Online Photo Course - RAW Shooting: From Capture to Finished Photo with Charlotte K Lowrie

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

4-Week Short Course: Camera Raw: From Capture to Finished Photo Photography Course
Course Instructor: © Charlotte K. Lowrie
4-Week Short Course: Camera Raw: From Capture to Finished Photo

Learn how to capture high-resolution Raw images, convert the images, and edit them in Photoshop. In addition to shooting and converting Raw images, instructor and author Charlotte Lowrie shows you how to edit and polish your high-resolution images in Photoshop, and how to use Adobe Camera Raw to apply creative effects to your images. This course is a great way to get started in Raw capture and get great finished images ready to print or post, and learn some cool Raw creative processing techniques as well.

Category: Digital Courses
Skill Level: 2 - Serious Hobbyist
Only $198 USD

Learn more about
4-Week Short Course: Camera Raw: From Capture to Finished Photo


79 Reviews  

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Carol A. Grady
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/23/2008
Contact Carol
Carol's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2012 11:00:37 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2012 11:00:37 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2012 11:00:37 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2012 11:00:37 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2012 11:00:37 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This course is a very good course to take if you are not familiar with RAW and how to use it to your best advantage. Charlotte is very attentive to detail and goes over photos with a fine tooth comb to deliver a constructive critique. I have learned quite a lot and am now more comfortable working in ACR than I ever was before.
If there is any disappointment it is that I seemed to be the only one in the course and that was not too much fun. It's nice to have other others to compare to and to learn from.

Not Charlotte's problem in the least! She is very good! I highly recommend this course.

Carol Grady

10/2/2012 11:00:37 AM
 
April Medina 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2012 7:58:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2012 7:58:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2012 7:58:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2012 7:58:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2012 7:58:52 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Camera Raw: From Capture to Finished Photo is a great class! The lessons are clear and extremely informative. Charlotte Lowrie is absolutely wonderful! She spends a great deal of time and effort on each student. She offers detailed advice and constructive criticism on each and every photo submitted. I highly recommend this class to anyone interested in increasing their knowledge of Camera Raw. Thank you, Charlotte, for a terrific class!
8/9/2012 7:58:52 AM
 
Daphne  S. Sampson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/8/2011
Contact Daphne
Daphne 's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2012 12:17:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2012 12:17:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2012 12:17:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2012 12:17:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2012 12:17:14 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Charlotte was a wonderful instructor! She gave wonderful advise and break down of Camera In the Raw. I have learned so much tips and hints that has changed my photo editing so much.

Thank you again!

Charlotte

8/6/2012 12:17:14 PM
 
Kenneth J. Rhodes
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/17/2012
Contact Kenneth
Kenneth's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2012 9:34:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2012 9:34:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2012 9:34:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2012 9:34:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2012 9:34:06 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is the second BetterPhoto course that I've take with Charlotte Lowry as the instructor. As in Charlotte's other courses, the "Camera RAW" course is packed with extremely useful information presented in a clear and accessible style. The lessons lead you through all the essential steps of RAW image processing in Adobe Bridge and Photoshop, leading to images ready for print or sharing via electronic media. Charlotte always provides timely and constrictive feedback, and make a sincere effort to respond to questions and provide additional, very useful tips and insight. I strongly recommend this course.
7/2/2012 9:34:06 AM
 
Katherine M. Mohren 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2012 2:50:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2012 2:50:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2012 2:50:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2012 2:50:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2012 2:50:58 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Information given in an organized manner, helping to create a natural workflow. Loved the fact that you started with one photo and continued adding steps to that photo each week. Critiques very informative and helpful! Am sorry to see the course end. This is the second course I have taken with Charlotte and I can't say enough good things about her teaching techniques! Thank you!!!
6/10/2012 2:50:58 PM
 
Susan Kjellsen 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2012 4:29:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2012 4:29:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2012 4:29:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2012 4:29:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2012 4:29:49 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Charlotte Lowry is an incredible teacher. Her lessons are comprehensive and easy to understand. Her critiques are invaluable with a great mix of praise and appropriate criticism. I will take all of her classes that are pertinent to my work.
5/30/2012 4:29:49 AM
 
Mark H. Shour
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/31/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2012 1:01:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2012 1:01:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2012 1:01:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2012 1:01:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2012 1:01:02 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Charlotte is amazingly prepared and supportive during this class. Her instructions are very helpful as they guide you step-by-step in transforming raw images into works of art! I strongly recommend taking the class - expect to be pleasantly challenged and to expand your post-processing capabilities.
5/2/2012 1:01:02 PM
 
Tami A. Mohs
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/1/2011
Contact Tami
Tami's Gallery
tami-mohs-photography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2012 11:43:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2012 11:43:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2012 11:43:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2012 11:43:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2012 11:43:31 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Absolutely loved her critiques. Very helpful. As were the assignments.
1/2/2012 11:43:31 PM
 
Frances Saunders
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/5/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2011 4:07:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2011 4:07:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2011 4:07:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2011 4:07:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2011 4:07:50 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
There are not enough stars for me to rate this course and instructor accurately. I have been shooting RAW for a few years, but learned so much more in this course to make successful conversions. Plus, every so often there is an intructor who gives great lessons and extensive, personalized critiques. This is one of them. If you are starting to work in RAW and even if you have worked in RAW, but never really understood how to get the most out of ACR, DO sign up for this course. You will NEVER regret it. Thank you, Charlotte...and please add that advanced ACR course!
12/7/2011 4:07:50 PM
 
Donald C. Gasparetti
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/1/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2011 12:43:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2011 12:43:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2011 12:43:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2011 12:43:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2011 12:43:37 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I strongly recommend Charlotte Lowrie's "Camera Raw: From Capture to Finish Photo". This is my second course with Charlotte, and both were great. She is an incredible teacher and her courses are very instructive and fun. This is definitely a 5-Star Course!!
12/7/2011 12:43:37 PM
 
Carolyn Roberts
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/30/2011
up-closephotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2011 6:07:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2011 6:07:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2011 6:07:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2011 6:07:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2011 6:07:07 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great course. I had no experience with RAW images. Also, I am new to Photoshop CS5. Charlotte's lessons were well planned and helpful to a RAW image novice.
I learned more than I thought I could in 4 weeks.
Thanks, Charlotte.
CarolynRoberts
10/6/2011 6:07:07 PM
 
Kathy Carroll 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2011 5:29:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2011 5:29:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2011 5:29:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2011 5:29:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2011 5:29:51 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This class RAW Shooting: From Capture to Finished Photo with Charlotte K Lowrie was awesome! I can not believe how much I learned in a four week course. I have taken a few courses, but this was my first one on photo processing. WOW- I never knew all the things I could do, now I am more prepared to tackle photos with a workflow.
Thank you Charlotte for your patience in working with a newbie that had no prior RAW and photoshop experience- your lessons were great in describing the whys we should do what we need to do.
9/6/2011 5:29:51 AM
 
Kelly Beach
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/23/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2011 6:11:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2011 6:11:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2011 6:11:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2011 6:11:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2011 6:11:39 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is an EXCELLENT class and Charlotte is an OUTSTANDING instructor! Lessons & Assignments are clearly written for easy understanding, organized in step by step fashion with each previous lesson a solid foundation for the next. I didn't have to ask one question about the information in the lessons or what was expected for the assignments,(and that's NEVER the case for me, I usually need additional info), but Charlotte's explanations and structure made everything perfectly clear. Critiques were given in a positive manner with clear solutions to encountered problems and suggestions and tips for other techniques to try. The amount of info and tips packed into a 4 week course was far beyond expectation! I now have an orderly workflow that takes me from setting my camera up correctly for shooting in RAW,to converting images in ACR and polishing them to perfection in PS so they are perfect for printing or web. This Course is worth far MORE than what I paid for it. My only complaint is that Charlotte doesn't teach MORE courses!
8/5/2011 6:11:39 PM
 
Frank Cannon
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/9/2004
Contact Frank
Frank's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2011 6:46:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2011 6:46:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2011 6:46:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2011 6:46:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2011 6:46:17 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you Charlotte for the very interesting course. I learned a lot of new ways to work in photoshop (raw). I'm a new-comer in photography (5 years)and it's only the second course I've taken. Apart from friends who advise me now and then, and the books that I have read, with this course I progressed enormously. I should'nt have taken the course in the middle of the summer, because our summers are so short here in Quebec, I felt I didn't have all the time I needed.
8/2/2011 6:46:17 AM
 
Rhonda Royse
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/20/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2011 4:55:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2011 4:55:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2011 4:55:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2011 4:55:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2011 4:55:16 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you Charlotte for a wonderful class! I learned exactly what I was looking for - to improve my photoshop - basic - skills and to feel more comfortable in using photoshop for my picture processing. I highly recomend this class!
Rhonda
7/6/2011 4:55:16 PM
 
Mary H. Shepherd
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/2/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2011 7:57:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2011 7:57:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2011 7:57:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2011 7:57:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2011 7:57:04 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have learned a lot and will continue to use the lessons Charlotte provided to hone my skills. Charlotte has been awesome to work with, answering questions quickly and giving us constructive feedback on how to improve our photos. I was a bit intimidated at first, being a novice in terms of understanding digital files/terms, but I found that I really could understand it, if I took my time and read through it more than once. I am very happy with the outcome.
7/5/2011 7:57:04 PM
 
Andrew Schaefer
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/25/2011
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2011 8:22:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2011 8:22:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2011 8:22:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2011 8:22:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2011 8:22:56 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The course provides extensive information about many aspects of RAW images and step by step instructions to use Adobe Camera Raw software to make the most of images. The assignments are deceptively difficult and challenging, partly because the course information opens the door to so much possibility with each image. I had several questions raised by the information provided in the lessons and in the critiques of my images. Charlotte responded quickly and gave thorough answers. The course leaves me with some information to still think about and integrate with what I already know, and much work to be adept at Adobe Camera Raw. I found it a course well worth taking.
6/12/2011 8:22:56 AM
 
Brenda Colfelt Meyers
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/27/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2011 11:10:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2011 11:10:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2011 11:10:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2011 11:10:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2011 11:10:34 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent course. I know that shooting in RAW is the way to go to have more control over the images, however, until I took this course I wasn't sure what to do with the RAW images. Charlotte is an excellent instructor and goes through methodically and thoroughly how to take a good RAW image, process it in Adobe Camera RAW and then make final edits in Photoshop. Her lessons are detailed and challenging, with information that I'll be able to carry forward in my future photographic endeavors.
6/1/2011 11:10:34 AM
 
Jim Couston
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/26/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2011 5:51:28 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2011 5:51:28 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2011 5:51:28 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2011 5:51:28 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2011 5:51:28 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have learned a lot using raw. I have taken raw and jpg photos for about 2 years and have done very little with the raw (did not know what to do or how). UNTIL NOW ! I can go back to my archives and re-do some of them. Thanks it does make a difference using raw over jpg.
6/1/2011 5:51:28 AM
 
Jerry Rega
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/23/2011
Contact Jerry
Jerry's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2011 12:06:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2011 12:06:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2011 12:06:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2011 12:06:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2011 12:06:09 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
10 STARS for Charlotte! She is a great teacher! Her information is all current. This is my 2nd class I took with Charlotte and the first class was just as good!
5/30/2011 12:06:09 PM
 
Robert Ronayne
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/6/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2011 6:22:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2011 6:22:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2011 6:22:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2011 6:22:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2011 6:22:35 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Charlotte is a great instructor who takes her time and gives you thorough photo reviews. The class has helped me go from just shooting Jpeg to now shooting in raw. I wish I was always shooting in raw because you can safe your photos even if you are a few f stops off.
5/1/2011 6:22:35 PM
 
Karen J. Glenn
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/30/2005
karenglennphoto.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2011 8:58:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2011 8:58:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2011 8:58:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2011 8:58:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2011 8:58:03 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was an extremely interesting, technical course in which Charlotte took us step-by-step through the work flow process from RAW through final editing in photoshop. It really helped me understand and use what RAW can do. After each assignment she gave detailed information on exactly what we could do to make each image better. She was generous with her advice and her time. I learned a lot and appreciated her methods very much!
3/3/2011 8:58:03 PM
 
Susan Shingleton 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2011 6:38:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2011 6:38:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2011 6:38:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2011 6:38:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2011 6:38:04 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Charlotte is an extremely knowledgable instructor, but even better that this, is her ability to communicate an idea in ways that help you learn. I look forward to her reviews because not only do I learn, but I come away even more excited to try something new and stretch my own photographic boundaries. An instructor who can honestly critique a photograph and inspire the student at the same time is priceless! Charlotte does just that! I learned way more than I imagined I would in four short lessons. I can't wait until I get the opportunity to take another class by Charlotte. Awesome instructor, excellent lessons, and very inspirational!
2/28/2011 6:38:04 PM
 
Diana Johnson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/4/2011 7:57:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/4/2011 7:57:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/4/2011 7:57:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/4/2011 7:57:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/4/2011 7:57:47 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Charlotte is my favorite kind of teacher. She provides relevant and complete information in her lessons, then expects her students to meet a set of exacting standards when completing their assignments. As she stated in one lesson, trying to meet those standards would make us better photographers, and though my time with the camera has been limited this month, I am already trying to shoot with her exacting criteria in mind. It's making a difference! I had previously been told that RAW was the best format, but I wasn't convinced that the extra processing required was worth it. Now I realize how much easier and rewarding it is to work with RAW images from the outset, and my biggest regret is that I wasn't using RAW from Day 1 with my digital camera. (I will NEVER go back to jpeg.) I only wish this were an eight-week course, as I would love to keep learning from Charlotte.
2/4/2011 7:57:47 AM
 
Harold McLaughlin
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/27/2008
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2011 11:54:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2011 11:54:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2011 11:54:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2011 11:54:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2011 11:54:00 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Thank you Charlotte.
You are an excellent teacher. I thought this would be boring, but to my surprise I looked forward to each lesson and to the completion of each assignment. I printed all of the lessons and critiques, put them in a binder and will use ACR (and Photoshop), and follow the binder for future work. You simplified workflow which I've always found confusing.
2/2/2011 11:54:00 AM
 
Kathy Donnelly
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/15/2008
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2011 5:26:41 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2011 5:26:41 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2011 5:26:41 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2011 5:26:41 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2011 5:26:41 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This class is great! I learned so much about RAW processing. I didn't have Photoshop yet, but was able to use the trial version for the class. Charlotte provides soo much information in addition to the class lessons. She is very informative and helpful. The only drawback for me was I would like to be able to submit more pictures for lessons. Overall a good course to get your feet wet with RAW photos.
2/1/2011 5:26:41 AM
 
gail byrnes
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/1/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2011 4:04:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2011 4:04:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2011 4:04:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2011 4:04:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2011 4:04:38 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was a fabulous course!! I knew nothing about Camera RAW and now couldn't imagine doing anything else! Charlotte is a wonderful teacher and this class was excellent!!
2/1/2011 4:04:38 AM
 
Laura Kogan
earthnskyphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2011 4:37:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2011 4:37:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2011 4:37:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2011 4:37:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2011 4:37:05 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Charlotte is an absolutely wonderful teacher. She really provides a lot of in-depth information, she is timely, and her photo reviews are detailed and specific. Don't take this class if you want to rush through taking some pictures - do take this class if you really want to understand Camera Raw, and how to make your photos stand out. Her lessons are comprehensive and detailed. My only regret is that Charlotte isn't teaching any other general photography classes for me to take!
1/11/2011 4:37:05 AM
 
Arthur Bohlmann
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/16/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2011 7:18:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2011 7:18:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2011 7:18:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2011 7:18:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2011 7:18:47 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Definately a worthwhile course, I am self taught using camera raw, after taking this course I have moved up another level, my images look fantastick!
1/4/2011 7:18:47 AM
 
Ann Lyssenko
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/16/2009
Contact Ann
Ann's Gallery
kathmanbearpics.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2010 1:46:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2010 1:46:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2010 1:46:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2010 1:46:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2010 1:46:31 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I knew that there must be wonderful and efficient ways to improve a photograph in ACR, I had only trial and error in my toolbox until I took this course. Charlotte is very thorough in the information she shares and her critiques guided me to better conversions, with explanations about why it is best to do something a certain way. The many options available are explained. I now have a resource that I have worked with and been guided through to return to as I work on my images. Bravo! Ann Lyssenko
11/1/2010 1:46:31 PM
 
Marlo Karp 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2010 11:12:49 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2010 11:12:49 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2010 11:12:49 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2010 11:12:49 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2010 11:12:49 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This was a great class to learn about RAW. The tips and techniques really demonstrate how a dramatic image can be composed from might look like a so-so image. There are a lot of steps to learn but results can be awesome. I highly recommend this class.
10/7/2010 11:12:49 AM
 
Anne mrs Bowman 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2010 1:37:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2010 1:37:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2010 1:37:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2010 1:37:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2010 1:37:07 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a must for anyone wanting to shoot in RAW. In the lessons and helpful tips Charlotte gives the reader an excellent understanding of the RAW workflow and beyond to conversion and processing in Photoshop. I can't thank Charlotte enough. Histograms have also taken on new meaning!
10/7/2010 1:37:07 AM
 
David Mahoney 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2010 3:46:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2010 3:46:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2010 3:46:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2010 3:46:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2010 3:46:33 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Charlotte Lowrie is a great instructor. If you shoot camera raw then this is a must have course. She is very prompt with her reviews and offers great advice that is very relevant to your photos. Should you have a question, her promptness with her reply is great. The course material is thorough and I thought covers the entire spectrum. The tips and tricks she leaves you with in both her course presentation and in her critiques are invaluable. Investing in this course is money well spent.
10/1/2010 3:46:33 PM
 
Donna W. McCommon 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2010 7:11:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2010 7:11:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2010 7:11:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2010 7:11:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2010 7:11:25 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have taken photos for many years and basically been pleased with the results. Until now, I did not consider shooting in RAW. After taking this class with Charlotte I have an understanding of the concept and will put the information learned into action. I realize it opens a whole new world for me in my photography.

Charlotte's instructions in the lessons are easy to follow and understand. The assignments, while challenging and detailed, are perfectly matched to the lesson. Her critiques are very constructive and she goes beyond to make suggestions for improvement on your photos. She will even demonstrate an additional concept for you. I felt that during the course she was available at any time to assist me. She was quick to answer questions, emails and make critiques.

This is a course I will suggest to my friends who are interested in photography. It was well worth my time. Thanks, Charlotte.

9/1/2010 7:11:25 AM
 
kathryn R. kilpatrick
tofinosurfshots.com
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2010 7:54:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2010 7:54:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2010 7:54:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2010 7:54:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2010 7:54:00 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Learned alot in this course and Charlotte made the progression through the Camera RAW workflow understandable. The assignments took some time but directed my focus to the very details that will make my photography better. Feeling much more confident/comfortable with shooting and converting RAW images
8/31/2010 7:54:00 PM
 
Colleen G. Berg
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/27/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2010 10:29:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2010 10:29:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2010 10:29:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2010 10:29:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2010 10:29:37 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed Charlotte's course on Camera Raw. 4 short weeks ago it was a very mysterious world to me and I now feel so much more confident with the whole process. Charlotte has a most excellent teaching style...from thorough and detailed explanations of a very technical topic to gracious and pertinent thought-provoking critiques. I will definitely take another course or two taught by Charlotte.
8/4/2010 10:29:37 PM
 
Kerry L. Stewart
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/3/2009
Contact Kerry
Kerry's Gallery
kerrystewartphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2010 8:06:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2010 8:06:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2010 8:06:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2010 8:06:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2010 8:06:14 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course on Camera RAW provides the perfect foundation for anyone wanting to learn about image processing. Charlotte Lowrie guides each student through RAW capture and the processing of the image in ACR and further into photoshop. She teachs a great workflow and explains when to perform certain actions and why to do it in a particular sequence. The assignments are fun and Charlotte's critiques are gentle and very positive.
This course is a must for any hobbyist who is becoming more serious about photography! Thanks Charlotte!
7/9/2010 8:06:14 PM
 
Nicole D. Caraway
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/3/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2010 10:09:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2010 10:09:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2010 10:09:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2010 10:09:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2010 10:09:32 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course was by far one of the most informational and instructional I have taken. The lessons were logical and easy to follow. Charlotte provided instant feedback to questions and photo assignment. I would highly recommend this class to anyone new to RAW capture, or anyone that wants a brush up course on photoshop and ACR. The step by step methods provided make the process as easy as possible, and provide a template to use to achieve the best possible outcome. Thank you Charlotte and BP!!
7/8/2010 10:09:32 PM
 
Victoria Johnson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2010 2:54:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2010 2:54:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2010 2:54:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2010 2:54:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2010 2:54:19 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I knew nothing about Raw processing when I began this class. Charlotte is a wonderful teacher. Her class notes and assignments are extremely thorough and she explains everything in a very detailed way so it is easy to follow her instructions and suggestions. She provided many extra bits of advice on how to improve my work that was extremely helpful. I would highly recommend this class and I think Charlotte is the best teacher I have ever had.(I have taken quite a few photography classes)
7/7/2010 2:54:19 PM
 
Wendy A. Moreland
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/27/2008
wendy-moreland-photography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2010 5:24:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2010 5:24:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2010 5:24:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2010 5:24:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2010 5:24:13 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Two years ago Charlotte taught me how to work my brand new Rebel XT and in this course she taught me (and converted me!) to using RAW. She explains things well and gives very useful critiques. I only wish it would have been a 8 week class so I could learn even more! Thanks Charlotte!
5/31/2010 5:24:13 PM
 
Nancy de Flon
Contact Nancy
Nancy's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2010 7:34:29 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2010 7:34:29 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2010 7:34:29 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2010 7:34:29 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2010 7:34:29 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
If you want to demystify the whole business of working with Raw, then you MUST take this course. Charlotte is the most thorough, painstaking instructor imaginable. She walks you through each step of the process and structures the lessons so that each builds upon the previous. Her critiques are equally detailed. This course is amazing value for the money, and I just can't recommend it highly enough. If you want to master Raw, start with this great course!
5/30/2010 7:34:29 AM
 
Evelyn A. Baylin
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/23/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2010 6:25:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2010 6:25:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2010 6:25:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2010 6:25:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2010 6:25:41 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I received a good understanding of Raw photography and the technical issues of printing and sizing photos. Charlotte explained each class in great detail and quickly responded to any questions. She gave a lot of info and positive suggestions when it came to the critques. I would be happy to take another class with Charlotte.

Evelyn

5/17/2010 6:25:41 PM
 
David Koscielak
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/26/2008
Contact David
David's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2010 4:07:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2010 4:07:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2010 4:07:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2010 4:07:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2010 4:07:39 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
RAW Shooting. This was my 2nd course with Charlotte and she presents the material in an easy to follow manner with assignments that build on the material presented in each lesson. Her critiques are to the point with helpful suggestions. This course will allow me to take photos with maximum detail and a RAW PS workflow that makes sense.

Dave K

5/5/2010 4:07:39 PM
 
Monique Binkhorst 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2010 10:50:46 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2010 10:50:46 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2010 10:50:46 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2010 10:50:46 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2010 10:50:46 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I found this course very helpful in improving the quality of my images and in developing a standard workflow in photographing and editing. The lessons were building blocks, each one went a step further and repeated the earlier lessons. The lessons added what you don't read in the books on this subject.
5/4/2010 10:50:46 AM
 
Nessrine Ismail El Guindi 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2010 1:25:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2010 1:25:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2010 1:25:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2010 1:25:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2010 1:25:39 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I enrolled in this course not knowing anything about Raw nor even was I curious about Raw, not for anything except that Charlotte is THE instructor. I had a previous course with her and found she is both an excellent photographer & instructor. So I was just searching for any course that SHE is instructing. And I proved to be right, this course delivered way more than the course outline says, makes you an expert in raw from capture all the way to printing. I got a lot of value out of it. This course is a turning point in my photography. And here I am again waiting for more courses by her.
2/7/2010 1:25:39 PM
 
Kimberly L. Tripp
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/4/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2010 6:25:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2010 6:25:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2010 6:25:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2010 6:25:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2010 6:25:39 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I was really impressed with this course. I'm relatively new to Photoshop and also new to ACR. I really didn't know where I was going to go next to improve my shots and this was definitely the right step for me. Charlotte's presentation of the materials, her recommendations on what to do - and when, and her critiques were absolutely fantastic. I wish she had a "next level" in Photoshop because I'd love to take another course with her. Thanks Charlotte!
2/1/2010 6:25:39 PM
 
Buddy B. Kirby
Contact Buddy
Buddy's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2010 2:34:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2010 2:34:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2010 2:34:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2010 2:34:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2010 2:34:26 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great course. I really learned a lot from this. Charlotte was quick to review and was very helpful. This is really worth your time.
2/1/2010 2:34:26 PM
 
Barbara Masek
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/2/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2010 3:43:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2010 3:43:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2010 3:43:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2010 3:43:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2010 3:43:19 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you Charlotte for your personal, engaging approach. I felt like I was working individually with you! It was my first online course,and this positive experience will encourage me to take more courses through Better Photo. I learned a great deal in a short timeframe in Charlotte Lowrie's 4 week class on Raw Shooting and proper workflow process. The information was organized in an easily understandable order. It was comprehensive, so I understood the why, as much as the how. It was also very practical, because the class assignments required me to understand the content in order to do the work. I have been able to incorporate the skills learned in this class in my everyday image processing. I highly recommend Charlotte and her ability to deliver!
1/2/2010 3:43:19 PM
 
Stacy Wile 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2009 6:09:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2009 6:09:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2009 6:09:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2009 6:09:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2009 6:09:56 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course was very helpful in getting me familiar with Camera Raw quickly and painlessly. The instructor reviews several photos per week, and has useful advice that shows she is really looking at your work. The instructions were very clear, and I have been applying the knowledge I learned in this class to every photo I have taken since.
12/16/2009 6:09:56 PM
 
Joan E. Herwig
joan-e-photography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2009 8:47:00 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2009 8:47:00 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2009 8:47:00 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2009 8:47:00 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2009 8:47:00 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Charlotte's class "RAW Shooting: From Capture to Finished" has been extremely beneficial to me. This is my 10th BP class and I learned many things in this class that I have never heard elsewhere that just seemed to "turn on the light" for me. Charlotte definitely has a real talent for teaching. Her very effective building block approach served to really cement what I learned. She is very personable which added to the pleasure of taking this class. I would definitely recommend this class to anyone who is serious about their photography & desire to take it to another level both in the capturing of their images as well as the processing of them on the computer. I think Charlotte went the extra mile in both the "well" of instructive information she sent to us as well as her detailed critiques.
12/3/2009 8:47:00 AM
 
Thomas J. McNulty
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/18/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2009 2:27:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2009 2:27:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2009 2:27:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2009 2:27:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2009 2:27:25 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was a very enjoyable class, technical but not overwhelming - exactly what I needed. I especially appreciated the extra information that Charlotte incorporates in the lesson and sends via email. It added a personal touch. Her critiques were in depth and very helpful. This was a great experience!
11/30/2009 2:27:25 PM
 
Shekar Jayaram
Contact Shekar
Shekar's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2009 1:13:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2009 1:13:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2009 1:13:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2009 1:13:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2009 1:13:00 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I would recommend this course for all serious photographers.
Thank you Charlotte for all the guidance and comments.
9/30/2009 1:13:00 AM
 
Thomas Ehlers
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/20/2002
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2009 1:00:44 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2009 1:00:44 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2009 1:00:44 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2009 1:00:44 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2009 1:00:44 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I recommend this course for anyone wanting to get into raw photography. Its great and Charlotte's course nails it, I've learned so much about it that I'm sold on RAW now.
9/28/2009 1:00:44 PM
 
Bruce Gillies 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2009 12:47:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2009 12:47:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2009 12:47:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2009 12:47:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2009 12:47:52 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Charlotte Lowrie has really put together a comprehensive course that makes it easy to understand the process of editing your images from start to finish. I really learned alot and enjoyed the course.
9/28/2009 12:47:52 PM
 
Anthony F. Antao 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2009 4:50:02 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2009 4:50:02 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2009 4:50:02 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2009 4:50:02 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2009 4:50:02 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The instructor, Charlotte K. Lowrie has a very
effective teaching method. I learned a great deal
not only from the lessons, but also from the critiques which were to the point and very effective.

Anthony F. Antao

9/28/2009 4:50:02 AM
 
IOANNIS STAMPOULIS
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/3/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2009 1:50:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2009 1:50:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2009 1:50:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2009 1:50:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2009 1:50:01 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
"From Raw Chaos to Finished Order". Where to start from , where to go, how to get there, and what to be aware of in every step of the way from capturing an image to getting it ready for sharing/printing.
This course is as precious as a GPS navigator in a foreign country. Distilled knowledge that lightens up the path, coupled with precious feedback from an expert's eye.
Thank you Charlotte!
9/1/2009 1:50:01 AM
 
Bernice Yates 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2009 12:20:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2009 12:20:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2009 12:20:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2009 12:20:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2009 12:20:27 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course is perfect for the serious student photographer. Ms Lowrie's comments are to the point and extremely useful. This course provided me with the knowledge I needed to become an improved and successful photographer. Thanks, Charlotte!
7/23/2009 12:20:27 PM
 
Bernice Yates 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2009 12:20:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2009 12:20:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2009 12:20:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2009 12:20:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2009 12:20:25 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course is perfect for the serious student photographer. Ms Lowrie's comments are to the point and extremely useful. This course provided me with the knowledge I needed to become an improved and successful photographer. Thanks, Charlotte!
7/23/2009 12:20:25 PM
 
Ralph Mendoza
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/26/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2009 7:04:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2009 7:04:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2009 7:04:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2009 7:04:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2009 7:04:38 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I was not familiar with using my camera to take RAW images and Charlotte helped to provide good techniques using the histogram in week 1. There were a lot of steps provided by the instructor that were very helpful. If you are thinking about using RAW with your photos and are wondering how to edit, this is definitely the class for you.
6/4/2009 7:04:38 PM
 
Rajiv Chopra
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/25/2006
Contact Rajiv
Rajiv's Gallery
crookedimagez.biz
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2009 4:56:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2009 4:56:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2009 4:56:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2009 4:56:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2009 4:56:05 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I thought that this was a brilliant course. The instructions were clear, crisp and concise. l think that the stepwise approach was brilliant.

I also found Charlotte's feedback to be extremely constructive.

Definitely a course I would recommend.

Charlotte is an instructor whom I would recommend.

3/3/2009 4:56:05 AM
 
Doug M. Solis 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2009 2:29:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2009 2:29:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2009 2:29:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2009 2:29:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2009 2:29:12 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was an excellent class for a number or reasons. First Charlotte uses a building block approach to teaching her students. What you learned in week one will be used in week two’s project and week 1 & 2 techniques will be utilized in week 3 and so on. Why is this important? Because the quickest way to learn any subject is repetition, you are not leaving a topic learned in week 1; you are building off of that topic.

This was my first exposure to RAW; it is vast and can be complicated, add to that you are trying to absorb as much as you can in only 4 weeks, that is why Charlotte’s teaching approach is so effective. I really feel I have a solid grasp on the subject matter. Having said that this could easily had been an 8 week course. Hint hint. The software used is capable of doing so much that it is impossible to learn it all in 4 weeks, but it does give you a foundation and confidence in RAW.

You will get a lot of excellent feedback to all of your photos and any Q & A you may have. Here again is another reason this class was so good. You not only learn from her lessons but also from her feedback, tips and ideas.

I have printed out and will keep Charlottes lesson plans as they are a valuable resource for moving forward with RAW and I would highly recommend anyone interested in understanding this subject –Take her class!

3/2/2009 2:29:12 PM
 
Cheryl Ann Gould
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/30/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2008 10:51:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2008 10:51:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2008 10:51:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2008 10:51:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2008 10:51:38 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This class was great! It was not as much "fun" as some of the other classes I have taken, but I learned so much. I now feel that I have an understanding of what I am doing and why. Instead of just randomly adjusting sliders and settings, I have a conscious, rational workflow!
9/24/2008 10:51:38 AM
 
Bunny Snow
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/16/2004
Contact Bunny
Bunny's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2008 8:30:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2008 8:30:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2008 8:30:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2008 8:30:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2008 8:30:02 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Although there are some parts of the lesson which I have yet to accomplish, I've learned tons of material and had a wonderful time doing it.

There is a lot of material here, and although I've worked long hours every day instead of doing my physical therapy (and I'll pay for it), I have really enjoyed the course. I'll not be able to walk well on our next trip, literally. But at least I'll know how to take and process digital images, so my work should improve.

I had a lot of fun converting color to black and white. Last December, I had trouble correcting the white balance on my husband's skin from the green tone of the foliage which entered through a window, Paul Gero suggested converting the image to black and white.

It's one thing to make an image black and white by moving the saturation to the left, and still another to work the gray scale. Thanks to Paul's introduction to raw and Charlotte teaching me how to convert raw in ACR, I've learned both and it was fun!

My goal now is to accomplish double processing before our time is up. But that will come also will Charlotte's wonderful tutelage.

Thank you, Charlotte, I've enjoyed having you as my instructor and have already recommended you to others.

Bunny Snow

5/1/2008 8:30:02 PM
 
Leslie Marsh 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2008 12:01:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2008 12:01:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2008 12:01:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2008 12:01:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2008 12:01:06 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I came into this class having never shot in RAW, and now I will never look back. Charlotte's lessons were wonderfully detailed and easy to understand, and they were full of tips I didn't expect. I even walked away with a better understanding of PhotoShop. Thank you Charlotte!
3/6/2008 12:01:06 PM
 
Clair Dunn
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/20/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2008 1:54:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2008 1:54:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2008 1:54:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2008 1:54:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2008 1:54:03 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Incredibly clear lessons and assignments. The section on Masking was so perfect that I strongly suggested to Charlotte that she approach the powers that be at BP with the idea of mini-courses--consisting of one lesson. This, because with PS there are a number of "isolatable" processes which stand on their own. BP could charge $50/lesson -- one lesson -- requirement: basic knowledge of PS tools and navigation, as there would be minimal info on this in the lesson. But, it would be an ABSOLUTE requirement.

Charlotte's critiques demonstrate an above average ability to understand what the student is going after, and therefore able to provide information that is real praise or real direction that speaks to that person's particular aim.

I simply cannot recommend this course (or likely any other that she would teach) highly enough. (My only regret is that she shoots with Canon and therefore will never be able to offer a course on the Pentax K10D!!!!)

3/6/2008 1:54:03 AM
 
Anonymous  5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2008 9:14:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2008 9:14:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2008 9:14:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2008 9:14:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2008 9:14:36 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is an excellent class!
All handouts are very detailed, explaining each process clearly, step by step. There is so much covered in just 4 weeks. The critiques are really encouraging and constructive. I learned a lot by reading the critiques of other students' work as well. The instructor provides specific comments on how to improve not only technical skills but overall composition as well and she is always there to answer any questions. THANK YOU Charlotte :)
1/4/2008 9:14:36 PM
 
Dee  Johnson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2008 2:29:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2008 2:29:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2008 2:29:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2008 2:29:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2008 2:29:56 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a must course for anyone wanting to learn evaluation and conversion in raw imaging and it's workflow. Learn how to convert to b&w the proper way. Charlotte is an excellent teacher with patience and timely response to critiques and questions. Highly recommend to anyone wanting to learn these techniques.

Thanks Charlotte!

Dee Johnson

1/3/2008 2:29:56 PM
 
Linda S. Carlson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2007 8:14:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2007 8:14:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2007 8:14:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2007 8:14:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2007 8:14:06 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Charlotte, I want to say again how much I appreciate the detailed critique. You clearly take a lot of time to look carefully at all the images and respond with such pertinent and helpful information! Your course is so much more than I expected. I am reading and rereading all of the lessons you have supplied.
10/31/2007 8:14:06 AM
 
Linda S. Carlson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2007 7:41:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2007 7:41:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2007 7:41:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2007 7:41:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2007 7:41:16 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Charlotte Lowrie (Raw Class-4 week) is a terrific instructor. Her class is packed with valuable information and her critiques are spot on!
10/30/2007 7:41:16 AM
 
dianna m. willis 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2007 7:04:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2007 7:04:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2007 7:04:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2007 7:04:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2007 7:04:32 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent. Everyone has some difficulty with photoshop. Charlotte's teachings were very detailed, and precise. You didn't have to "guess" at what she was trying to explain. One of the best courses I've taken. I would highly recommend this course to anyone, no matter what skills you already have.
10/25/2007 7:04:32 PM
 
Jacky Stevens 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/1/2007 1:28:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/1/2007 1:28:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/1/2007 1:28:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/1/2007 1:28:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/1/2007 1:28:13 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is an excellent course and my second with Charlotte. She is a great instructor helpful, encouraging and readily accessible. Charlottes's critiques are meaningful and full of advice as how to improve your images.

This course is well structured and has enabled me to master RAW with confidence. I recommend it without reservation.

8/1/2007 1:28:13 PM
 
Seppo C. Nurmi 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2007 4:26:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2007 4:26:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2007 4:26:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2007 4:26:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2007 4:26:10 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
A highly recommended course. The power of RAW imaging is vividly demonstrated weekly. The feed back on the exercises is in depth and practical. Thanks, S.C.Nurmi
5/7/2007 4:26:10 AM
 
Victoria Steelman 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2007 8:01:11 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2007 8:01:11 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2007 8:01:11 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2007 8:01:11 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2007 8:01:11 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent course. It really clarified some details that were problematic for me. I strongly recommend the course. It goes over workflow as well as optimizing photos. Charlotte was timely with her critiques and I found her comments especially helpful
4/5/2007 8:01:11 AM
 
Resa V
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/21/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2007 7:56:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2007 7:56:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2007 7:56:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2007 7:56:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2007 7:56:01 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is my second class with Charlotte. She is a great instructor, very patient and very accessible which was great. As usual she's enthusiastic and delivers nicely written and organized lessons. The lessons covered many useful applications of Elements. We had tons of questions, and as usual Charlotte managed to answer promptly & thoroughly in the class forum section. I feel my editing skills, knowledge of RAW and the histogram have greatly increased. I would highly recomend this class to anyone that needs step by step techniques of editing in RAW.

4/5/2007 7:56:01 AM
 
Anne M. Calderone 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2007 2:56:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2007 2:56:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2007 2:56:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2007 2:56:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2007 2:56:48 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was a wonderful introduction to shooting RAW. I came in knowing nothing about it and now I feel I can take what I've learned and run with it! Charlotte gave me the tools (and confidence) I need to delve further into this new realm. The lessons are very detailed and every time I had a question (quite often!), Charlotte was able to guide me through my confusion. I definitely recommend this course to anyone new to RAW.

Anne Calderone

4/4/2007 2:56:48 PM
 
Susan J. Feulner
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/4/2005
Contact Susan
Susan's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 8:27:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 8:27:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 8:27:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 8:27:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 8:27:10 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Charlotte is a great instructor. I especially appreciated the way she not only evaluated the photographer's mastery of the technique but added a thoughtful critique of the photograph itself.
My only difficulty with the course was the short length. I really could have used the longer time between assignments that is available in the 8-week class for the last, and most difficult, lesson.
7/6/2006 8:27:10 AM
 
Barbara B. Bond 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2006 6:13:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2006 6:13:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2006 6:13:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2006 6:13:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2006 6:13:08 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Charlotte's enthusiasm alone makes this a course worth taking...but with that comes a strong knowledge base, a desire to teach and meaningful critiques. Her critiques are almost "instant messages". Her lessons are well thought out and explained in great detail. Thank you, Charlotte. I look forward to other courses with you.
7/1/2006 6:13:08 AM
 
Jacquie Palazzolo
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/12/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 7:52:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 7:52:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 7:52:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 7:52:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 7:52:13 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Before beginning this class, I had just learned that shooting RAW would make a big difference in my photography. I felt apprehensive about it because I didn't completely understand the processing of RAW images.

Now, I don't think I want to ever shoot in jpg format again! Not only did this course help me to understand how to handle RAW images, but I learned ways to make creative renditions of my images. Charlotte's instruction was thorough and easy to understand. She was prompt in answering questions and offering the help I needed. Her critiques were honest and kind, full of praise and made wonderful suggestions for improvement.

This course was well worth the time, energy and money! I know my photography skills are richer because of this course.

6/3/2006 7:52:13 PM
 
Keith S. Knight
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/20/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2006 5:50:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2006 5:50:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2006 5:50:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2006 5:50:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2006 5:50:48 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
My first foray into the world of online photo courses included this course and one other from BetterPhoto. For an online photo course to work and justify its cost, it must have lots of interaction between students and between students and the instructor. Achieving lots of interaction gets easier with more people involved -- i.e. larger classes -- and with lots of encouragement from the instructor. The course format of assignments and instructor critiques creates only a minimum amount of interaction which the students must augment with comments, Q/A, critiques, responses, etc. I would like to see some structured encouragement for more student-to-student interaction. How about requiring students to provide critiques of or comments on each other's assignments each week! Instructors need to repeatedly push students to interact.

Charlotte did a great job with critiques -- detailed, encouraging, full of praise and advice, and to-the-point. She created an appearance of enjoying the job by providing critiques and Q/A or comments right away rather than waiting for assignment deadlines. I felt that she was there and paying attention on a daily basis. I enjoyed the discussions we had, and the course assignments pushed me out of my comfort zone and made me try new things. She presented course materials well and gave clear assignments. She gets an A!

Keith

5/27/2006 5:50:48 AM
 

79 Reviews  


Enroll

Add to Wishlist