D40x Digital SLR Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital SLR Cameras

Barn Door
View photos created with this camera

The D40x Digital SLR Camera

Features:


  • 10.2-megapixel CCD captures enough detail for large, photo-quality prints
  • 2.5-inch LCD monitor; 170-degree viewing angle
  • 3D Color Matrix Metering II for ideal exposures in almost any lighting
    condition
  • Image optimization functions and in-camera image retouching
  • Includes 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor lens

  • Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

    Back to Photo School?
    Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


    16 Reviews  

    Average Rating: 5 out of 5

    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
     
    Martin P. Goldenberg 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2009 8:02:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2009 8:02:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2009 8:02:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2009 8:02:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2009 8:02:57 AM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    Great Dslr camera, love the quality of the photos and all the different types of activities ... Easy to handle just the right size. flash is not that great
    but sufficient. Added an Nikon SB400 flash which is in sync with the camera.

    Love the camera

    2/27/2009 8:02:57 AM
     
    Algy O'Connell 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2009 4:07:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2009 4:07:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2009 4:07:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2009 4:07:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2009 4:07:50 PM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    Personally I think its a great camera
    It is my first one, but from using other peoples cameras as well as my own I do like it.
    It would be handy if it did have more a range of lenses which would also have a much quicker focus time. But in general I am pleased with it, nice to be able to have a few little diagrams showing whats happening, e.g. Flash Exposure, F-Stop
    Battery life in general is good, nice ISO range

    Only thing Ive noticed about it is that it doesnt have a sync lead for studio work which would be used to set off the flashes depending on the setup, Trigger works on it fine, or flash can be used to set off other flashes with sensors

    1/1/2009 4:07:50 PM
     
    Buddy Venturanza
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/21/2005
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2008 1:49:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2008 1:49:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2008 1:49:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2008 1:49:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2008 1:49:45 PM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    One of the best in Nikon and one of my fave gear specially for macro shooting.
    9/20/2008 1:49:45 PM
     
    Me M.  3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2008 10:23:30 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2008 10:23:30 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2008 10:23:30 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2008 10:23:30 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2008 10:23:30 PM
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    I love the image quality, I just wish there was a focus motor and some dedicated settings buttons, rather then menus, and one setting button. Still, a rockin' camera!
    9/14/2008 10:23:30 PM
     
    Presley  K. Nash
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/11/2008
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 7:09:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 7:09:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 7:09:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 7:09:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 7:09:03 AM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    I love this camara. It's my first digital SLR and I am amazed by the pictures I have been able to take with it. It's also nice and light weight which is perfect for me.
    9/11/2008 7:09:03 AM
     
    Eric D. Hian-Cheong 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2008 9:59:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2008 9:59:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2008 9:59:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2008 9:59:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2008 9:59:09 AM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    Very great camera, only three auto focus points though compared to the canon 400d, but i've shot a lot with both cameras and the canon tends to be inaccurate when focusing, never had a problem with my nikon... If you're in doubt, just buy it...
    2/11/2008 9:59:09 AM
     
    Laura Vingada
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/3/2008
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2008 4:31:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2008 4:31:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2008 4:31:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2008 4:31:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2008 4:31:45 PM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    I'm new to DSLR photography. I've used a sony p&s for several years but I want to have more control over the aperture and shutter speed. Friends recommended I go with a Nikon because they liked using it. So after trying out a bunch of DSLRs and figuring that this is a new hobby and I know diddly squat about manual photography, I went with a good quality starter one. So far I am very happy with it.
    2/6/2008 4:31:45 PM
     
    Brant Leonard
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/15/2007
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2008 1:18:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2008 1:18:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2008 1:18:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2008 1:18:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2008 1:18:04 AM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    This is the first DSLR I have owned. I simply love it. So easy to use, battery last's for a very long time, plus its a Nikon!!! Great for a newbie
    1/18/2008 1:18:04 AM
     
    Bobbo Yeoman
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/6/2007
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2007 7:35:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2007 7:35:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2007 7:35:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2007 7:35:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2007 7:35:03 AM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    This is my First Nikon and I love it! Very easy to use and User Friendly!
    12/7/2007 7:35:03 AM
     
    Bobbo Yeoman
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/6/2007
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2007 7:34:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2007 7:34:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2007 7:34:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2007 7:34:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2007 7:34:53 AM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    This is my First Nikon and I love it! Very easy to use and User Friendly!
    12/7/2007 7:34:53 AM
     
    Zachary Shah 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2007 8:34:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2007 8:34:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2007 8:34:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2007 8:34:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2007 8:34:08 PM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    Hi guys, this is not a review or anything. I'm new to this website.

    I took the survey on the website and I'm into taking pictures of architecture/buildings, landscapes, people, sports and other random stuff.

    I'm a beginner and I'm wondering if this camera is suitable for me or can you recommend other suitable DSLR camera's with lack of shutter delay and interchangeability lenses.

    11/26/2007 8:34:08 PM
     
    Mihai Matei
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/11/2007
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2007 6:27:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2007 6:27:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2007 6:27:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2007 6:27:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2007 6:27:39 PM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    The smallest&lightest among NIKON D-slr
    Great digital camera!
    9/2/2007 6:27:39 PM
     
    Alex  Hochfelder
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/18/2007
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2007 12:38:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2007 12:38:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2007 12:38:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2007 12:38:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2007 12:38:11 PM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    great and easy to use
    8/20/2007 12:38:11 PM
     

    BetterPhoto Member
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2007 10:26:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2007 10:26:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2007 10:26:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2007 10:26:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2007 10:26:49 AM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    I really love this camera! It is my favorite one that I have used so far.
    6/13/2007 10:26:49 AM
     
    Harmeet Singh
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/20/2006
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2007 11:03:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2007 11:03:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2007 11:03:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2007 11:03:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2007 11:03:55 PM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    I am simply loving this camera.
    6/6/2007 11:03:55 PM
     
    Michael C. Grimley
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/14/2007
    4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/14/2007 10:25:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/14/2007 10:25:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/14/2007 10:25:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/14/2007 10:25:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/14/2007 10:25:13 PM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    this is a great tool for making quality digital images.
    5/14/2007 10:25:13 PM
     

    16 Reviews  

    Buy D40x Digital SLR Camera from Amazon.com