Online Photo Course - Basics of Sports Photography with Newman Lowrance

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

4-Week Short Course: Basics of Sports Photography Photography Course
Course Instructor: G. Newman Lowrance
4-Week Short Course: Basics of Sports Photography

Learn the fundamentals of capturing great sports images. From knowing how to stop the action, properly expose sports images, shooting in low-light conditions and more, professional photographer G. Newman Lowrance will give you a behind-the-scenes look at the craft and explain situations that teach you techniques that the pro sports photographers are currently using. The author of Digital Sports Photography, Newman's work often appears in Sports Illustrated, ESPN the Magazine, etc.

Category: People Courses
Skill Level: 2 - Serious Hobbyist
Only $198 USD

Learn more about
4-Week Short Course: Basics of Sports Photography


17 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Jim Parks
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/14/2014
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2014 5:29:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2014 5:29:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2014 5:29:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2014 5:29:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2014 5:29:45 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Good course, addled insight to a beginner of sports photography
4/6/2014 5:29:45 PM
 
Vicki Janssen
vjanssenphotos.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2011 11:09:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2011 11:09:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2011 11:09:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2011 11:09:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2011 11:09:16 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have learn so much in this class and can see the improvement in my pictures already. The instructor was very quick at answering e-mails and took time to explain things when answering questions. I could tell he really wanted to help me learn all that I could from his class. I highly recommend this class!
10/5/2011 11:09:16 AM
 
Tom R. Fleeman 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2011 9:12:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2011 9:12:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2011 9:12:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2011 9:12:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2011 9:12:40 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course was what I was hoping for and much more. Newman is the best and his critiques were right on. If someone doesn't come away from this course with better photos maybe photography isn't for them. I already see so much improvement in my photos, and I can't wait for football season to start so I can put all my new knowledge to good use, for the day games and especially the night games where the lights have been so tough. Thank you Better Photo and especially you Newman. A Photo is forever!
8/6/2011 9:12:40 AM
 
Robert Mc Donald
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/11/2010
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2010 9:20:03 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2010 9:20:03 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2010 9:20:03 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2010 9:20:03 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2010 9:20:03 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very Good instructor, great instruction and if your up to a great chanlenge this course is great.
10/29/2010 9:20:03 PM
 
Shannon Byrne
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/23/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2010 4:13:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2010 4:13:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2010 4:13:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2010 4:13:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2010 4:13:39 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course covers basic shooting techniques in different types of light and in different shooting environments. Newman Lowrance is an excellent instructor. He gives very detailed feedback and critiques. I really enjoyed the class and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to pursue sports photography.
10/18/2010 4:13:39 PM
 
Charles Oliva 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2010 8:58:10 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2010 8:58:10 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2010 8:58:10 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2010 8:58:10 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2010 8:58:10 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
At first I was hesitant to take an online class, but decided to try. I took this class over this past Winter 2010 and now that Little League baseball and lacrosse has kicked off, I've been able to really test out what I've learned. Newman provided very good and concise feedback. I still refer back to his lessons as helpful reminders. Definitely worth taking the class if you're just starting out shooting sports.
4/29/2010 8:58:10 PM
 
Jeannette N. Blanford 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2010 10:09:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2010 10:09:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2010 10:09:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2010 10:09:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2010 10:09:55 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Learn alot in 4 weeks instructor is very helpful and shares valuable information
3/31/2010 10:09:55 AM
 
Alex Baranda 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2009 9:47:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2009 9:47:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2009 9:47:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2009 9:47:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2009 9:47:56 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This class is awesome! I learned a lot in a very short time with Newman's tips and techniques. I highly recommend this course for people who would like to take better sports photographs. I see a huge improvement with my photos by just taking this class.
11/25/2009 9:47:56 AM
 
Jennifer Movic
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/28/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2009 6:42:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2009 6:42:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2009 6:42:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2009 6:42:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2009 6:42:10 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This class was really good! Newman was a great instructor and really reinforced my knowledge of Sports Photography and basic skills. His critiques were honest and fair and he always gave praise and pointers on to make the shots better. Thanks Newman!
11/3/2009 6:42:10 AM
 
Linda A. Warren 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2009 6:16:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2009 6:16:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2009 6:16:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2009 6:16:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2009 6:16:05 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Can't believe this course was available
at a low cost. A wealth of knowledge given by a proficient professional who
was willing to give of his time, and share valuable sports photography information. The supportive critiques were extremely helpful, and, it was clear that the instructor wanted students to "learn." His sports photography books will continue to assist in lessons taught. I only wish
I could follow him around for one day and just watch him in action!!! Can't believe he was so patient in waiting for lessons to be turned in when weather was a problem. Love the course.
7/27/2009 6:16:05 PM
 
Cindy Hamilton
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/4/2005
Contact Cindy
Cindy's Gallery
cindyhamiltonphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2008 10:15:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2008 10:15:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2008 10:15:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2008 10:15:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2008 10:15:17 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
What a find this class is! In my BP bio I claimed that I would never shoot sports. That whole thought went out the window because of Newman. He is encouraging, personal (he noticed that I had a new camera and asked me questions about it) and is very honest in his critiques, which is why I sign up for classes in the first place. I highly recommend him. As a BP junkie who can't get enough classes, I would rate this right among the top.
7/15/2008 10:15:17 AM
 
Jamie Fortner
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/8/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2008 7:36:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2008 7:36:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2008 7:36:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2008 7:36:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2008 7:36:49 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I can not believe how much I have learned in the past 4 weeks. This is by far the best online class I have taken. Your lessons, along with the assignments and critiques, have caused a major improvement in my sports photos! Thank you for showing me a whole new world of Photography that I never saw before!
5/30/2008 7:36:49 AM
 
Julie Stover
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/4/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2007 12:49:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2007 12:49:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2007 12:49:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2007 12:49:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2007 12:49:02 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great Course!
www.JulieStover.com
10/27/2007 12:49:02 PM
 
Roderick S. Mackey 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2007 12:47:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2007 12:47:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2007 12:47:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2007 12:47:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2007 12:47:24 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I learned a lot about photography in general and sports photography in particular from this class. Now in addition to sports I have a new hobby--photography--that allows me to enjoy two hobbies at the same time.
10/2/2007 12:47:24 PM
 
Cathy Williams 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2007 6:15:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2007 6:15:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2007 6:15:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2007 6:15:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2007 6:15:53 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed Newman's class!!! I learned more about the proper ways to shoot sports with the proper settings from Newman more than I did from my camera manual..so thank you Newman..I especially like the fact that Newman took the time to thoroughly explain answers to my questions and was very thorough on his assignments. I highly recommend this class to anyone interested in shooting sports. I shoot football, basketball, baseball and softball...so it helped me tremendously!! thank you Newman and I look forward to sending you some future shots...
7/28/2007 6:15:53 PM
 
Robert Williams 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2007 1:39:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2007 1:39:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2007 1:39:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2007 1:39:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2007 1:39:52 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The course was very good, especially considering it's new. Newman was great - lots of useful feedback and information. I think the course material may need to be adapted slightly to the current season. For example, in the winter it's going to be pretty hard to shoot with a small aperture for the depth of field lesson, since all of the sports are indoors under dimly lit conditions. Likewise, I had trouble finding an indoor sport to shoot in the spring for the flash lesson. I realize we can shoot non-sports subjects but it's not the same learning experience. At any rate, good work!
5/8/2007 1:39:52 PM
 
Barbara Sharts
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/9/2006
barbarasharts.com
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2007 8:38:38 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2007 8:38:38 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2007 8:38:38 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2007 8:38:38 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2007 8:38:38 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
The course content and instructor were good. My feedback really focuses on the subject matter and/or time of year this course is offered. The material is really geared for outdoor sports photography. Although some indoor photography is mentioned (lesson 3-low light and flash), the outdoor sports photography is HIGHLY emphasized. I think to better advertise this course either mentioning this emphasis or limiting the offering of this course to when outdoor sports photography is more prevalent would be helpful to future students. Thanks Newman, good job!
2/28/2007 8:38:38 AM
 

17 Reviews  


Enroll

Add to Wishlist