BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Online 4-Week Short Course - Composition - The Essentials with Simon Stafford

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

4-Week Short Course: Composition - The Essentials  Photography Course
Course Instructor: © Simon Stafford
4-Week Short Course: Composition - The Essentials

Learn the basic skills in photographic composition in order to elevate an ordinary shot to an extraordinary one. This four-week online photography class is taught by photographer and author Simon Stafford. It is dedicated to developing the essentials that will help you add an extra dimension to your photographs.

Category: Fundamentals Courses
Skill Level: 2 - Serious Hobbyist
Only $198 USD

Learn more about
4-Week Short Course: Composition - The Essentials


53 Reviews  

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Kathy Kegley

member since: 4/2/2013
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was a wonderful course - I learned so much! Each critique was incredibly generous in feedback helping students understand ways to reach their best potential, no matter what their current level of expertise. The course instruction was excellent with clear illustrations of valuable concepts. Questions were answered promptly and fully. I am inspired and looking forward to trying lessons from the class in the future, and I have already found I can edit my existing photographs with more confidence. Thank you, Simon!
1/15/2014 7:43:13 AM
 
Patty Petrik
pattypetrik-pics.com

member since: 11/6/2012
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I appreciate all of the things you have mentioned to consider. It seems the more I learn, the more I realize how much more I have to learn. Thanks again for all of your input in this class. I have thoroughly enjoyed it!
8/12/2013 8:41:36 AM
 
Ed Prasek

member since: 4/29/2013
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks for a great course. Nancy and I are having a lot of fun with it, and learning so much. Personally, I find photography overwhelming sometimes, what with all the technology, science, are art involved. I'm trying desperately to blend all three so I can consistently take gorgeous images. Your instruction and counsel has gone a long way to helping me realize this goal. Thank you!
8/12/2013 8:40:33 AM
 
Ed Prasek

member since: 4/29/2013
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great course that taught me a ton. Simon is a great instructor and provides excellent critiques of the photos you submit. I'll be taking many more BetterPhoto.com courses and hope some of them will again be with Simon as the instructor.
8/1/2013 8:41:45 AM
 
Utila Matzke
Contact Utila
Utila's Gallery

member since: 12/1/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I want to thank you again, Simon, for this excellent class! I learned so much and I will try to be aware of all the important details when taking pictures.
7/18/2013 7:31:05 AM
 
James R. Jensen
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/2/2012
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you, Simon, for another terrific class! Your lessons and critiques have helped me to take better photos, which I'm sure will only get better as I continue.
7/17/2013 2:57:19 PM
 
Utila Matzke
Contact Utila
Utila's Gallery

member since: 12/1/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This has been an excellent course. Simon is a great teacher, his lessons are easy to understand and his critiques and advice are detailed and comprehensive. Thank you Simon, I have learned very much with your lessons.

utila

7/10/2013 2:00:45 PM
 
Karen Vesey
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/13/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
As this course closes, I wanted to thank you for your instruction and input. All of it was helpful, and I particularly liked the adjustments you made so I could "see" what you were referring to in terms of how you might have taken the picture differently. This was my second BetterPhoto course, and while I will only ever be an amateur (not sure I can ever remember all the options and features to use, adjust, or re-adjust on the camera), I think my photos have improved and will continue to improve.
12/17/2012 9:32:28 PM
 
Sarka Cerna
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/13/2012
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have taken 2 courses with Simon Stafford - Nikon D5000 and Composition - and I have learned so much. ... I have recommended BetterPhoto to many people who are into photography, and they are beginners as I am. ... Simon was great in the way he commented on my pictures. Thank you for giving this opportunity in order to learn from so many great photographers!
9/14/2012 5:27:57 PM
 
Mark Calibo
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/8/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Simon Stafford is a true professional and a great instructor. This course is a must for beginners and self taught hobbiests. Is gives you the base knowledge and with Simon's guidance and critiques it takes you from average pictures to great photographs.
9/5/2012 9:40:59 PM
 
Alberto M. Santelices
Contact Alberto
Alberto's Gallery

member since: 7/16/2012
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I would like to thank you for your help with my composition techniques specially taking the time to frame the subject and to carefully look at the background and different angles before actually pressing the shutter. I feel that in the short 4 weeks of the course and your critiques I am going to be taking composition to the next level in my development as a photographer.
8/22/2012 6:23:13 PM
 
Kenneth J. Rhodes
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Kenneth
Kenneth's Gallery

member since: 4/17/2012
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is an outstanding short course in the essentials of composition. The lessons are packed with useful information, with plenty of examples from the instructor's own stunning photography. Simon also provides clear, constructive and critical feedback, all of which make this course a very valuable learning experience. I feel that I made solid strides towards improving the use of light, focus and composition of my images based on the course material, shooting assignments and instructor feedback. I highly recommend this course.
8/15/2012 6:10:23 PM
 
lathe haynes

member since: 2/3/2012
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course was the second course I have taken with BetterPhoto and with Simon Stafford and both have been excellent. I applaud both BetterPhoto and Simon for a job well done and especially appreciate Simon for his in depth and thoughtful critiques. Thank you!
6/12/2012 8:09:44 AM
 
Candace B. Campbell
BetterPhoto Member
candy-campbell-photography.com

member since: 2/4/2012
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks for all your help and inspiration this month, Simon. I have truly enjoyed your class and have valued and learned from all your comments on the photos. The lessons are full of great information and guidance and will be used over and over. Composition is still a challenge for me but I will keep practicing and will be sure to put into that practice all that I have learned in the class. Thanks so much Simon!
5/30/2012 8:34:18 AM
 
Fritz Rathmann

member since: 5/25/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent course and instructor. Simon has taught me so much in four short weeks; I wish we had another four ahead of us. I had just finished a course learning how to use my camera, and this was the perfect follow-up. The lessons were detailed and the assignments good tests of the knowledge. Unfortunately, I didn't always take previous lessons into account when shooting for another, but Simon's critiques were well thought out and helpful. There was more than one time when I read a critique and thought, yeah, we've talked about that before. Thanks, Simon, I'm going to keep your 5 "E"s and checklist with me until they become second nature.
1/26/2012 11:10:13 AM
 
sherry y. miller
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/15/2010
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Not a bad class. Somewhat repetative of the basics but I understand we all start at different levels. My main reason for not rating this class higher is the slow turnaround time for having photos critiqued. I am assuming we all take these classes to learn and it's hard to not have faster feedback. Maybe expecting too much but have not found this to be a problem in my previous BP classes.
11/1/2011 11:58:39 AM
 
James Lagan
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/8/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Considering BetterPhoto.com? Take this course! “Composition - The Essentials” is a really incredible course, and I can not recommend more highly for new photographers, or beginner photographers who are new to BetterPhoto.com. This was my first photography course of any kind, and I was amazed at how much Simon was able to teach in just four weeks. In this digital age taking and editing photos is easy, but there is still no substitute for good composition. Simon is an excellent instructor who will guide you through the fundamentals of composition, providing challenging lessons as well as detailed and easy to understand critiques and suggestions. My photos improved dramatically over the span of this course, and I find myself constantly relying on the strong foundation that “Composition - The Essentials” provided me.
10/9/2011 7:52:45 AM
 
Rebecca A. Meeks
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 10/30/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you so much, Simon! I really do appreciate all your constructive comments!! I had a lot of fun with this assignment and I have always liked the pictures with the moving traffic!! Thank you for all your help. This has been a GREAT class!!
9/15/2011 9:47:35 AM
 
Betsy Sasnett
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Betsy
Betsy's Gallery

member since: 11/6/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Once again I've learned a lot from your class! I now find myself composing pictures everywhere I go, while I'm driving, etc. I try to think about how the scene would look in different light or at different angles. You've helped inspire me to think about my shots before I take them.
Great class!
9/15/2011 9:45:07 AM
 
Jodi-Ann Jones
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/28/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a brilliant course! I recommend it without hesitation. Simon covered everything and more that I hoped to learn about composition in just a short four weeks - and it feels like it just flew. The notes are comprehensive but simple to follow, and the critiques that Simon provides, as others on my course have said, are bang on the button and very educative. You learn and learn - not just from what Simon tells you, but also what he says to others, and then also from one another.I think this was my 6th course with Betterphoto & I loved every minute of it. Simon is one of the best instructors I've come across. Do this course! You won't regret it.I finish it inspired to keep pushing the limits of my own skills and knowledge and wanting to learn more & more. Thanks Simon!
8/7/2011 1:38:34 AM
 
Robin Beck

member since: 6/16/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Your class has been invaluable to me as I learn and grow as a photographer. Your critiques were always spot on--I read and studied them all-- and you helped me see things that I otherwise would have missed. One of my goals in taking this class was to SLOW DOWN and really look at a scene rather than fire away with reckless abandon and hope that I got a couple of keepers, and you've definitely helped me meet that goal. I DO try to take my time and while I still have a long way to go, your excellent insight and advice have really stuck with me and have given me a strong foundation to build on. And that's the mark of good teacher. Thanks again.
8/6/2011 11:12:54 AM
 
Nikki Rivette

member since: 5/26/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I loved this course and have learned so much (including how much more I have to learn!). Straight-up feedback can be hard to come by, so I appreciated every bit of it.
8/6/2011 10:59:59 AM
 
Dominador C. Ubaub

member since: 4/29/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Hi Simon, My heartfelt thanks in teaching us regarding Composition-The Essentials in the field of digital photography. I enjoyed so much in our class and I learned a lot more than I expected. What I like best is your honesty in giving critiques in our assignments. I assure you, then, that wherever I go, I will apply in actual practice all that I have learned from you. Again, thank you and regards. Dominador C. Ubaub
8/3/2011 6:59:41 PM
 
kathleen esposito

member since: 2/28/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
The class dynamic has me really out there taking photos and thinking about what works. I think the class members have benefited me very much!
7/8/2011 11:24:10 AM
 
Art Anders
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/3/2011
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This was my second class from Simon. I find him knowledgeable and caring. I believe he truly wants to help his students improve their skills. He is also very accessible.
6/2/2011 3:07:38 PM
 
Dennis Bieling

member since: 3/2/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I cannot put into words my gratitude for you helping me to get my photography to the next level, and also for you to kindle that inspiration and passion in me. I can hardly believe that it is now 2 years since I took your classes (Composition and Nikon D90). I actually got approached by a small fine art gallery here in Seattle last week to see if I would be interested in showing my photos. Even though I am certain I am not there yet, it shows a remarkable journey for myself that would not have been possible without you!
5/12/2011 3:02:44 PM
 
JoAnna Aveni
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/24/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I wanted to thank you so very much for your expertise and generosity of spirit. You were very giving in your responses to people, and your critiques were very detailed and thorough. I have learned much from you and appreciate your time. Thank you again!
5/8/2011 10:22:16 PM
 
Kim Clack
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/6/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you for your feedback on all of my (our) photos. I know I have enjoyed what you've had to say, and I will continue to work on the techniques you introduced us to. I've enjoyed the course, it made me work with my camera and try new things, and also make some very cool photos.

So, thank you. You saw things that I obviously did not see, so you've broadened my vision!

I don't know why it took me so long to try a course at BetterPhoto.com, but I'll be trying another one soon...

4/19/2011 9:01:29 AM
 
Gregory Mencotti

member since: 1/1/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you for your wonderful lesson plans and excellent critiques!

I’ll look forward to studying under you in the future.

4/19/2011 8:58:37 AM
 
John D. Roach
BetterPhoto Member
Contact John
John's Gallery
jdroachphotography.com

member since: 11/2/2010
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I valued Simons feedback and insights. Somehow, I was not as wowed by this course as my prior one with Simon on the Nikon D90. I didn't find the lesson plan all that helpful with new insights. However, I believe Simon offers fair assessments and I was challenged to think outside the box in doing the photo assignments especially given the current weather conditions in the Chicago area which forced a good deal of my assignments to be done indoors which I hate. These courses are a good way to keep us focused on our craft. Thus, I am now taking an exposure and processing course with George Schaub. And, for now will miss Simon's critiques and special imaging insights.
1/14/2011 8:50:00 AM
 
Mark Ahrenholz
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Mark
Mark's Gallery

member since: 9/21/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you for your comments, Simon. I appreciate the time you spent critiquing all my assignments for this class. Your insights have been extremely helpful. I learned a lot from you and am so glad I took this course!
1/10/2011 8:09:20 AM
 
Keith S. Safford

member since: 3/8/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Another awesome course with Simon. I learned so much from this course and I feel I am starting to get a handle on my camera and have much more confidence in utilizing it. You paid a lot for your DSLR didn't you? This course helps you utilize it and take great photographs with that camera and Simon does and outstanding job explaining the material and providing feedback. I am having a lot of fun taking these courses and will be taking many more.
8/15/2010 4:46:56 PM
 
Joan M. Reuben
Contact Joan
Joan's Gallery

member since: 1/3/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Hi Simon. I just want to say thank you for 8 weeks of very intense yet enjoyable lessons that you offered. I feel my photography has improved as a direct result of your input. You have made what is seemingly so confusing to me to make sense. It's very exciting to be able to apply what I have learned from you. I am going to take a break for the next few weeks sand go back and reread and reshoot all of the assignments so that I can better digest what I have learned before taking on another class. I do look forward to more of your courses in the near future!! Thanks again for your patience and all of the knowledge you have shared
8/10/2010 1:27:31 PM
 
Karmen K. Chow
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/1/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was the 1st Better Photo class I took. After reading postive reviews from previous students who had taken this class, I decided to go for it! This class is perfect for laying the ground work for the priciples of composition. The class helps re-inforce what you might already know and new techniques that you might not know.

Simon provides positive and constructive feed back on your work and as a result you'll find yourself striving to produce a better photo for the following week.

Thanks Simon!

8/10/2010 10:48:44 AM
 
Nancy Chang

member since: 7/1/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I truly appreciate all the positive feedback and help you've given us. I've learned so much in these 4 weeks. Your comments and lesson notes are clear, concise, with detailed instructions so we can TRY to reproduce what you've taught us.
8/9/2010 10:07:49 AM
 
Edward J. Keuer

member since: 5/8/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
You have taught an excellent course - my first but not my last. I reviewed all your comments carefully on all of our photos and have learned much. Composition is a challenge, and the basic tenets of it are so much clearer to me after just these 4 weeks. Being a teacher too (Dermatology) I particularly appreciate your thoughtful comments, very pertinent to each photo, and specific.

Next I head to learning my D200 in a 4 week course. I saw that you didn't happen to teach that one. Your Magic Lantern book on the D200 is terrific too - "excellent work!"

7/7/2010 9:45:32 AM
 
Sibylle G. Mattern
mohn-images.com

member since: 5/4/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you very much! I have enjoyed this course very much and learnt a lot from the weekly tasks that have given me better technique and lots of creative ideas! I have actually signed up for two more courses (one on D700 technique and one on colour, have more time in June) and look forward to continuing and addictive weekly assignments.
7/7/2010 9:44:06 AM
 
Usha Ganesh
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/11/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Simon, thank you for the feedback. Thank you also for the very enjoyable course. The pace was just fine, and the assignments challenging but not too overwhelming. the best part was getting back the critiques and being able to read your thoughts on everyone's pictures. That helpes in learning what works and what doesn't. Your feedback was extensive and on spot. You are so observant and it is nice to have somone look so closely at one's pictures. Also,it was fun going out and striving to shoot those assignments. I enjoyed this class and it was my first! Gained a lot from the class Simon, so thank you and hope to see you in some other class. Best wishes & Regards,
7/7/2010 9:41:55 AM
 
Edward J. Keuer

member since: 5/8/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I give this course a 5, without any hesitation. First of all the lessons themselves were extremely well-written, worthy of keeping and reviewing, with good examples throughout. The student can gain thereby a very good foundation for understanding the components of good composition. The assignments were clear and pertinent. Then finally the feedback given (critiques) were detailed, specific, and beneficial both in terms of things done well and then in terms of suggestions given for improvement. I learned a tremendous amount from Simon in this class, and found him to be a teacher of the highest caliber. He clearly knows his material extremely well, and better yet can communicate it in clear fashion.
Highly recommended!
6/3/2010 5:38:05 PM
 
Debbie O. Thomas
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/3/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was the best course I've taken so far. The lessons were educational and challenging, but the best part were Simon's thoughtful critique of each student's assignment. He truly LOOKS at each photograph pointing out its strengths and weaknesses and ways in which it could be improved, if necessary. Well worth the time and money...I would take any course Simon offers; it was that good.
3/3/2010 11:51:40 PM
 
Stephanie Lewis
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 11/27/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was my first betterphoto.com course. I liked it so much that I have signed up for 2 more. This is an excellent course. A great deal of ground was covered effectively in a very short timeframe. Prior to this course, I did not know how to perform the hyperfocal distance technique. I did not understand the concept of perspective. And I was less cognizant of dead space, bright highlights, and other distracting factors than I am now. I learned not just from the critiques of my own photos but those of others.

Simon provided very specific and constructive feedback on our photos. He highlighted what was right, what was wrong, and how to go about making a photo better. And he was always encouraging. I greatly appreciated his accessibility and responsiveness. I also love that faculty and fellow students are from different countries - a real international community.

1/3/2010 4:20:12 AM
 
Steinar Kibsgaard
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Steinar
Steinar's Gallery

member since: 5/31/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have joined 6 courses here, and this course is one of the best.
Maybe the very best.
And by one of the best I mean a course, where you really can feel, that you have moved you into better photographic skills, and that you clearly are better after the course.

And I think it is a nescessary course for every enthusiastic photographer, who wants to get the best out of landscapes and other compositional shots.
In a way I think I should have started with this course, but on the other hand, this course is filled with so much informations and learnings, that I am happy, that I knew some of the stuff, so I could concentrate on my weak parts – e.g. hyperfocal distance (HD).

I have been walking around this HD-stuff as a cat around too hot milk, but here Simon asked us to learn it, and asked us to show, that we did, and there was no way to get free ;);)

But there was a lot more than HD to learn, and you have to work with this course, the lessons are not “thin-stuff”, it is packed with good stuff, but it pays off to work with it. Be ready for that and join it, and you will not be disappointed, I guarantee.

I think every teacher on BPH is very clever, but not everybody is so thorough and not everybody answer you, so you feel, that you can still put another question, without the teacher being tired of answering you.

Simon Stafford have the ability of being a great communicator and you can feel, that he really wants to help you being a better photographer, and

…..you will be, if you are ready to learn.

I am only sorry, that he “only” teaches knowledge about cameras beside this course – I would not hesitate joining another photographic-course, but maybe I will get a new Nikon-camera some day ;).

Or perhaps I will join this course once again, just to get his thorough critique of my pics.

10/29/2009 2:01:09 PM
 
Melanie Trout
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 10/5/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you for your critique, Simon. It is wonderful to have professional feedback. I have learned so much and am practicing every day even without a camera in my hands. I am noticing the composition of things everywhere for the first time (including on TV!). However, seeing the setups and photographing them right are two different things. But I am determined to succeed and will with help of your caliber. Thank you for your great effort.
10/1/2009 1:37:36 PM
 
Ali Leitner

member since: 9/14/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I cant thank you enough for all the valuable information you have taught me throughout the length of this course. I look forward to hopefully taking more classes with you.
9/30/2009 1:52:06 PM
 
Kitty R. Kono
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Kitty
Kitty's Gallery
kittykono.com

member since: 9/15/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you for a great course. I loved it and wish we still had a few more weeks.

Thank you for your thoughtful and encouraging critiques throughout the course.

9/30/2009 1:35:29 PM
 
Sandra K. StJohn
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Sandra
Sandra's Gallery

member since: 5/6/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I really enjoyed the class - thanks for all the great advice.
6/17/2008 3:44:42 PM
 
David OHara

member since: 12/13/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This class was the first class I have taken here at Betterphoto. It was well organized with very valuable material. Simon was a great instructor who took the time to answer everyones questions regarding the material as well as off the subject questions. He has a wealth of knowledge that he likes to share. His critiques were well worded and if he felt there were ways to improve the photos he communicated it in a way that encouraged the student. Two big thumbs up for the class and two thumbs way up for the instructor.

David OHara
daveohara@optonline.net

1/9/2008 4:45:38 PM
 
Cathy Phelps
cathy-phelps-photography.com

member since: 6/14/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Wanted to thank you for a great class. I have learned a great deal. I was actually very disappointed Wed. morning when I knew I didnot have another lesson. This was my first class so I thought I better start with 4 weeks but now I know I will take an 8 week one next. Thanks again!!
11/1/2007 12:43:17 PM
 
Jessica 

member since: 11/19/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you Simon for all of your feedback and for all of your help in this class on composition. I cannot believe how much I have learned in one short month! I had no idea! I am going to devote a day to re-read all of my lessons so that I really grasp on to everything that was offered. This class was well worth the money, so thank you.
9/4/2007 8:55:05 AM
 
Michael Gilchrist

member since: 12/26/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Simon, Thank you so very much for a fantastic course on composition. Learning about the relationship of lens focal length and perspective has changed the way I use my camera. I am much more in control of my camera - control light, control time, controlspeed - and always put more space in front of a moving object. Reading the critiques of all atudents' images was very helpful. And I have used my tripod more in the last 4 weeks than in the last 4 years! Many thanks, Michael
8/8/2007 2:21:13 PM
 
Kelly Segerstrom
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/14/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was a great course!! Simon offered solid critiques and advice. I learned alot in this course and it has improved my photography and the way I look at a scene to be photographed. I highly recommend it!
6/27/2007 6:59:07 PM
 
Martin Grocock

member since: 3/14/2007
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Another great course from Simon.

Excellent lesson content, helpful feedback and answers to my questions, and a good opportunity to put theory into practice.

I certainly think my photography has improved as a result of this course. Strongly recommended.

6/2/2007 2:33:02 PM
 
Holli Newman

member since: 6/28/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you very much, Simon! I feel as though I have benefited greatly from your class. Once again, I appreciate your patience.
4/16/2007 7:52:17 AM
 

53 Reviews  

Add your own review

Enroll

Add to Wishlist


Copyright © 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc.® All Rights Reserved.