
Pat's Gallery

member since: 11/26/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I can not say enough great things about this course and John. The content was great, and John made it even better. John had an obvious goal to make me a better photographer - he was accessible, approachable, willing, and able! Thank you, John, for an outstanding experience!
1/6/2011 10:15:49 AM
 
Brenda Bentley
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Brenda
Brenda's Gallery

member since: 9/3/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a lighting class full of information on basic lighting methods. The instructor, John Siskin, provided a ton of additional information besides the regular class lessons. You'll learn how to make some of your own lighting props if you desire, get some really helpful critiques, and find out what kind of lighting equipment you want and need on your journey in photography. This class will take you to a new level in making your images better.
5/5/2010 5:55:39 PM
 
Rhonda Royse
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/20/2009
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This was an excellent class! John did a great job of explaining everything. This gave me knowledge about lighting that I didnt know before and gave me confidence as well. This class has inspired me to take additional courses and continue my learning. Thank you John!
1/31/2010 5:55:50 PM
 
Corey A. Young

member since: 11/5/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
John, I just wanted to let you know this was one of the most useful classes I’ve ever taken in any field. You’ve really helped my clarify what I want to do with photography. I will definitely be taking your other two classes and getting your book.
1/20/2010 3:13:39 PM
 
Lisa McFarland

member since: 11/21/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
A great intro to all of that "lighting stuff", with excellent information for the beginner. If you don't know the difference between your snout and your snoot - this course is for you!
12/23/2009 6:00:35 PM
 
Jill Hornish

member since: 8/28/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks, John, for your helpful and encouraging comments! I've surprised myself during the last month by learning to see light in a whole new way. Critiquing the light myself and changing things accordingly has taught me more than I could have imagined. Thanks for your enthusiastic generosity in sharing your knowledge. You've certainly given us a lot of extra information, in addition to the lessons. I really appreciate your extra effort!
10/2/2009 8:15:49 AM
 
Natalie Shumovsky

member since: 4/3/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Although this course seemed to start off a little boring, shooting a styrofoam wig head, it proved very useful to understand the basics of lighting. I have been photographing for a long time but I never had a chance to experiment with light as I did by taking this course, and I felt it was very useful to start at this basic level to get the concept of lighting down pat, before moving on to a more in-depth course on portrait photography. This course has helped me understand more about lighting and how all of my photos (not just portraits) can be improved. John is a very enthusiastic teacher and very helpful, and he provided plenty of extra notes to complement the lessons.
7/31/2009 8:41:17 AM
 
Susan Brown
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/18/2000
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
John was an excellent instructor in all ways. His personal touch, timely and appropriate critiques made learning very enjoyable. I was really glad I enrolled in his "Introduction to Photographic Lighting."
2/3/2009 7:02:44 AM
 
Anonymous 

member since: 10/16/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is an excellent course.

For beginners...
This class enabled me to understand how we can use artificial light to create the desired effect and also understand the nuances of light and shadow -- from week one, using two clamp lights bought at the hardware store.

For everyone....
What makes this class really unique is that John works with each student individually and helps him/her to choose and use the right tools (e.g., lights, umbrellas, panels, barn doors, soft boxes etc) depending on his/her goals. It is really rare to work with an instructor who is so knowledgeable and willing to share so much.

THANK YOU John!

-- Lilia, Understanding the Tools of Lighting

2/19/2008 5:34:58 PM
 
Jon M. Lamrouex
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Jon
Jon's Gallery

member since: 5/10/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course provides an excellent introduction to using artificial light. I think that it is much more than an introduction. In the past I have tried to use strobes to take portrait and group shot will limited success. With the information John has provided I now fell very confident that my next effort using strobes and the associated tools, diffusion panel and umbrellas as well as light direction.

Our instructor, John Siskin, has an abundance of knowledge and is so willing to share it even to the extent of making a personal call to discuss the class and my hopes and desires for the class.

I am looking forward to taking other classes from John, he is a great instructor with skills and experience he is anxious to share.

10/31/2007 6:19:42 AM
 

17 Reviews  

Add your own review

Enroll

Add to Wishlist


Copyright © 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc.® All Rights Reserved.