BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Online 4-Week Short Course - Creating Depth in Landscape Photography with Doug J. Johnson

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

4-Week Short Course: Creating Depth in Landscape Photography Photography Course
Course Instructor: © Doug J. Johnson
4-Week Short Course: Creating Depth in Landscape Photography

Learn to create images that possess visual interest, movement and depth. In this four-week online photography class - taught by professional photographer Doug Johnson - you'll start making your photos really come alive with the concept of layering the image space to create a third dimension.

Category: Composition Courses
Skill Level: 3 - Intermediate
Only $198 USD

Learn more about
4-Week Short Course: Creating Depth in Landscape Photography


46 Reviews  

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Heidi Psinas
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Heidi
Heidi's Gallery

member since: 7/11/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent class! Information was informative, concise, logical, and supported with visual learning tools. This course continues to challenge me with and without my camera to study the visual depth relationship of objects and scenes on a daily basis. I hope to continue to practice and grow in the techniques learned. Thank you.
5/4/2014 3:48:55 AM
 
Patty Petrik
pattypetrik-pics.com

member since: 11/6/2012
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this class. It was full of great information that was easy to understand. If I had any questions, Doug was more than happy to explain things I wasn't clear on. He critiqued the lessons in a timely manner and gave excellent one on one feedback when needed. He was more than happy to spend extra time making sure we got the most out of the class. I have reread all of the lessons multiple times and probably will again in the future. The lessons were clear and easy to understand yet challenged us at whatever our ability level. He offered suggestions for ways to improve our pics. I'd definitely recommend this to others. Patty Petrik
12/6/2012 6:21:26 PM
 
Robert Brown
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/27/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is one of the two classes that I would recommend to anyone. The other being a basic photography class specific to their camera. The instructor taught me things that help me see and understand the next level of composition. Though the course is titled “Creating Depth in Landscape Photography” the concepts reach much further. So far I have not found any photography books by Doug Johnson. If he writes one in the future, I’m buying.
8/7/2012 1:16:03 PM
 
John D. Roach
BetterPhoto Member
Contact John
John's Gallery
jdroachphotography.com

member since: 11/2/2010
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Doug has an interesting approach to photography. He speaks to concepts that seemed a bit mysterious to me yet seem consistent with art school concepts. He focuses on the "positive" and "negative" elements of an image and his class exercises were focused, in part, in understanding that concept and how one moves the camera to compose with that concept in mind. While I found that to be well beyond how I think when I photograph, it nonetheless was interesting. Perhaps, if I wasn't burnt out in taking BP classes which became evident while doing this courses, I would have appreciated his concepts and even had the drive to find ways to mimimic the concepts which I found difficult to accomplish. From my perspective, the course focused too much on some technical concepts about how to focus and position the camera and as such could have been clearer with better examples and presentation of the ideas. I recommend Doug's course if one is looking for and is ready to embrace some new ways to compose images and perhaps already thinks the way I am describing his focus is on. I know I will read his course again for new ideas a few months from now, since I always save the course material and go back with a fresh eye when at first I didn't fully appreciate the content. Finally, Doug was always pleasant to work with even when his critiques were troubling for me.
As in many experiences in life, different approaches work in different ways for people so I fully expect that Doug's approach works just fine for other students. Due to that, I recommend prospective students to study the course curriculum carefully and be ready to think in new ways with Doug about photography.
7/11/2012 4:05:50 AM
 
Doug  J. Johnson
BetterPhoto Member
DougJohnsonPhotos.com
Doug 's Photo Courses:
4-Week Short Course: Creating Depth in Landscape Photography
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This class was great for introducing me to a new visual arts concept and then showing how to apply that concept using photographic technical skills. I had never heard of "positive and negative spaces" prior to this class and think that its use may help me produce meaningful photographics more consistently.

Doug Johnson provided excellant explanatory materials to support the course, and then reinforced the concepts with in-depth critiques of my own photos. His comments are always positive, even when he was correcting a flaw in my technique or composition. This was a great, very useful class.

6/11/2012 5:00:33 PM
 
Glenn Marcus
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/1/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Depth in Landscape, and the concept of layers is interesting and very applicable to good composition. The concepts are applicalbe to a range of photography situations. Doug is excellent in terms of the content of the lessons as well as the critques of photos submitted. This is my 4th class with BetterPhoto and I certainly enjoyed it.
5/2/2012 12:04:59 PM
 
Ronald A. Zincone
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/27/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Creating Depth in Landscape Photography with Doug Johnson was a delightful course. Doug is truly a professional in both photography and teaching! His critiques were well written and very informative. I learned some valuable photographic skills and I highly recommend this course and Doug Johnson to any Betterphoto student. Ronald
1/5/2012 6:08:25 AM
 
Ann Flower
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/5/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was one the best, if not THE best course I've taken through betterphoto. Doug is a very knowledgeable and effective instructor. It is obvious that he truly wants the students to understand the material and improve their skills. He is supportive and encouraging and his enthusiasm is contagious. I wish Doug taught more courses.
12/10/2011 8:28:33 AM
 
Ann Flower
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/5/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was one the best, if not THE best course I've taken through betterphoto. Doug is a very knowledgeable and effective instructor. It is obvious that he truly wants the students to understand the material and improve their skills. He is supportive and encouraging and his enthusiasm is contagious. I wish Doug taught more courses.
12/10/2011 8:28:30 AM
 
Jeffrey McGee
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/13/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course helped me learn some of the techniques I have been missing in my landscape photos. Each lesson added to my "tool kit, and I know I am a better Photographer now for it. The instructor was very helpful in explaining how I either got the lesson right or not. In either case his feedback was as helpful as the course material. He was honest when and where it counted. I definitely would take another course from Doug Johnson!
9/1/2011 1:44:02 PM
 
Kathleen Paton

member since: 7/13/2002
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I took this course because of the excellent reviews from prior students and they were right! I hesitated because landscape photography is not my favorite, but this course and Doug’s techniques apply to all photography. I’ve taken several BP courses, all good, but this was the most challenging for me.

Doug is an excellent instructor, going out of his way to be sure you understand the subject. His lessons, critiques and replies to questions are very clear and informative. Even without a camera in my hand, I find myself looking at things differently now. I’d like to see another course from Doug.

6/7/2011 5:39:18 AM
 
Mary A. Foley

member since: 1/15/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
What a great class! Lessons were very clear and assignments were not only instructive but lots of fun. Critiques were extremely helpful and encouraging!
6/2/2011 9:38:20 AM
 
Dianne E. Arnold
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/15/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This class covers basic concepts in shooting, but does it in a way that brings them to life. The lessons are well constructed with good examples and clear writing. The instructor also sends an email with just a few shooting tips with each assignment; I found this incredibly helpful. Having this reminder list helped me concentrate on the key points to really learn the concepts.
The instructor is very responsive. Excellent skills course.
4/14/2011 7:02:09 AM
 
Arnt Lerheim
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/7/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Creating Depth in Landscape Photography was my third class at BetterPhoto.com. It has been a great pleasure to work under Doug´s guidance. What I liked the most was the way that Doug pushed me as a student in every lesson. I.e. "Can you see this?" and "where is the interruption in visual movement or merge of positive space......?". This makes me as a student to stop and think about what I was doing - or working with. This was for me a true interactive course. If anything could have been better? Sometimes I can feel the theory a bit hard to understand and I wish there were a little animated piece that could help my understanding....
Another thing which I found good about this course was that there were a lot to work with a long time after the course was completed and that the feedback from Doug still is of great value for me to look up.
Thanks fro a great course!
Regards
Arnt Lerheim
2/7/2011 12:47:21 PM
 
Robert Mc Donald
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/11/2010
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very good instructor, lessons were very clear and easy to understand. Lot's of good information. Feedback was quick and precise.
1/26/2011 11:46:46 PM
 
Connie Shaw

member since: 10/25/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Doug Johnson is by far the BEST instructor I have had so far on Better Photo. He really puts forth an extreme amount of time and effort in making sure the student understands the assignment and offers critiques that are thoughtful and helpful. My only wish would be that Doug had more classes. I have learned more from this 4 week course than some of the 8 week courses I have taken. Thanks for being an instructor that really cares about sharing your knowledge for photography with newbies like myself.
1/26/2011 3:34:07 PM
 
Valeriano Della Longa

member since: 5/21/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
A must have for anyone whom needs to improve his/her composition skill in photography.
1/1/2011 4:08:13 PM
 
Vickie Oakley
BetterPhoto Member
vickieoakleyphotography.com

member since: 6/2/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Doug Johnson is one of the best instructors I have had. He is very personable and genuine. He truly wants to make certain that you understand the concept that he is teaching and takes steps to help you. Thanks Doug for being such a great instructor! I would recommend this course to all sudents of photography.
12/30/2010 7:27:21 PM
 
Katharine Seal

member since: 9/15/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
A stimulating course and great teacher. For me it was a wonderfully thought provoking course. I have been re-thinking my entire approach to how I look at the world around me and spatial relationships within it and how I might try to express that in an image. I don't think you can ask more from a teacher than that. Doug's critiques are supportive and carefully thought out - and at least as much a learning opportunity as the lessons themselves.
12/2/2010 10:45:49 AM
 
Bud Ellison
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Bud
Bud's Gallery

member since: 7/19/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The course "Creating Depth In Landscape Photography" was excellent in my judgement. The instructor, Doug Johnson, took familar concepts and translated them into very useful techniques for creating depth in my photos. Each lesson was clearly presented and I found the concepts and examples contained in the lessons were very logical and readily transferable into improved photos with greater depth. I have created photos with depth previously. However, as a result of completing this course, I have a much better understanding of how I did it and most importantly, I am able to duplicate the process and the results I am seeking more readily. Doug's critiques were very detailed and helpful in terms of improving my technique and obtaining desired results.
In summary, the course was very enjoyable and I have improved my skill in the process.

Bud Ellison

11/4/2010 1:25:23 PM
 
Craig W. Myers
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Craig
Craig's Gallery
leaperphotos.com

member since: 2/1/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Terrific instruction and a terrific instructor. Doug presented very clear lessons, great support, and excellent feedback and follow-up. Even if you've had previous instruction in composition, Doug Johnson's methods will help you see and evaluate the scene differently.
7/12/2010 7:58:31 PM
 
Richard M. Waas
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Richard
Richard's Gallery
richardwaasphotography.com

member since: 7/20/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
A phenomenal course and instructor. Doug will make you think differently in your approach to not only landscape photography, but photography in general. I highly recommend him!!
7/10/2010 4:42:21 AM
 
Patricia L. Moreland

member since: 5/10/2008
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I greatly enjoyed Doug's class -- he presented some excellent material for me to learn -- new concepts that I have not known. It is very exciting to be challenged and engrossed in new ideas and how to practice them.
6/5/2010 7:32:43 PM
 
Robert F. Chisholm

member since: 8/25/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great course! Doug has crafted the lessons and assignments so that you really can put into practice what he has been talking about. And his feedback will pull it all together. His critiques were very helpful. When my pictures correctly demonstrated the techniques, he still was able to point things out to me that I hadn't realized which further drove his point. And when my pictures fell short, he clearly explained what I did wrong and how I could have done better. So either way, I always felt like I was learning more from him.

Going into the course, I didn't really have a feel for what 'positive' and 'negative' spaces are in a photo. And I pretty much thought it was a concept I didn't have to 'get', as long as I learned some new techniques and settings. But from the first lesson he clearly introduces the concept and builds on it throughout the course, and applies it throughout in his critiques. This was my fifth BP course, and I highly recommend it!
6/2/2010 5:42:22 PM
 
Sue Bishop

member since: 9/29/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Loved this class. My first level 3 class so most of the concepts were new and challenging. Doug explains the lessons really well and his comments and feedback really drive the points home. I learned a ton from this class and would not hesitate to recommend it to others. This class has inspired me to shoot more because I want to absorb as much as possible from each lesson. I have been carrying around printed (dog eared) copies of the lessons and tips since day 1 and I have read them often. I expect I will be reading them many more times. Great class. Thanks Doug!
6/1/2010 8:34:42 PM
 
STEVE MOLITOR
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 11/10/2009
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I want to give special thanks to my instructer Mr. Doug Johnson.
He not only taught me a lot, but also answered all my questions and even took time for a phone call.He also gave me some recommendations that I asked for.
Great job and good class
5/8/2010 1:51:20 PM
 
Fred Fitchett

member since: 3/5/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course set me on the path to seeing in an entirely new way that has enriched the images I’ve captured since taking this course. The beauty is, this has extended to subjects well beyond my landscape shots. Doug’s assignments were terrific: uncomplicated, yet challenging and always presented with a clear purpose in mind. The course design teaches ways of using the technical side of the camera to better composition. One of the best parts of this course was Doug’s willingness to reach out and talk through things he saw in a submission that could have been improved through technique. This was my first course here, and if it’s any indication of the rest, I’ll continue to enroll.
4/14/2010 8:53:44 AM
 
Marilyn Menago
marilynmenagoimages.com

member since: 2/23/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I enjoyed this course very much. Doug gave me an insight into photography that I did not know before, which he called layering. I don't think I ever heard that concept before and it has given me a new way to look at images that I'm taking. I would recommend this course to anyone.
4/7/2010 3:22:46 PM
 
Gary R. Olejniczak
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/9/2010
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The class was very interesting and insightful. The concepts covered were not foreign to me, but Doug's discussions and critiques really struck home. I was able to finally see the concepts in the field and I credit Doug's ability to use the critique process to bring this to life.
4/4/2010 6:13:36 PM
 
Michael R. Curtis
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/2/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was a great class! The examples and critiques that Doug provided were excellent. I have been involved in photography off an on for 40 years and I would have to say what I learned from this class is at the top of the list from my years of experience. Doug is a great teacher as well as a great communicator. The techniques I learned in this class really do help to create depth in my photography which can turn a boring subject into an exciting subject and image.
10/1/2009 4:53:07 PM
 
Stanley Joel Schretter
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/16/2007
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This was my first Better Photo course, so expectations were high and Doug did not disappoint. The lessons were excellent, clearly presented with meaningful assignments. Best were Doug's comments. They were insightful always trying to relate our photos to the main concepts of the course. Like almost any thing in photography, I probably would have done and learned more with the instructor standing at my side immediately commenting and guiding me to the next step. But short of that ideal, this BP class provided me new insights and considerations to apply to my photography. It was well worth the time and money.
8/26/2009 9:01:24 AM
 
Chellie L. Hyre
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/1/2008
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This was a fun course with challenging assignments each week! I now look at potential images in a whole new way. Doug is a great instructor, and went above and beyond to make sure everyone understood the concepts. Thanks!!
4/2/2009 3:14:29 PM
 
connie morgenstern
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/24/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
The concepts I learned in this course were invaluable. It really changed the way I will see and analyze what I photograph from now on. I highly recommend it to anyone wanting to improve their photography skills, but it's practically a must for anyone wanting to improve their landscape technique. Too bad Doug doesn't teach more courses here at BP!
4/1/2009 11:27:03 AM
 
Eric S. Rundle
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/27/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Doug’s class Creating Depth in Landscape Photography has been a great learning experience And I am glad I added it to my custom class track it was challenging and insightful fun and exiting I would recommend anyone to take his class
Doug is a great teacher he even called me on the phone when he thought I needed some extra help with one of the lessons he helped me to understand what I needed to understand . It was a great help with the lesson . I will always regard him as my mentor and friend that I hope will grow . My only regret is that he only has one class with Better Photo and my only hope is that he will add some moor classes in the feature
Sincerely Eric Rundle
12/24/2008 3:06:54 PM
 
Jeffrey B. Gibson
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/28/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
If you want your pictures to have an impact, this is the course to take. Understanding how to create layers in your images will make your pictures stand out. Doug Johnson does a great job of teaching layering. As you go through the assignments you will look back on your past images and realize how much better they would have been using layering.
9/28/2008 5:58:23 PM
 
Richard Lowe
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/22/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
At my current level as a photographer the course pushed me to my limit.
Doug was very supportive and helpful with his critiques, offering constructive criticism and compliments with both style and grace.
I'm grateful for the lessons. It's now up to me to put them to good use.
Thanks Doug!


9/3/2008 7:23:32 PM
 
Carlton Johnson

member since: 2/4/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Doug was the Best!!
11/25/2007 5:28:03 PM
 
Tim Chaney
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/25/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Doug is a phenomenal instructions. The lessons were extremely thorough with outstanding examples to illustrate the various points. Doug even supplemented the lessons via the Q&A Forum and made the class very instructive. Critiques were equally instructive and encouraging. Look forward to more classes from Doug! I highly recommend this course to anyone looking to add a new dimension to their photography.
10/11/2007 7:14:16 PM
 
Aimee Joseph
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 11/15/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent course!! Doug's lessons were detailed and full of information. He answered questions and critiqued assignments in a very timely manner. The critiques were honest and helpful but also encouraged you to think about how to improve even more.

I learned a great deal and found a new way of approaching potential shots with this course. I would definitely recommend the course and look forward to other courses taught be Doug in the future!

9/27/2007 6:46:39 AM
 
Sharon Cahn
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/12/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I've been taking classes at BP off and on for 3 years and Doug's class on Achieving Depth is one of the best I have taken. His course lessons are well written and full of information. His critiques for each student are a learning experience for the entire class. He is very positive and you get the feeling that he really gave your work his full attention as the critiques devote a paragraph to each photo, going over the principles taught in the lesson and relating them to the photo to reinforce them. Hope he adds more classes to his schedule.
6/6/2007 12:21:23 PM
 
Nancy de Flon
Contact Nancy
Nancy's Gallery

member since: 9/24/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Doug is one very dedicated instructor. He makes you work very hard and really to think about what you're doing, and his feedback, whether for the assignments or the Q&A, is unfailingly honest and encouraging. I highly recommend it. This was my third BP course and the best so far.
6/5/2007 5:36:53 PM
 
Laura Lynne Daniels
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/8/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was my first betterphoto course, I came into it not knowing what to expect. This course well exceeded my expectations, Doug had a way of bringing out creativity in my photographs that I never knew I had. His critiques were well thought out and extremely helpful, if we had questions, he was always available. I do hope that he does another class!

Thank you Doug!!!
Laura

5/31/2007 3:01:07 PM
 
Jon M. Lamrouex
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Jon
Jon's Gallery

member since: 5/10/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Doug,

In the 35 years I have tried to be a photographer and learn about this wonderful activity I did not learn as much useful at making me a better photographer as I have in the last 4 weeks.

You challenged me and my notions on what is a good photograph. I am a better photographer today than I was 4 weeks ago.

Jon Lamrouex
Rockford, IL

To everyone else,

I highly recommend to anyone who wants to be better at photography, to produce better photos, record better images, that they should take this class.

4/8/2007 6:25:24 PM
 
Mary Louise Loyd
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Mary Louise
Mary Louise's Gallery

member since: 2/10/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was my first "on line" photography course and I had no idea as to what to expect. Needless to say I am EXTREMELY pleased. Doug's course exceeded any expectations I had. His material was presented well and easy to understand and the very best part was - his availability! Anytime I had a question I could email or phone Doug for clarification or expansion. This totally blew me away. Doug's responses were always timely and I never felt that he did not care or that I was a bother. His critique of my work has been beneficial and I feel that I have actually learned techniques to better my photography. I was skeptical that this could be done "on line" vs. being physically present. If he offers another course I will be the first one to sign up. Thank you Doug!! This was money and time well spent.
3/28/2007 9:42:39 AM
 
Rajbir Singh

member since: 2/5/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Doug is one instructor I have met who would go out of his way to answer questions. Some of the questions which he has answered have settled many confusions for me. I know that Doug is a good instructor, he is also a good human being. I think this is really good course and a must of every one who wants to learn.

Thanks Doug
Rajbir Singh India New Delhi

3/25/2007 10:00:50 AM
 
Denise Hastings

member since: 11/12/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was a terrific class. Doug's critiques are well thought out, detailed and honest so that you learn from them. He taught me to look at my pictures in a whole new way. I hope that he puts together another class because I will be the first to sign up. Thanks again, Doug, for a wonderful experience.
3/11/2007 9:08:00 PM
 

46 Reviews  

Add your own review

Enroll

Add to Wishlist


Copyright © 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc.® All Rights Reserved.