N2020/F501 SLR Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

Blue Solitude
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


14 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Stacy  S. Sims 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2006 5:29:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2006 5:29:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2006 5:29:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2006 5:29:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2006 5:29:19 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like my camera very much. I like being able to use different lens with it. Different shutter speeds and choosing the film I want to use. What I don't like about it is with all the new digital cameras accessories for my camera are getting harder to find. Digital cameras can never replace 35mm but people will find that out after 35's are gone.
5/31/2006 5:29:19 PM
 
Bea Bailey 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2004 6:50:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2004 6:50:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2004 6:50:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2004 6:50:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2004 6:50:48 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great 35mm, excellent shots!
7/17/2004 6:50:48 AM
 
Brad Scruggs
bradscruggsphotography.com
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2004 3:44:22 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2004 3:44:22 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2004 3:44:22 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2004 3:44:22 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2004 3:44:22 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good camera, just not digital.
7/9/2004 3:44:22 PM
 
Catherine E. Bono 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2004 2:36:33 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2004 2:36:33 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2004 2:36:33 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2004 2:36:33 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2004 2:36:33 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Fantastic to learn on manually but archaic when it comes to auto focus and such. Beautiful images though.
5/30/2004 2:36:33 AM
 
Erik Moon 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2004 6:52:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2004 6:52:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2004 6:52:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2004 6:52:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2004 6:52:41 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have owned my Nikon 2020 AF for 18 yrs. In all those years,the only problem I had was the electronic shutter quit working and had to be replaced in 1995. I think center weighted metering is very acurate and the camera is very dependable, despight the older AF system.
4/9/2004 6:52:41 PM
 
Donna D. Whatley 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2004 1:50:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2004 1:50:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2004 1:50:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2004 1:50:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2004 1:50:12 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I like the fact that I was able to start taking pictures right away with it and didn't have to do much reading on learning the different things that it did. My first few rolls came out with better than half in good shape.(not many were blured)It is in my opion the best camera that I could have ever bought.
3/25/2004 1:50:12 AM
 
Richard R. Montour 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2003 11:03:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2003 11:03:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2003 11:03:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2003 11:03:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2003 11:03:18 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very nice camera. I love it! It has a lot of versatility. You can use the program features to shoot rapidly or you can use normal aperture/speed functions if you have more time. I love the constant feature on the camera for waterfall pics and real cool landscape pics.
12/19/2003 11:03:18 AM
 
Mark W. Krist 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2003 8:53:26 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2003 8:53:26 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2003 8:53:26 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2003 8:53:26 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2003 8:53:26 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
My grandfater gave me my camera, He was a Photographer. I love my camera. And the Lord has Bless me with it.
10/29/2003 8:53:26 AM
 
Jill Odice 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2003 12:29:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2003 12:29:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2003 12:29:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2003 12:29:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2003 12:29:47 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Love this one too !
10/18/2003 12:29:47 PM
 
Rob  4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2003 3:13:25 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2003 3:13:25 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2003 3:13:25 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2003 3:13:25 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2003 3:13:25 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
N2020. Rushed into service when Minolta came in to nearly dominate the market with its first generation of Maxxum autofocus SLRs. All the other companies reeled including Nikon. Nikon stuck an autofocus module on the existing manual N2020 and voila! The N2020. Unfortunately, the stopgap effort showed. Until the N8008 of 1988, Nikon didn't produce an af slr taken seriously...buuut.
The N2020 if taken for what it is, is a very competent, solidly made MANUAL FOCUS slr with the option of rudimentary autofocus. With more exposure modes then the N2000 (unfortunately, none had shutter priority), incredible range of compatibility with existing manual focus Nikon mount lens whether, ai'd, ai or ais, ability to focus confirm indicate with lenses of f/4.5 and faster, the N2020 is versatile. It is small and compact. Compared to it's manual focus older sister, the Nikon FG with MD-14 motor, the N2020 is lighter, smaller and gets a decent 2.5 frames per second with its built in winder with either 4 aa or aaa batteries depending on the battery holder attached. (The FG and motordrive give only .7 frames per second faster and requires 8 aa batteries. Bulky and heavy.)
The N2020 compares to the FG in many ways with both similar in performance levels. The N2020 offers more program modes (3 vs. 1 on FG). A higher top shutter speed (1/2000 vs. 1/1000). Higher flash sync (1/125 vs. 1/90). It also has a data back which allows it to "trap focus" (snaps shutter when object is at prearranged point of focus), thus giving manual lenses near af abilities. It also takes a teleconverter, the TC16AF , which allows it to autofocus with manual focus lenses which are f/2.8 or faster).
Except for it's lack of depth of field preview, the N2020 is solid and reliable. A very underrated Nikon . Because of it's unpopular underdog status, the N2020 tends to be undervalued on the used market. I had an N8008s for years and when it went under, a cheap, used N2020 which I brought from a friend in my camera club saved the day and allowed me to keep shooting.
For a little more on the used market, one can get the N6006. With it's faster AF, autobracketing, built in flash , and spotmetering, the N6006 is a capable camera. But I hate the lithium batteries it uses, and the N6006 just feels more fragile. (I've seen them used for semi-pro level work and they always seemed to get bashed up and in the repair shop. Plus, it doesn't give as many options with ai/ais lenses.
If the price is right and it's in good shape, the N2020 is a solid Nikon and will produce great pics.
9/25/2003 3:13:25 AM
 
Yoshi Melrose 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2003 5:08:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2003 5:08:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2003 5:08:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2003 5:08:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2003 5:08:17 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The Nikon 2020 was my first SLR. I think it just has that sentimental attachment, but I love everything about it.
7/29/2003 5:08:17 PM
 
Eva  Guzman 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2003 3:10:44 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2003 3:10:44 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2003 3:10:44 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2003 3:10:44 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2003 3:10:44 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I had this camera for about 15 years now and quite satisfied with it.I really like the autofocus lens because it is a great help with closeup pictures and it is quite good for the kind of pictures that I take...floral closeups.
7/19/2003 3:10:44 PM
 
Ronald R. Melanson 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 12:17:54 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 12:17:54 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 12:17:54 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 12:17:54 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 12:17:54 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Easy to handle,accepts numerous accessories. Negative:somewhat expensive compared to my digital camera.
7/9/2003 12:17:54 PM
 
Shane McMillan 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 2:10:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 2:10:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 2:10:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 2:10:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 2:10:25 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my Nikon N2020, it is a a little too slow as far as the autofocus goes, but in every other respect it is perfect. It is tough and has excellent exposures and a nice feel in your hands. The bottom plate has a way of getting loose sometimes, and you have to be careful you don't loose it... In general it has been an excellent camera for me....
6/17/2003 2:10:25 PM
 

14 Reviews