Online 4-Week Short Course - Compose with Color with Lewis Kemper

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

4-Week Short Course: Compose with Color Photography Course
Course Instructor: © Lewis Kemper
4-Week Short Course: Compose with Color

Learn how to get a better understanding of how to use color as an element of design in this 4-week PhotoCourse by Lewis Kemper. Learning how to use color to compose an image is as important as learning compositional rules and controlling exposure in making a successful picture. There are times that color can be the overwhelming element in an image and thus become the main component of the picture. Even though you may have a "subject", the subject can become secondary to the color.

Category: Composition Courses
Skill Level: 2 - Serious Hobbyist
Only $198 USD

Learn more about
4-Week Short Course: Compose with Color


10 Reviews  

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Kathleen Hayden 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2010 11:47:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2010 11:47:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2010 11:47:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2010 11:47:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2010 11:47:34 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I really had fun completing this class - in fact, this color class is my favorite of all the BetterPhoto classes I have taken! It has made me more aware of color and non-color, and I think has really freed me to take photos that demonstrate your lessons. Thank you for this opportunity!
7/9/2010 11:47:34 AM
 
Steve Pinzon
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/24/2007
stevepinzonphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2009 5:11:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2009 5:11:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2009 5:11:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2009 5:11:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2009 5:11:00 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This class did exactly what I hoped it would do: it made me think outside my usual channels and look at potential images in very different ways.

Assignments were creative, challenging, but fun. Instructor response time was excellent and feedback was on target. I highly recommend this class and Lewis Kemper

11/5/2009 5:11:00 PM
 
Steve Pinzon
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/24/2007
stevepinzonphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2009 3:39:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2009 3:39:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2009 3:39:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2009 3:39:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2009 3:39:24 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I've learned more in this class than any other 2 classes combined! You have really made me think outside my usual viewpoint; I've started every assignment thinking "how in the world am I gonna come up with something?" And then enjoyed some real discoveries as ideas came along.

I really appreciate your comments and expertise. I have a long way to go but I am better now than I was 4 weeks ago thanks to you. My perspective has enlarged and my options for photos have really expanded. Thank you, Lewis!!!

11/3/2009 3:39:24 PM
 
Deborah C. Lewinson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/25/2003
Contact Deborah
Deborah's Gallery
newjerseyphotos.net
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2009 4:25:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2009 4:25:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2009 4:25:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2009 4:25:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2009 4:25:12 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
If you want to think about color, which we all should, Lewis Kemper gets you thinking. New to me was thinking about the relationships and power of colors (monochrome, or no color included), and choosing color as the subject. Lewis presents this course as essential tools for the photographer. His feedback on the Q&A is so rapid you could be having a personal dialogue with him, and his critiques are timely and always helpful.
6/8/2009 4:25:12 AM
 
Krystian Madejski
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/20/2008
madejski-art.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2008 11:44:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2008 11:44:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2008 11:44:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2008 11:44:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2008 11:44:45 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I'm after 4-Week Online Course "Compose with Color" with Lewis Kemper as a tutor. I strongly suggest this course for other participants of Class Track "Nature Photograph" and others. Lewis is always on time and his suggestions and assignments built me internally so strong that even only after first week of the course I saw huge positive difference in my photographical development. You should attend to this course.

Krystian Madejski

8/31/2008 11:44:45 AM
 
Luca Diana
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/24/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2008 4:38:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2008 4:38:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2008 4:38:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2008 4:38:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2008 4:38:02 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks to Lewis's techniques and attention to details I was able to focus on things that before this course I was not actively aware of. Every time I go out now I pay more attention to colors and color composition.
1/30/2008 4:38:02 PM
 
Marie Mans
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/30/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2007 4:54:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2007 4:54:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2007 4:54:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2007 4:54:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2007 4:54:13 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
In theses short four weeks with Lewis Kemper I have learned to see the potential of “mono colors”, use color accents, get pastel colors without blowing them out – all as promised in the class outline.. It improved my photographs on the spot and I became aware of color in a whole new way.

6/4/2007 4:54:13 PM
 
Bo F. Thibblin 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2007 3:42:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2007 3:42:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2007 3:42:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2007 3:42:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2007 3:42:21 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was my 5th Class with Lewis. This short course has changed the way I will perceive the environment and the way I will use my camera. Lewis has made me realize that all around us there are colors, no colors and even a totally mono chormatic world. To know this is one thing but to become aware of it is something quite different. This awareness is a wonderful path to further creativity. Thanks Lewis for sharing these secrets of the world of colors!
2/6/2007 3:42:21 PM
 
Cindy Hamilton
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/4/2005
Contact Cindy
Cindy's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2007 4:44:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2007 4:44:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2007 4:44:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2007 4:44:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2007 4:44:00 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Lewis did it again! This course isn't stressful ( a great thing in January!), and it causes the photographer to be introspective about past and future shots. All of my Better Photo courses have been practical. Color Elements is theoretical, like taking an art or philosophy class instead. It's really fun to take shots based on theory rather than something more subjective. I'll never look at color the same way again. Really!

I feel like I've been back at college for 4 weeks, with all the positive attributes. Thank you, Professor Lewis!

2/1/2007 4:44:00 PM
 
MARY A. SHAW
photosbyma.com
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2007 2:29:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2007 2:29:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2007 2:29:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2007 2:29:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2007 2:29:55 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Lewis is so helpful as a teacher. He is very kind in his corrections of your work, and the suggestions are beneficial.
2/1/2007 2:29:55 PM
 

10 Reviews  


Enroll

Add to Wishlist