Online Photo Course - Techniques of Natural Light Photography with Jim Zuckerman

4-Week Short Course: Techniques of Natural Light Photography Photography Course
Course Instructor: Jim Zuckerman
4-Week Short Course: Techniques of Natural Light Photography

Learn how to be sensitive to light, one of the two main ingredients that go into making great photographs. In this 4-week online class - taught by famed author/photographer Jim Zuckerman - you will find out how to become a "pro" at working with natural light. You will learn to use natural light to take your images to the next level - to having them be seen as fine art. You will explore topics that will immediately transform your work, such as low-angled sunlight, moody light (fog, low clouds, and rain), backlighting, and window light.

Category: Lighting / Exposure
Skill Level: 2 - Serious Hobbyist
Only $198 USD

Learn more about
4-Week Short Course: Techniques of Natural Light Photography


27 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Carla Maddox
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2011 3:02:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2011 3:02:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2011 3:02:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2011 3:02:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2011 3:02:38 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was probably the most exciting course I've taken so far from Better Photos.com. It's all about lighting and I fell in love with the use of misty morning and window light. Truthfully, this lesson was about light that I never really noticed before. There is a new skill to take away from every one of Jim Zuckerman's lessons, whether he likes your picture or not - he is a teacher.
5/2/2011 3:02:38 PM
 
Marta Lesniak 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2011 12:43:37 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2011 12:43:37 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2011 12:43:37 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2011 12:43:37 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2011 12:43:37 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It's been the most disappointing betterphoto course I have taken so far, in comparison to others, that have been excellent. In my opinion, the lessons contained too many examples of the instructor's photos, without the actual decription of the techniques he used. I missed the technical instruction. I have seen Jim's beautiful shots, but still I don't know how to take such photos myself.
1/12/2011 12:43:37 AM
 
John Kalb 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2010 6:32:45 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2010 6:32:45 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2010 6:32:45 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2010 6:32:45 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2010 6:32:45 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this class. It helped me be able to look at and think about about the light I am seeing and capture it in more sophisticated ways. The lessons were clear and had lots of examples to consider. The assignments asked us to focus on ideas, not just techniques. Jim's critiques were supportive, insightful and helped me understand how to refine the photos even further. I feel that this class helped my photos get better technically but more importantly my images are getting stronger too.
6/3/2010 6:32:45 AM
 
Steinar Kibsgaard
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/31/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2009 1:58:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2009 1:58:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2009 1:58:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2009 1:58:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2009 1:58:15 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I must say - we learned the secrets of the best light. I have to thank Jim so much because he forced us to take photos of the same subject in different light - ....that will say go to the same place more than once the day, and that was hard work, but it payed off, and suddenly I began to get more attention about my photos at my photo-forum after I learned this;);)

In a way I knew the secrets - have read it, but NOT learned it, but as mentioned: Jim really forced us to try it out and experience the difference ourselves - to compare it, and W A U - I will never shoot in midday anymore. The difference is night and day.

5/1/2009 1:58:15 PM
 
Pamela L. Bycraft
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/9/2008
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2009 6:02:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2009 6:02:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2009 6:02:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2009 6:02:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2009 6:02:56 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is a great course from a fantastic instructor. I learned lots about using natural lighting.
4/5/2009 6:02:56 AM
 
Beate Dalbec 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2009 2:09:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2009 2:09:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2009 2:09:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2009 2:09:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2009 2:09:42 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this class. It made me use some lighting situations which I sofar had not considered. Jim's critiques where to the point and constructive. It is certainly helpful to see the pictures of all the other students and read their critiques also. I am looking forward to taking more courses in the future.
4/2/2009 2:09:42 PM
 
Dawn Owens 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2008 8:05:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2008 8:05:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2008 8:05:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2008 8:05:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2008 8:05:36 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Jim was a wonderful instructor and so quick to answer every question I sent.
11/29/2008 8:05:36 PM
 
Shelia Earl
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/30/2008
searlphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2008 8:10:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2008 8:10:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2008 8:10:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2008 8:10:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2008 8:10:20 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I learned so much from this course and the instructor was always prompt in answering questions. I enjoyed and learned from the other students in the class, as well. A great course!! I definitely intend to take more courses from BetterPhoto. Shelia
10/1/2008 8:10:20 AM
 
Kiril D. Kirkov
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/30/2006
Contact Kiril
Kiril's Gallery
kirilkirkovphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2008 1:56:37 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2008 1:56:37 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2008 1:56:37 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2008 1:56:37 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2008 1:56:37 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
How to use "the natural lighting"? Jim gives such a good answers , regarding all the aspects of nature photography. I am happy to be Jim's student , and can't wait to continue with my lessons ! Kiril
6/25/2008 1:56:37 AM
 
Cheryl Ann Gould
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/30/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2008 9:07:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2008 9:07:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2008 9:07:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2008 9:07:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2008 9:07:42 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was my 2nd class with Jim and I am looking forward to the 3rd (and 4th, 5th, and 6th!). He is so positive, supportive and enthusiastic.
4/27/2008 9:07:42 AM
 
Marcy Ugstad
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/3/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2007 8:44:29 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2007 8:44:29 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2007 8:44:29 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2007 8:44:29 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2007 8:44:29 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Jim is a fantastic instructor - gives good suggestions, constructive criticism and is always there to answer student's questions.

Topics in course were interesting, challenging, and full of good tips for taking better photos and learning to see different types of light.

This has been one of the best courses I've taken at Better Photo and would highly recommend this intstructor (Jim Zuckerman) and this course to anyone wanting to improve their photography skills. I plan to take many more courses from Jim and also other courses at Better Photo.

7/7/2007 8:44:29 AM
 
Cheryl Kolus 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2007 11:21:58 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2007 11:21:58 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2007 11:21:58 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2007 11:21:58 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2007 11:21:58 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I enjoyed this class and Jim's critiques. The class forced me to experiment and use my flash, which I really needed to do. However, I feel that the lessons could have used more detail. I found myself reading them over and over again to pull out what I needed to know to do the assignments, and sometimes I was still unsure. There will always be questions, I know, and Jim was very good about answering them, but I think a little more info up front in the lessons would help a lot.
3/12/2007 11:21:58 AM
 
Suzanne Hull
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/25/2005
shdigitalart.com
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2007 9:12:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2007 9:12:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2007 9:12:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2007 9:12:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2007 9:12:04 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Jim is my favorite teacher at Better Photo, and the closest thing I have to a mentor....I finally learned enough about flash in this course to at least experiment with on and off-camera flash...I still have a bit of an avoidance with flash, but this introduction to the basics has helped.
3/11/2007 9:12:04 PM
 
Nancy Miz.
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/13/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2007 6:11:14 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2007 6:11:14 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2007 6:11:14 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2007 6:11:14 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2007 6:11:14 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I think Jim was an excellent instructor. I really appreciated his critiques. I don't think his travel affected the flow of the class at all. For me I found the first 5-6 classes very beneficial. I do think under requirements an off-camera flash should be listed. I would really like to do a course to learn about my flash. I found the last two classes not detailed enough to really understand the use of flash. I would love to do another class with Jim.
3/9/2007 6:11:14 AM
 
Sherri L. Regalbuto
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/8/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2007 7:03:36 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2007 7:03:36 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2007 7:03:36 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2007 7:03:36 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2007 7:03:36 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this course. Jim's critiques were very honest which caused me to raise the bar with my own work. Any questions were answered quickly, even OT subject. I love a challenge and strive to always improve through education.
2/22/2007 7:03:36 AM
 
John Bald
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/16/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 1:27:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 1:27:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 1:27:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 1:27:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 1:27:34 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This was my 2nd BetterPhoto course and it was enjoyable and informative. The exercises were good and I learned a lot. I finally understand how to use fill flash effectively! Jim's critiques were accurate and helped me to learn. I see that others were disappointed in Jim having to be away, but he did make that clear from the beginning (there was note on the web page before I even signed up), so I think he handled it in a fair way. The only recommendation I have for improving the course would be to add even more detail to the lessons. They were fine, but would be improved with maybe 30% more text (30% more instructional information). The only real negative aspect of the course had nothing to do with Jim or BetterPhoto -- the weather was chronically lousy during the course and I wished I had not taken it in winter!
3/31/2006 1:27:34 PM
 
Carin M. Smolinski
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/24/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 5:16:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 5:16:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 5:16:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 5:16:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 5:16:29 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I really loved this class. Compared to my other course I did, I found it informative, and Jim as a teacher inspired me to go out and shoot. His critiques were truthful and encouraging. I found his interaction and comments great. Personally, I really appreciated the time he took to travel for me to catch up, re-read the lessons, and shoot more photos! I also like that he is out there shooting cool stuff and sharing it with us. WIll definitely take another course with Jim!

Carin Smolinski

3/19/2006 5:16:29 PM
 
Charles Klieman 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 8:00:27 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 8:00:27 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 8:00:27 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 8:00:27 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 8:00:27 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I have learned some useful information about light, but would find this class more useful with some hands on instruction. I was dissapointed in the lack of focus Jim had on this course and the conflict of this course with his travel plans and his ability to stay in touch.
There is still a gap in my knowledge of how to control the amount of light you need and how to meter it. That I am working on.
3/13/2006 8:00:27 PM
 
Virginia L. Shuford 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 1:31:20 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 1:31:20 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 1:31:20 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 1:31:20 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 1:31:20 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This is the second full class that I have taken at Better Photo. While Jim's lessons generally were clear and without question contained useful information, I was disappointed in his direct involvement in the course. While we were "warned" in advance that he would be traveling during the course delaying some of the feedback, I still felt that the class was not a priority in his roster of activities/professional commitments. I did not receive any answer to the only question that I posted to Q&A during the course (and prior to his travels). Even if his intention is to answer every question "eventually" I was sorry not to receive an answer while working on the lesson or at least shortly thereafter.

Again, I felt that the lessons in general were clearly written, the photos he used to illustrate concepts were great, and I do feel that I walked away learning things. However, I am not sure that I learned much more than I would have learned if I had read the lessons independent of the course.

I am still interested in taking another course at Better Photo but would have to think twice about taking another course with Jim, particularly during a time when he is traveling during the session. I have read several of his publications and while a great admirer of his work and publications, I was somewhat disappointed with this particular session.

3/13/2006 1:31:20 PM
 
Dawn Penso
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/6/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 11:49:56 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 11:49:56 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 11:49:56 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 11:49:56 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 11:49:56 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This course had a lot of information but I found the material too thinly spread - like a magazine article in some cases. A bit disappointing, really.
9/6/2005 11:49:56 PM
 
albert a. caporaso
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/17/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 7:15:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 7:15:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 7:15:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 7:15:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 7:15:35 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I would like to thank Jim publically for all his help. This course accomplished the objectives I set for myself. Jim is a natural teacher. The lessons and examples were well thought out and gave me the information I needed to go out and practice the techniques. The critques of my photos and my classmates' photos were right on target and helped me up become a better phtographer. All my questions were answered quickly. I would have never dreamed that I could have a photographer of Jim's ability help me and make me feel so comfortable asking my elementary questions. I plan to continue my education with a few more of Jim's courses.

Al Caporaso

8/29/2005 7:15:35 PM
 
Dawn O
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/6/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2005 11:52:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2005 11:52:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2005 11:52:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2005 11:52:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2005 11:52:33 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
As this class comes to an end, I would like to thank you very much for your generosity, kindness, patience, and for being an inspiring instructor. This class was just great and taking it was certainly the best thing I have done for myself in a long time. The quality of this course, your level of instruction, your professionalism along with the way you always went out of your way to answer my questions and to help were unexpected bonuses. Your appreciation for my work and your encouragement inspired me to work even harder than I normally would. Thank you very much.

I will look forward to the next class I will take from you. It will probably be the marketing course. I will be in touch about the photos for the book probably sometime over the next few months.

3/9/2005 11:52:33 AM
 
Michele M. Preste
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/16/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2005 11:40:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2005 11:40:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2005 11:40:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2005 11:40:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2005 11:40:47 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Enjoyed the class.
Jim, I'd like to thank you for a very enjoyable class and your insightful critiques. The photo examples in your lessons helped motivate me to try shots I hadn't tried befoe. The flash portion of the class was both frustrating and enjoyable. My flash unit isn't my buddy yet but it is at least a friend now. The flash-motion blur lesson was a great way to end the class. I had a lot of fun with it and have a whole series of subjects lined up awaiting me. I'll be signing up for your April special effects class (does that surprise you). Thanks again.
3/9/2005 11:40:47 AM
 
Carl Sloss 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2005 11:13:02 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2005 11:13:02 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2005 11:13:02 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2005 11:13:02 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2005 11:13:02 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Hi Jim,
Thank you for your comments. Your class has been a great deal of fun. I am glad that I have been a part of it. It has taught me so much about lighting. I will continue to practice these techniques and become better in my photography. You are and have been a great teacher.
3/9/2005 11:13:02 AM
 
Sharon E. Lowe
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/7/2002
Contact Sharon
Sharon's Gallery
photosbysharon.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:28:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:28:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:28:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:28:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:28:51 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I really like Jim's style and want to learn more about lighting... Taking the courses you offer really helps me focus and works great for me while my 4 year old is still not in school full time. Plus, Jim is a great inspiration so I will take any new classes you can get him to teach! You made a great decision in getting him to teach courses for you - maybe you can convince him to add to your digital imaging courses - I loved his digital imaging book as well as his older book about creative techniques using plain old film techniques!
1/3/2004 11:28:51 PM
 
Cathy Vanzant 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:25:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:25:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:25:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:25:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:25:59 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks for the opportunity to take classes via email, I can't believe how much I have learned! I have a long way to go... but, the entire experience has been great.
1/3/2004 11:25:59 PM
 
Willy Haenggi 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:23:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:23:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:23:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:23:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:23:23 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks a lot Jim for your nice comments! The most important thing to me is that your lessons really turn me on and make me get up early in the morning to SEE the moody light! As one of our class-mates said: the way of looking at things and their lighting changed dramatically from the very first moments when this class started.
1/3/2004 11:23:23 PM
 

27 Reviews  


Enroll

Add to Wishlist